We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Cheap. Clean. Staff is very friendly. Beds are not that comfortable and there is no ladder to get on the upper bed. Tiny bathrooms but clean. Rooms are small in general. Simple breakfast: toast with jam or peanut butter and tea and coffee. Wifi is good. Free city maps. Easy to find. In total: it's quite okay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    45
    16
    35
See reviews for
4
16
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hostel was fine for the 6 nights I spent in Amsterdam, it was accommodating and the staff were helpful. The toilets/showers were not always that clean and as a solo traveler, big groups of people made it hard to meet people. But it was okay. A cute cat lives there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Was clean, easy to find and overall not too bad for the price. There are very steep stairs to climb up with your suitcases and there is no luggage room to store your things if you have a late flight. They provided breakfast too, don't expect too much from this, a bit of toast and some spreads. Also wifi never worked while there. After running around the city all day, it was good to have a place that was close to one of the main tram lines to head back to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here with some friends on a weekend trip to Amsterdam. Stayed in a number of hostels however this place was quite poor. The common area downstairs is nice and a computer which is provided is a nice touch. The staff were nice and friendly also. However the room was cold, damp and the door didnt properly close.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As you can tell from some of the other posts and the management responses, being disrespected from the staff is not uncommon. The rooms are so small any person would feel extremely claustrophobic. They jam as many buNks as humanly possible into small cramped rooms without keeping the customers in mind.The bathroom is almost comedic it is so bad. They also don't give you a towel on your bed. So have fun trying to get into the worlds smallest bathroom and take a shower and "drip drying". I realize you could probably as the staff for a towel but they are so rude dealing with them would be highly discouraged. When a BED BUG issue arose, they did not seem concerned. My friend requested to have her money back from the night so we could go somewhere else because her neck was swollen from the three bed bug bites, they said it was probably a "mosquito" and ignored the BED BUG INFESTATION of their place. They said all they could do was pay for her Benadryl but she had to stay here or at least pay for it. We also heard other customers discuss the bites they received the night before at breakfast. They treated my friends like children and said they wouldn't call the manager. After some very nasty behavior, my friend questioned why they were being so disrespectful. Their oh-so-adult response was "you started it".....this was from not only adults but the management! From these reviews it seems like we were not the first people to experience this. We spent the last night in the Marriott- for a little more money we had a wonderful stay. Moral of the story, if you want to bed infested by bed bugs and experience deplorable conditions with a staff that doesn't respect anyone, come here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Alexis,

We see you are back in Milan:) Again as we wrote in the reply for the review of Bianca we really wish you well. To be honest you are right that you went to Marriott (we also like that place). When we checked you guys in we noticed you are not the hostel type. We are used to relaxed and less stressed guests. The towels are available at the reception. But you also choose a dorm! The cheapest we have and still you ask for things which is normal if you stay in a hotel.

You could have done some research and find out what was included and what a hostel is all about. We are not here to treat our guests badly, that makes no point. And sometimes things happen and together you must find a solution.

Some info again about the bed bugs:

Bed bugs are not a sign of an unkempt and nasty hostel. There are many travellers coming in and out of the rooms every single day, carrying the pests with them. Outbreaks happen, and it is not always the fault of the hostel.


We also contact Tripadvisor, because the 1st review was clear to us that you did not like your stay. We do not see the benefit of 2 reviews about the same situation.

Also we had guests that stayed in the same room in the same period. We are going to ask them to also share their experience as you and your friends did.

Kind regards,

Cosmos staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.