We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homemade breads and jams” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre

De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre
Warmoesstraat 69, 1012 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
+31 20 4898000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 48 Bakeries in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“homemade breads and jams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just walking into to this place will spark the taste buds. The smell of fresh baked goods overwelms. Tasty bread and jams great for a brunch or breakfast. It does gett busy but the line when we went was not to long and well worth the wait.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    69
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly place with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We actually ate here twice while in Amsterdam for five days. The first time was for a quick coffee and scone -- a cranberry one, very yummy with 3 kinds of jam and whipped cream -- and the second time was for lunch. Both times we were greeted warmly by a waiter and then saluted by the chefs as we passed them on our way to our table. The sandwiches, salad, scones and cake were all fresh and very flavourful. We also really enjoyed the latte and chai macchiatos. The atmosphere is relaxed and happy and the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“yummy breakfast for two!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

heard about this from our hotel and some other folks, went and ordered their big breakfast and shared it, so delicious! i took some for home, including the little jars of funky jam (tomatoes, eggplant, chillies). absolutely love it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went here for breakfast one morning, highly anticipating a great meal because of the other reviews. However, we were pretty disappointed. There wasn't much in the way of pastries except scones and croissants. We ordered the Dutch apple cake but then was told after 20 minutes that it would take another 30 minutes to bake, so we cancelled it. Some in my group ordered eggs on toast and, while the bread was good, the entire meal was just ordinary. We left unsatisfied and sorry we had come.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

It's popular so we had to wait for a table. Waitresses ignored us as we waited to be seated but this is very Amsterdam anyway. Man behind the counter acknowledged us and was very pleasant thereafter. Food is very tasty and extremely good value. Some seating areas are a bit pokey but that's because it gets quite busy. Overall though we loved the food, the friendly buzzy atmosphere, and for Amsterdam (where service is notoriously bad), this was pleasant enough. I'd go back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.