We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownHouse-Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added TownHouse-Inn to your Saves list
TownHouse-Inn
Schippersgracht 12A, 1011 TS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Townhouse-Inn for three nights. Christian our host was extremely helpful and friendly and made a lovely continental breakfast each morning. The room was modern and clean and the bed was very comfortable. It also had a large flatscreen tv, a fridge and free WiFi. The location of the b&b is fantastic, a short walk from the central station and the harbour. There are a number of great bars and restaurants immediately opposite the b&b which serve food for a variety of tastes and budgets. We hired bikes on our first day there and really enjoyed seeing the city in this way. The only challenge we faced as light sleepers was the noise from the road outside but this could be overcome by opting for a room facing away from the canal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Location is in an excellent position, near to everything, as central station, tram and buses, canal tours, Dam, restaurants. Rooms are very confortable, everything is new, cool furnitures...Christian is a very nice and very cooperative person. It will be my first choice in future trip to Amsterdam. Stairs are the very typical dutch ones.

Room Tip: No real issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Townhouse-Inn for two nights at the end of June 2013. Fantastic hotel, modern and clean.It overlooks a canal with a few local bars. Access to the city centre was easy by bus or a 15 min stroll. Christian the owner was fabulous host, very welcoming and very helpful, giving us ideas of places to visit and how to get there. He makes a fab breakfast for you each morning. You get to meet and chat with travellers from other countries over breakfast too. It is like staying with friends rather than the' Big' chain hotels.. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to overlook the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the TownHouse-Inn for three night in mid June 2013. We found it fairly easily after a brief walk from Amsterdam Central station and used the entry codes provided to us to get into the hotel and our room- no need for keys. The hotel is in a gloriously tall Amsterdam townhouse on a canal, and just across from a cool row of bars and cafes- perfectly situated for a late night drink. The location was brilliant, an easy walk into the centre of Amsterdam, but out of the hustle and bustle- perfect for us.

The room was lovingly put together with a massive, uber-comfortable bed, a little balcony and a well equipped bathroom. Chrisitian was a great host and provided a marvelous breakfast every morning and some really good travel tips about Amsterdam. One of the great things about this Inn is the shared breakfasts which give you an opportunity to talk with fellow travelers and swap hints and tips for the days to come.

Overall, strongly recommended. The Inn is put together with care and attention and guests are made to feel very welcome- more like they are staying at a friends than in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Everything was perfect.I strongly recommend. Nice rooms,cosy bad, modern bathroom, good location.very close to Amsterdam principal attractions with great restaurants across the channel. and of course, to Christian our host all my respect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for one night in this modern B&B, having come to Amsterdam for a concert at the Muziekgebouw aan't Ij. The place that is totally refurbished is not easy to find as there are no signs outside. Doors work by number codes so you need no keys. There are six rooms in a modern style, clean and comfortable. The owner, an Austrian guy called Christian, is super friendly and helpful. The breakfast that he prepares himself to the wishes of his clients is wonderful. The location and the comfort have their price - also taking into account that accomodation in Amsterdam is generally expensive: we payed 165€ for one night. But we definitely enjoyed the stay much more than in a big hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a small B&B with just 6 rooms. Renovated , clean and has all you need. The host, Christian, is great, helpful and makes a delicious breakfast. Really nice to have that personal touch.
Quiet area and I had a canal view room with lovely big windows.
If you have time get a massage from Klayton, one of the best massages I have had and made me feel so much better before embarking on the 24 hour flight back to Australia.
Thank you for a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownHouse-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownHouse-Inn

Address: Schippersgracht 12A, 1011 TS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your TownHouse-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownHouse-Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.