We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull stay at Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast
663 Prinsengracht, 1016 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
“Wonderfull stay at Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast. The room we stayed in had a great view of the Prinsengracht. The room was nicely decorated and clean with lots of extras.
Nico did his upper best to accommodate us. The bed was very comfortable. You could walk to all the important tourist spots in Amsterdam. We made breakfast ourselves, there is a supermarket close by for fresh buns etc. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very welcoming and considerate host. There were many extras that were no charge - snacks, extra towels, extra pillows, toileteries, and excellent wifi service. We felt at home right away. The rooms were clean and very tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable and the view was great. The location was perfect - we really experienced the heart of the city. Many attractions were very close by. We highly recommend Sir Nico - fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: The larger room has the best view, but the smaller room is also very nice and has a washer and dryer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a terrific place to stay in Amsterdam. Located on the same street Prinsengracht, as the Anne Frank Haus and close to the Rjiksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. The last two are also walkable distances. We stayed in the one bedroom which was small but very clean and up to date with washer and dryer, as well as snacks and tea and coffee service. After one night, because the other unit, the apartment wasn't rented, we moved across the hall to that unit, and upgrade,courtesy of Nico, and then wished we had allocated more time to stay in Amsterdam, as it had cooking facilities as well as refrigerator etc and a couch. A table and chairs faced the canal view, which is amazing.. We did not ask for the breakfasts, which one had to pay extra for although we reviewed comments here and the breakfasts, which you pay for in Euros, sounded great. Nico has purchased bicycles for use by guests which I think is a great idea for summer cycling around Amsterdam. Nico was very knowledgeable about how to get from airport to his place, and we took the bus and saved many many euros,and it took about 20 minutes or so, and was an easy walk to Prinsengracht,Then one looks for the side street high on the wall of a corner building, and you are there. Have a great time if you go there, We did.

Room Tip: Either room is great, but if you can pay for the apartment, do so, it's worth it as it is larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Prior to arrival, Nico responded promptly to all my queries and requests. You will be hard-pressed to find a better location than Sir Nico, although it can be quite a walk from the tram stop when you arrive with your luggage. However, Sir Nico is located within walking distance to many attractions, such as the flower market and the red light district. Nico is very helpful, personally bringing us to a nearby supermarket and also helping my wife with her luggage all the way to the tram stop when we checked out. Wifi connection is stable and the view from the apartment is stunning.
Although breakfast is not included in the room price, Nico made this very clear from the start. However, the coffee maker in the room is of top quality and this somewhat makes up for the lack of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had had a lot of communication with Domingo before we left the UK and he had always been quick and efficient in coming back.

I had originally enquired after the small room as we were really only using it for a base to sleep in the evening, but Domingo offered us the larger room, with the canal views, for the same price.

We arrived fairly late on the Friday night (not late by Amsterdam Standards) and were met by Domingo. Thanks to his earlier emails, it was very easy to find and we were soon in the room and out of the cold.

On 1st impressions the room was very well decorated and had a really homely feel to it. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. There was a hot plate and fridge, so could easily be used as a little studio for whilst you are there. We did not use the hot plate, but made good use of the coffee machine in the room. It has to have been one of the best coffee machines we have had.

The view over the canal was stunning, especially after it had snowed the one evening.

The bathroom was again very clean and modern, and there were plenty of amenities that were provided, in case you had left anything at home (like me and the razor). The one oddity was that there was no full screen on the shower and was worried the water would spray every where. As it was, this did not seem to be the case and just put the bathroom mat there, which seemed to stop most of the water.

The hotel is very centrall located for all parts of the town. We walked to most places, but then we don't mind a 15-20 minute walk. The tram is very easily accessible if you wanted to use this.

We were very surprised to be given a bottle of Champagne on arrival and was very well received. We were also given a basket of crisps, chocolates and some biscuits, which we used as snacks over the coming days.

The only reason I would not give this 5 stars is on the basis that it advertises itself as a b and b, and this was not the case. Breakfast was never mentioned to us, except to say that there were places locally that were good for breakfast.

