We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    43
    14
    34
See reviews for
4
16
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here with some friends on a weekend trip to Amsterdam. Stayed in a number of hostels however this place was quite poor. The common area downstairs is nice and a computer which is provided is a nice touch. The staff were nice and friendly also. However the room was cold, damp and the door didnt properly close.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As you can tell from some of the other posts and the management responses, being disrespected from the staff is not uncommon. The rooms are so small any person would feel extremely claustrophobic. They jam as many buNks as humanly possible into small cramped rooms without keeping the customers in mind.The bathroom is almost comedic it is so bad. They also don't give you a towel on your bed. So have fun trying to get into the worlds smallest bathroom and take a shower and "drip drying". I realize you could probably as the staff for a towel but they are so rude dealing with them would be highly discouraged. When a BED BUG issue arose, they did not seem concerned. My friend requested to have her money back from the night so we could go somewhere else because her neck was swollen from the three bed bug bites, they said it was probably a "mosquito" and ignored the BED BUG INFESTATION of their place. They said all they could do was pay for her Benadryl but she had to stay here or at least pay for it. We also heard other customers discuss the bites they received the night before at breakfast. They treated my friends like children and said they wouldn't call the manager. After some very nasty behavior, my friend questioned why they were being so disrespectful. Their oh-so-adult response was "you started it".....this was from not only adults but the management! From these reviews it seems like we were not the first people to experience this. We spent the last night in the Marriott- for a little more money we had a wonderful stay. Moral of the story, if you want to bed infested by bed bugs and experience deplorable conditions with a staff that doesn't respect anyone, come here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Alexis,

We see you are back in Milan:) Again as we wrote in the reply for the review of Bianca we really wish you well. To be honest you are right that you went to Marriott (we also like that place). When we checked you guys in we noticed you are not the hostel type. We are used to relaxed and less stressed guests. The towels are available at the reception. But you also choose a dorm! The cheapest we have and still you ask for things which is normal if you stay in a hotel.

You could have done some research and find out what was included and what a hostel is all about. We are not here to treat our guests badly, that makes no point. And sometimes things happen and together you must find a solution.

Some info again about the bed bugs:

Bed bugs are not a sign of an unkempt and nasty hostel. There are many travellers coming in and out of the rooms every single day, carrying the pests with them. Outbreaks happen, and it is not always the fault of the hostel.


We also contact Tripadvisor, because the 1st review was clear to us that you did not like your stay. We do not see the benefit of 2 reviews about the same situation.

Also we had guests that stayed in the same room in the same period. We are going to ask them to also share their experience as you and your friends did.

Kind regards,

Cosmos staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

BEWARE BED BUGS!!

My friends and I woke up with bed bug bites when we confronted the hotel staff they were extremely disrespectful to us and would let us speak with the manager. The room smeller, the bathrooms were cramped and dirty, there was one outlet for a 12-person room and their "breakfast included" is a piece of bread with peanut butter and jelly. I do NOT recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed March 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelcosmos A, General Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Bianca,

Thank you for the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to use it to improve our services and facilities for other guests.

However it was not clear why you had to shout and make a scene in our hostel. We really wanted to help you and your friends, but you would not let us. We also refunded your money while you did not even had this right. Eventually you tried to blackmail with this review, but why?

Still we don't know what happened to your friend? Nobody else was bitten or had any problem that stayed in that room. We hope she is fine know and we offered to call a doctor, but you refused. Also you arrived a day later and nothing happened to you, but you are writing a review, while we did nothing wrong to you.

But as far the bed bugs, they can (unfortunately) be found in every hotel or hostel (please google it yourself). The main reason is actually because of the travellers (they were not in the Netherlands for more than 50 years). We also have pest control spraying every year and even more if needed. Also this time we going to do an extra check, just to be sure!

Breakfast is free and simple, and it is an extra service we like to offer. You are free to skip;)

We wish you good luck with future travelling!

Kind regards,

Cosmos staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last summer, was very reasonably priced and in a great central location. Shower and bathroom facilities were of a good standard. No breakfast availible but as said, very central and McDonalds was only 5 minutes away. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here with some friends in the 8-person dorm.

The location is great, central to almost everything. We didn't have to catch public transport at all to move around Amsterdam.

Other than that, service is average. Rooms are quite small. And for almost 40 Euros per night during the weekend- very pricey. The biggest issue is there is only one toilet and one shower on each floor.

It is a very basic hostel. So I would suggest try finding other better valued hostels, but if you don't mind paying some more for the location then go for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 1 night in October. Hostel is very central, walking distance to everything. I stayed in a 2 bed room. It had a little sink and mirror. Room was nice. I was right next to the reception/common area. You can hear everything in reception. Overheard someone having an arguement with reception staff. The hostel has a strict 3hr policy if u want to leave your bags there before u check in/after u check out. I asked for an extra 30 mins to leave my bag, but reception would not budge. Didnt seem like the best vibe there, depite their colourful website. Staff could chill out a little!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.