We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 10 | Centre, 1012 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Leeds
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, great room and friendly owner. Such a luxury having breakfast brought to the room and being able to eat overlooking the canal. So happy with our choice of B&B and would definitely recommend this one. Amsterdam did not disappoint, we loved every minute.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at Velvet and what a find! David, our host, sent us directions for the short 5 minute walk from the station to Velvet before our arrival in Amsterdam and they were so easy to follow. As he couldn't be there to meet us he gave us instructions as to where to find the key and popped in to see us later that afternoon when he quickly answered our questions and gave us tips on the best things to visit in Amsterdam and getting about both on foot and by tram. He said that if we needed any help or further information we only needed to ask.

He explained that he would bring us our breakfast each morning and would leave it in a basket outside our door and asked what time we would like it to be delivered. When our basket arrived it was full with bread, croissants, jams, cereal, milk, orange juice, and hard boiled eggs together with cheese which had been left in the fridge in our room. Tea, coffee and a kettle were also supplied in the room.

We had the room at the back of the house which was really quiet and, although the view wasn't the best, for the amount of time we spent in there it really didn't matter. The location of the house was perfect. We were around a 10 minute stroll from Dam Square and near to the red light district with plenty of brilliant bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both slept very well, which is unusual for us when we are away from home.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and can heartily recommend Velvet. Thank you David for making our stay in Amsterdam perfect and hope to see you again in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We absolutely loved the Velvet Amsterdam! It will be our new go-to when visiting Amsterdam.

David was very friendly and he quickly answered all emails we sent regarding our booking, check-in, etc (there was a problem with the paypal service when we tried to reserve and David was very quick and accommodating to mend the situation). When we arrived, he gave us a quick tour, showed us the various guide books and info packets they have available for guest use, and offered any and all help we might need during our stay.

The breakfast basket was the best breakfast that we had during our trip this year - delicious bread and cheese, cereal, milk, orange juice, hard boiled eggs - basically the full works of a continental breakfast. And it was delivered to our door each morning (he asked upon arrival as to what time we would like breakfast). It was the perfect start to the day.

We had the canal room view and we just loved it. The room is very large and has everything you might need. The bed was very comfortable and afforded us the best night sleep of our trip. When the windows are opened, you can hear the hustle and bustle of the area. When they are closed, it is nicely quiet. And you really can't beat the view.

Location can't get any better - 5 minute walk to train station, the red light district is right on your doorstep, and there is tons of shops, restaurants, cafes, and pubs located all around. Anything you need is literally just a couple minutes down the road.

We are very much looking forward to our next trip to Amsterdam and the Velvet Amsterdam will be our first choice - perfectly priced, perfect location, perfect host, perfect stay!

Room Tip: The Canal room is worth the extra $$$ - view is gorgeous If you are a light sleeper and staying on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I love to write bad 1 star reviews as well as 5 star reviews and as much of a critic as I am, (naturally being a Virgo!) the Velvet Amsterdam merits a SOLID 5 STAR!

After traveling to 6 countries this past month I would have to rank the Velvet Amsterdam near the very top as far as Accommodations vs Cost. What a great find this place is! Perfect location means easy access when arriving at the train station. (Its only 5 minutes away walking), close to Dam Square (8 minutes), close to the canal boats, and if you wish to go to the museums you can take a tram from the central station. You can practically walk out the door and the Red light district is nearby (no worries, the area is actually safe at night) for strolls through that area.
As far as the room goes, it is excellently decorated and has all the conveniences, including a small fridge for keeping your beer and drinks cold! Nice bathroom with very hot water. David our host provided an ample breakfast basket every morning - there was always enough left over for us to take along and munch on some fruits or pastries during the day. The beds are excellent too. Soft pillows, soft matresses = restfull sleep.
There is a FEEBO fast food place about a minute away - great for trying Bitterballen or Cheese Croquettes. They were actually excellent and very cheap. Also a small supermarket for beer and cheese, sodas etc a couple of alleys away - into the red light area, and also ask David about the Laundromat- its only a block away and to us after 9 days into our trip was so nice to get some clean clothes done!
I completely recommend this place as a top choice for middle level budget travelers when staying in Amsterdam. Compare what you get in London or Paris for €105 a night and you will see what I mean! There are only two rooms so make reservations early. You really do not have to look anywhere else!

THIS IS THE REAL DEAL, THE HIDDEN GEM OF AMSTERDAM!
GREAT PRICE! FANTASTIC LOCATION!

Room Tip: I liked the interior room to ensure no nighttime noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury Victoria Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I recently travelled to Europe then onto Canada and New York. Having read the reviews on trip advisor early in the year decided to book 3 nights at the Velvet Amsterdam in late August this year. We had previously had a bad experience with B & B's but this was the complete opposite. Not only was the room exactly as depicted but meticulously clean and every amenity supplied including an ample breakfast delivered every morning to our room. The location was superb and only a short walk to everything in central Amsterdam. Our host David couldn't have provided anything else and free Wi-if was an added bonus.
We had the back room which was very spacious, a little noisy with construction work going on but eliminated with the windows closed so was not a problem in the least. I would definitely return and highly recommend to anyone travelling to Amsterdam as it is located close to the Central station and David provided clear directions on how to get there by foot. Very close to numerous restaurants and sight seeing spots and Dam Square. Great value for money!!
Noelene & Bryan ( Australia)

Room Tip: Back room is probably quieter but doesn't overlook the canal which is just out the front door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wife and I stayed for seven nights, end-August 2013.
Location is perfect for walking to innumerable tourist sites,
restaurants, pubs, markets, squares, ad infinitum, with convenient
and quick foot access to the Central Station for day-tripping
throughout the Netherlands by rail, tram or bus.

Host David and associates were unobtrusive; but, when required,
available, helpful, and invariably polite.

Accommodation was roomy, clean, accessorized; breakfast more than adequate; rates, although not cheap, were a bargain in comparison to
downtown hotels and we received full value, I repeat, full
value, for our money.

Unconditionally recommended.

Fran and John Derry (Canada)

Room Tip: Limited number of rooms so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My stay was July 20 through July 28, 2013.

I love this place! it was 2nd floor on canal, so I could watch the boats in the canal, families dining, and passer by on bikes, horse and carriage, and view the marvelous architecture. But that's only the view.

The accommodations were a gem, very clean, high quality bedding, very modern bath with sensor lighted mirror, also refrigerator, water boiler, and plenty of storage in nice closets.

The hosts are so professional and so nice, and my expectations were far exceeded in terms of quality, location, and services, and I truly cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 10 | Centre, 1012 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation has a private entrance and is on the first floor (without lift) recently renovated canal house, which dates from 1930. I have two room one with canal view and other is on at the back of the house. The room has a private shower and toilet, directly accessable from the room; TV, DVD player, free WI-FI, a double bed, fridge, coffee and tea facilities. Breakfast is served in the room. Weekly and monthly rate available. In this rate breakfast is not included. The B&B is located in the old town centre of Amsterdam, only a 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Most attractions are at walking distance. Museum Square (Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum) can be reached within 10 minutes by tram number 2 or 5. From Central Station you can take local trams and buses and national and international train services. The owner speaks English, Dutch and some French.If you have any questions, just ask. Hope to welcome you soon in our B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velvet Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.