There can be a bit of noise from the road as they are just single glazed windows, but there are ear plugs provided if this is an issue. It was not for us, and just added to the charm of the place.

Don't let this put you off, as the room is stunning and Domingo was a lovely host.

We would have no hesitation staying here again, and helped make our anniversary even more special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskerry, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at SIR Nico, in part because of the thoughtful, concerned and caring host.
There are only two rooms at present -- we stayed in a very comfortable room with private bath and every amenity you could think of -- including an excellent coffee maker, free snacks and drinks, toothbrushes and mouthwash, robes and slippers. The TV even had more English channels than most places offer. Good size by European standards, it overlooks a narrow street, with just a peek through to the canal. It was very quiet for a city place, and we felt very secure, situated above street level with front door, inner door and own-door locks.

The other room is actually a studio apartment that fronts on the Prinsengracht canal, which is also available for those wishing a bigger space and/or a kitchen. As it was unoccupied the days we were in Amsterdam, Nico served us breakfast there so we could enjoy the view. The booking website clearly states that breakfast is optional, at an extra 10 euro per person per day, but what Nico describes as a "continental" breakfast is actually a hot breakfast, with egg and toast and meat (bacon one day and wonderful corned beef the other), fresh fruit cup, yogurt, cheese and salami, rolls, donuts or muffins, plenty of coffee or tea and a big glass of orange juice. We chatted with him as we ate, and he told us about himself and his far-flung family, showing us pictures of a bed and breakfast he plans to open soon in his native Philippines -- he's rightly proud of it.

The neighborhood is interesting and historic, about halfway between Dam Square and the museum quarter, full of characterful canal houses, little shops, bakeries and restaurants. Nico told us about the 197 airport bus which stops a few minutes away in Leidseplein -- it makes getting to his B&B even easier than taking the train and tram. He also offered to make reservations for us anywhere we liked if needed.

Bottom line, SIR Nico's isn't cheap, but it is good value. It's a great choice if you're looking for the personal touch, a friendly host who is eager to please, a place with local character and a pleasant, convenient neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location of this B&B is very convenient, close to shopping, easy access via transit. The room included a bag of chips and crackers and some soft drinks free of charge. The owner kindly allowed us to check in four hours early (but later made a very big deal of not charging us for it).

Unfortunately our experience was not very positive. The owner was not honest and misrepresented what was included in the fees and continuously tried to charge us for extras. He specifically told us that continental breakfast was included and later proceeded to charge us $20 per day. When we complained, he claimed that the property was worth $250 Euros and he had done us a favor by giving it to us at $100 euros (price listed in the booking.com where we booked it). At $100 the room was overpriced. The room did not have an internal lock for security and in general it was hard for us to relax. There were foul odors at times. During breakfasts he tried to sell us another bed and breakfast property he owned in Philippines. The room's actual view is of a back alley, the photos of water canals posted are from the residence of the owner. He deals only in cash. Make sure you get a receipt from him when you pay upfront.

Room Tip: Ensure you get something in writing upfront as to what room you are renting and which way it is faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicomolina990, Owner at Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It was regrettable that the guest had to resort to badmouthing Sir Nico with his baseless complaints. In doing so, he was hiding the real reason for his complaint, which was his refusal to pay the 4-day breakfast for two persons. Paying for breakfasts is clearly indicated in the reservation/booking form, which is issued by Booking.Com. Although breakfasts are optional, guests pay for it.

This particular guest had the mistaken belief that the breakfasts they had were free. During their last day after having breakfast, I politely told them they had to pay their breakfast for 4 days which amounted to 80 euros for two persons. At that point, the guest brazenly told me that if I make them pay the said amount, he would "tell a bad story" about Sir Nico. This is pure and simple blackmail.

I am thus truly disappointed that despite the personal care and attention that I gave these guests, they would resort to lies and blackmail.I had thought the guest was joking, but since his blackmail in the form of a bad review was made public, I had no other option but to reveal what really happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast

Address: 663 Prinsengracht, 1016 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Nico Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.