We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well-located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Pelotas, RS
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“well-located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room I was in had 8 beds and a bathroom, but it was very small. The kitchen is the same size of the bedroom. The coffee was good, had bread, peanut butter, jelly, tea and coffee.
The hotel is well-located, very close to the museums and the "I amsterdam" sign, but a little far from the city center. (you can go walking, is not very far. but in the end of the day, tired, you'll probably want to take the tram ou bus.)
It's easy to arrive from the airport, just take the bus 197, the stop is museumplain. You'll just have to walk 3 blocks.
The staff was very helpfull. The shower was good, but there was only one in my room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    53
    20
    42
See reviews for
4
20
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

the rooms and passages are small and the room i stayed in only had one plug. breakfast is only coffee and toast but included in the price. chilled vibe and the people are helpful. good wifi. a bit far to walk to city centre, consider taking the tram.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room that was just slightly bigger than a closet for what was kind of too much money but everything in Amsterdam charged out the nose, so I don't think it is ALL the hostel's fault. The location is very nice and I think thats what you are paying for. It is quiet, clean, and has a cat named Simba that lets you pet her. The steps are treacherously steep. As others had mentioned we also didn't like the fact that you had to turn your key into the desk before you left for the day, but they probably got their keys lost by too many drunk and/or stoned people so I can't blame them. None of our belongings got stolen so ces't la vie.

Room Tip: room 17 is crazy small with twin sized bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, Bretagne, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We liked the location--really close to the museums and Vondelpark, and although it's not right downtown, it's within easy walking distance of the town center (we found it pretty easy to walk just about anywhere). If you're expecting a deluxe experience, look elsewhere, but you won't find friendlier staff anywhere! I had a nice time. Plus, the wi-fi worked really well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

They tried to stole our money from the credit card. basically they cancelled our reservation one day before (without telling us) because they tried to take all the amount from the credit card and not only the deposit (that they claimed they didn't have). At the end they gave us the deposit in cash before we called the police. STAY AWAY

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hostel is ideal if you're a budget traveler and you want a cheap place close to Museumsplatz. The other hostel I normally stay at was booked, and this place offered dirt cheap prices in the spring that were definitely hard to beat. The layout of the lounge is weird, and the beds are really noisy, so I wouldn't stay here for longer than a few days, but if you're in Amsterdam for one or two nights and want to save your pennies then it's not that bad of an option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is, by far, the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The place in tiny, dirty and the staff is unfriendly/rude. There is a no alcohol and no guests rule policy. Only 2 toilets and showers for the entire hostel. Just an awful experience. The hostel requires you to leave the key to your room at reception when the last person in the room leaves (which is a normal policy). However, when we returned to the hostel after dinner and drinks, the hostel staff claimed that we never turned the key into them and that we lost it. After arguing for about 10/15 minutes it turned out that the employee from an earlier shift had taken our key to go into our room to make himself tea and forgot to take the key out of his pocket before he left. Why he needed to enter our room to make himself tea is still a mystery to me and makes me feel uncomfortable. I would never ever think about staying here again. My recommendation to anyone looking for affordable accommodation in Amsterdam is to keep looking.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Hostel Cosmos
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for stay! We are sorry that you feel this way. Nothing bad really happened and the dorms are being used by different persons. That is why we have lockers, cameras and 24 reception. We also helped you guys out with your bookings. You changed your booking more than 3 times before arriving.

Kind regards,

Cosmos staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.