We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Was a simple but clean and fun hostel. Was exactly what I needed and in a great location, also compared to other places at least affordable.

If you are not picky and spend more time exploring the city than inside, you will like it. If they put a few chairs in the room and some hangers for clothing it would be perfect!

Staff is kind and will do their best to show you good places to see.

Room Tip: Room 310 was more than expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    47
    16
    36
See reviews for
4
16
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The bedrooms are atrocious. No shutters, so if you're coming in the summer be prepared to have sunlight shining on your face at 6AM. Staff didn't seem concerned with this as they had "never had complaints". The rooms are extremely hot and claustrophobic and the pillow you'll sleep on is like a leather cushion from a sofa or something. The cherry on top of my first night? Waking up to a chewed bubblegum stuck to the pillow. Staff couldn't care less, just changed the cover of the pillow. Wi-fi is kind of a joke, as it almost never works in the room. You'll have to go to the "common room" (which is basically the reception), and sit amidst everyone else's bags. The staff is so gratuitously rude it's almost laughable. They talk to you like your dumb and charge you 3 euros for holding your bag for a couple more hours after you checkout. They're not helpful and they're just annoying. It's a minimum effort mess of a place to be honest. Pay an extra 30 euros to go to a better place or use airbnb, there's absolutely no value for money here

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Jose,

Thank you for your stay! We are suprised by your comment. You choose to stay in our biggest and cheapest dorm. We cleaned your pillow and gave you brand new linen. We use normal curtains for our rooms. You really were the only that told us about light coming in the room, we thank you for this and will see how we can improve. We are not sure why you see our staff as rude? If you mention a company like Airbnb than a hostel is maybe not your thing? Because that is a website for apartments, which is a total different type of stay, but we don't know if they have any for 1 person only.

We still hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and we will use your feedback to improve;)

Kind regards,

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Rooms are absolutely tiny and filled to capacity with bunks, room was directly by the street and because of the packed nature of the room windows had to be left open meaning a very early wake up.
Breakfast time is provided according to room number so if you're on the first floor it's 7am to 7.45am or too bad. I do not recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

the place is nothing special but it`s a good value for the money you pay. the staff is very friendly and the location is nice too. they have free w-lan for the guests and there is a nice cat called simba

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and a friend went here at the start of backpacking through Europe, so we were on a budget however it wasn't too modest. The accommodation was one of the cheapest we found, so it does seem €33 is allot for a hostel but others were much higher. I'll get to the basics I wanted to know as a first time traveller.

Location: 30 mins from central station walk, 10 mins on tram. Don't be fooled by the "central station" yes it is the centre however this hostel is right next to Van Goch musem, Vondlepark and another few good places so it was very central if you don't mind the initial walk.

Bed: bed is a bed. That's all we wanted travelling. Clean enough. Only problem is there was only one extension lead in the middle of the room, which meant however unlikely theft might of been you couldn't charge your phone etc over night. You had to sit at stare waiting for it to charge as it was right next to somebody else's bed. We learnt through other hostels they all had plugs and little shelves etc next to beds which was definitely missing here.

Breakfast: tea or coffee in and all plastic cup, hot floppy bread and jam. The usual

Bathrooms: toilet, sink and shower in room room and three of these, one for each floor. Never had a problem with being busy, bit cramped and not as clean as a hotel (and for €33 it is like a hotel) but is as what you would expect.

I would stay again if this place wasn't in Amsterdam, which cost an arm and a leg. Staff were friendly enough. And there was a cat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We paid €33 per night but this seems to be a general reflection of Amsterdam. It's an expensive place. The hostel was clean, guests were friendly and the staff helpful. Slice of hot floppy bread and jam for breakfast. It was an OK stay. The area was nice but it took around 30 mins walk to get the station with a hefty rucksack. I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Cheap. Clean. Staff is very friendly. Beds are not that comfortable and there is no ladder to get on the upper bed. Tiny bathrooms but clean. Rooms are small in general. Simple breakfast: toast with jam or peanut butter and tea and coffee. Wifi is good. Free city maps. Easy to find. In total: it's quite okay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.