We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast
663 Prinsengracht, Amsterdam 1016 GM, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We finally arrived at 663 Prinsengracht on 29 Sept 2013... Not knowing whether we arrived at the correct place, a fine gentleman around his 30's to 40's came up to us almost instantly and asked whether we are the correct guest. We were pretty surprised he waited for us to arrive. He is Sir Nico, the owner and the host.
The tour to our room started, as he opened the door for us to enter the stairways, a gentle softener scent floated around the area and guided us to the room. As we entered the room, we were delighted. The room was sincerely decorated and he explained that the drinks and some snacks and other little amenities that were found in the room were complimentary... We could see a passionate touch in every corner of the room, as if we were extraordinary guest that he had been waiting for.
What could we asked for more?
All the above were a little understated as we would like you to explore it for yourself. The beginning should be enticing already.
Thanks Sir Nico for being a marvelous host.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wonderful room, very clean, great location; friendly and helpful owner, great service (e.g. breakfast, bike rental, free toiletries and coffee); we would definitely book again!

Hint: Use "Park&Ride" (only 8€ per day) instead of parking in the city centre (45€ per day)!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast. The room we stayed in had a great view of the Prinsengracht. The room was nicely decorated and clean with lots of extras.
Nico did his upper best to accommodate us. The bed was very comfortable. You could walk to all the important tourist spots in Amsterdam. We made breakfast ourselves, there is a supermarket close by for fresh buns etc. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very welcoming and considerate host. There were many extras that were no charge - snacks, extra towels, extra pillows, toileteries, and excellent wifi service. We felt at home right away. The rooms were clean and very tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable and the view was great. The location was perfect - we really experienced the heart of the city. Many attractions were very close by. We highly recommend Sir Nico - fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: The larger room has the best view, but the smaller room is also very nice and has a washer and dryer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a terrific place to stay in Amsterdam. Located on the same street Prinsengracht, as the Anne Frank Haus and close to the Rjiksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. The last two are also walkable distances. We stayed in the one bedroom which was small but very clean and up to date with washer and dryer, as well as snacks and tea and coffee service. After one night, because the other unit, the apartment wasn't rented, we moved across the hall to that unit, and upgrade,courtesy of Nico, and then wished we had allocated more time to stay in Amsterdam, as it had cooking facilities as well as refrigerator etc and a couch. A table and chairs faced the canal view, which is amazing.. We did not ask for the breakfasts, which one had to pay extra for although we reviewed comments here and the breakfasts, which you pay for in Euros, sounded great. Nico has purchased bicycles for use by guests which I think is a great idea for summer cycling around Amsterdam. Nico was very knowledgeable about how to get from airport to his place, and we took the bus and saved many many euros,and it took about 20 minutes or so, and was an easy walk to Prinsengracht,Then one looks for the side street high on the wall of a corner building, and you are there. Have a great time if you go there, We did.

Room Tip: Either room is great, but if you can pay for the apartment, do so, it's worth it as it is larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Prior to arrival, Nico responded promptly to all my queries and requests. You will be hard-pressed to find a better location than Sir Nico, although it can be quite a walk from the tram stop when you arrive with your luggage. However, Sir Nico is located within walking distance to many attractions, such as the flower market and the red light district. Nico is very helpful, personally bringing us to a nearby supermarket and also helping my wife with her luggage all the way to the tram stop when we checked out. Wifi connection is stable and the view from the apartment is stunning.
Although breakfast is not included in the room price, Nico made this very clear from the start. However, the coffee maker in the room is of top quality and this somewhat makes up for the lack of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had had a lot of communication with Domingo before we left the UK and he had always been quick and efficient in coming back.

I had originally enquired after the small room as we were really only using it for a base to sleep in the evening, but Domingo offered us the larger room, with the canal views, for the same price.

We arrived fairly late on the Friday night (not late by Amsterdam Standards) and were met by Domingo. Thanks to his earlier emails, it was very easy to find and we were soon in the room and out of the cold.

On 1st impressions the room was very well decorated and had a really homely feel to it. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. There was a hot plate and fridge, so could easily be used as a little studio for whilst you are there. We did not use the hot plate, but made good use of the coffee machine in the room. It has to have been one of the best coffee machines we have had.

The view over the canal was stunning, especially after it had snowed the one evening.

The bathroom was again very clean and modern, and there were plenty of amenities that were provided, in case you had left anything at home (like me and the razor). The one oddity was that there was no full screen on the shower and was worried the water would spray every where. As it was, this did not seem to be the case and just put the bathroom mat there, which seemed to stop most of the water.

The hotel is very centrall located for all parts of the town. We walked to most places, but then we don't mind a 15-20 minute walk. The tram is very easily accessible if you wanted to use this.

We were very surprised to be given a bottle of Champagne on arrival and was very well received. We were also given a basket of crisps, chocolates and some biscuits, which we used as snacks over the coming days.

The only reason I would not give this 5 stars is on the basis that it advertises itself as a b and b, and this was not the case. Breakfast was never mentioned to us, except to say that there were places locally that were good for breakfast.

There can be a bit of noise from the road as they are just single glazed windows, but there are ear plugs provided if this is an issue. It was not for us, and just added to the charm of the place.

Don't let this put you off, as the room is stunning and Domingo was a lovely host.

We would have no hesitation staying here again, and helped make our anniversary even more special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast

Address: 663 Prinsengracht, Amsterdam 1016 GM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.