We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blend of Asian cuisines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental 128

Oriental 128
Amstelveenseweg 128, 1075XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6392090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #719 of 2,330 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Oriental 128 is a culinary Chinese restaurant where taste and atmosphere come together. In our specialty restaurant U can enjoy dishes from different Chinese regions. We are delighted to accompany you on your journey through the Chinese kitchen, and wish you a great meal and a pleasant evening.
Global
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A blend of Asian cuisines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Recommended to book a table (through www.iens.nl done in 3 clicks).
Welcoming and attentive staff - fine table setting (tablecloth, decoration), we were sitting in the "window" or you can choose a more intimate ambiance inside the restaurant.
We chose the 4-course menu, bit more expensive (€45), but value for money. It is fine dining, (so do not expect copious portions), well balanced choices of products and mix of tastes (nothing to compare with the "traditional-european" chinese-japanese restaurants).
Let yourself be recommended a wine (even the one not on the card). English-spoken.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent refined Cuisine overlooked by many”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since we run a B&B (Prince Henry Private Suites) we are always on the lookout for good restaurant to recommend, especially when it is rather close by. This one is a 100 meter form where the Vondelpark begins. Owing to its reputation for cheapness and modelling to Dutch taste the reputation of Chines restaurants has suffered many dents. However, this also implies that this restaurant offers exquisite dishes at affordable prices. The manager is also a sommelier and the Chardonnay house white is delicious. However, if you have something to celebrate you should not limit,it yourself to that. This is the best Chinese food we have had in years and my wife is a professional chef herself. very warmly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Fine Asian dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you link Asian food to fastfood and not with fine dining, you should pay a visit to Oriental 128. We had been there a few times before (and were pleasantly suprised then), but there is a new manager now who adds to the experience.

Excellent dishes, appropriately sized, decent prices and friendly staff. The manager is also sommelier, and with a passion. The wine selection is admirable and surprising.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
550 reviews 550 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“A rare bird indeed.... real high end Chinese served with white linen, fine crystal ...matching wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Not knowing exactly WHAT to expect, but recommended by a trusted vinophile.. we went along and were WOW ed......this is the real deal...high end exquisite Chinese served with French flair; white linen, careful service, matching wines as selected by sommelier...it all worked. not inexpensive, but worth every penny when one wants something special for that occasion when slap dash dining will not do. we enjoyed five course all faultless. {Portions are not large but adequate when totalled, as were generous pours of the chosen vinos} recommended, but bring your GOLD card.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly brilliant, if not overly serious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The concept of a restaurant so intensely focused Chinese cuisine is unusual, surprising, and at moments confusing. Oriental 128 however does in fact work even if it translates as a bit stretched.

This is a white linen, sommelier experience and the food is quite simply spectacular. Delicate, balanced, and wonderfully flavorful. Subtle when needs to be and likely the most mature interpretation of Chinese food I have ever had the pleasure to consume.

So, why only a "Very Good" rating. I really can't move beyond the confusion of the experience. It felt very French in delivery, but the food was definitely Chinese. It it had translated as a fusion of the two forms perhaps it would have scored higher, or lower. It was more akin to an overlay of French service, without the crusty bread.

Regardless, go. It is most certainly a pleasure and delight not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental 128 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oriental 128? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental 128, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.