We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandtplein Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandtplein Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rembrandtplein Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Groenburgwal 27, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
“Vacation in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I planned a trip to Amsterdam as my retirement gift. We searched for hotels and after a lot of researching we decided to stay at the Rembrandtplien Hotel in Amsterdam. We booked a room for 10 days. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner of the Hotel. We walked into a beautiful lobby. It was very European and comfortable. As we checked in I noticed to the left of the check in desk, there was an extremely nice restaraunt! We were assisted to our room and shown how everything worked. The Registration Clerk was so sweet and helpful. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Everything was clean and sanitized and we even had a a large window we could open and enjoy the breeze. The beds were very ,very comfortable! We felt more like we were in a Bed and Breakfast! Felt almost like family and really fell in love with Rembrandt, the lobby "guard" dog! Thank you guys so much for making our stay just perfect! Miss all of you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    60
    51
    27
    94
See reviews for
16
93
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this using hostelbookers.com and we were happy with the hotel considering the amount we paid.
Obviously for a cheaper price you cannot expect much so I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. AWESOME location.
Compared to other hostels that we paid a similar price for, Rembrandtplein had nicer looking rooms.
The boy behind the counter that greeted us was very helpful, full of information and really nice. The hotel also has a pug called Rembrandtplein who is really cute, the staff let us pat him and hang out with him. They were all relaxed and friendly.
Computer with internet access downstairs and breakfast too.
Overall, for the price we paid we were really happy and would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
thank you for your time to write us , we apreciate it and will use it for further improvements .we take care to have the price and quality in balance . but we have a small comment from our Dog , he said his name is Rembrandt and not rembrandtplein... and he said that not the hotel have a dog but that the dog have a hotel .... and to be honest he acts like that , welcomes guests ,sleeps ,eats and we work for him ... ha ha . looking forward to welcome you again, sincerely Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly to use throughout our stay, couldnt of ask for better service. Location was in a great position. The bathroom could of been updated slightly and sorted out, but couldnt fault with room as paid not alot. I would def go back and stay at this hotel, had a great holiday.....Thank You!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you for your time to write us ,we appreciate it and will use it for further improvements . it have been our pleasure having you as our guest and look forward to welcome you next time with even greater hospitality . sincerely manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amsterdam is a lovely city but a poor hotel can spoil all that beauty. This place looks nice as you walk into the lobby but that where it stops. The hotel is poorly run starting with breakfast. There were literally 6 slices of cheese spread out in 3 trays in the breakfast area and 6 slices of questionable, sliced ham. The rest of breakfast consisted of two piles of stale bread and a few tiny packages of peanut butter and jam. I joked to the other guests that we have such a wide selection for breakfast. They laughed and rolled their eyes saying, "it is very poor". Then you have the hotel rooms themselves which are more like little closets with beds in them. My mattress was so lumpy it must have been there since WWII. The bathroom was constantly leaking and there was a puddle in front of the toilet which as soon as it was wiped up reappeared quickly. The rug was stained all the way up all floors and in the rooms. Just so awful. There was no heating in the room which was damp all the time. They charge a room key deposit and when I went to collect it they said we don't know how to give it to you, you have to wait for the person who took the deposit. They will be here on Monday. Yeah great! on Monday I will be half way around the world. With a dumb smile, the answer was, there is nothing I can do.
This is one of the cutest neighborhoods and I love this city but what a dump of a hotel. It should be closed down. You can get a place just a block away that is way better and have a good stay in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Stay away the rooms are bad and service is worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
we apologise for the misunderstanding with the key card ,after the receptionist called me it was sorted out immediately. We had a meeting with all staff and discussed it so it will not happen again . we noticed based on your reviews that you stay usually in Amsterdam in 4 star hotels . we understand your disappointment about us since we are a budget hotel where price and quality is in balance . feedback is to help future guest to make their choice and its only fair to judge us in the category that we are. you loved the neighbourhood and you have right there are, 4 star hotels around us and suggest you book them on your next visit to avoid disappointments. We don't have a restaurant and breakfast is not included, or paid for , we simply give free drinks and food in the morning in our lobby as a service , not obligated . you booked a single room through expedia where exactly the pictures ,description and size 10square meters of the room is mentioned .we know that's small but so its the price . And we compensate small rooms with our lobby and smoking area that guests can use , drinks not obligated , own food and drinks permitted. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of Amsterdam . Sincerely Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The most apalling place ive ever stayed . DISGUSTING . Cant believe a place like that passes any health and safety regulations
Please avoid . The room had fire alarm hanging off the ceiling ,couldnt open tbe window as the catch was broken . Leaking toilet
No toilet paper and had to ask for towels so thin and small you could see through them .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
we regret you didn't enjoyed your stay with us ,we are a budget hotel and if you expected more we understand your disappointment but you have booked through expedia our partner where you have exactly the picture and description of your room ,the measurement of the room etc. the rooms are small because we are a hotel in a monumental listed building , typical ,old dutch brown style ,like many of the bar and restaurants in our neighbourhood and are not allowed to change anything, but that's the charm of the hotel, we are an warm homely atmosphere unique hotel in the style you only find in a Old canal house in Amsterdam . you wanted an upgrade but we were fully booked and couldn't help you ,we don't find it fair that you said if we don't you will put a bad feedback and also its incorrect to make pictures from the corridor that we currently are renovating , these are not pictures from your room. windows are not allowed to open more then 20 cm due exactly because of the health and safety regulations. sincerely ,manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing location on beautiful canal walking distance to every part of Amsterdam. Breakfast basic [but often ran out early] reception staff very helpful. We were on the top floor......getting a suitcase up was a challenge to say the least. Getting up ourselves was, too. Near vertical stairs. But we looked on it as good exercise!
Room was fine [we didn't expect 5* and got exactly what we paid for] the shower worked which is most important but it was horribly hot at night and no fans supplied when I hopefully asked at reception. What would be ideal is a kettle etc in the rooms and at breakfast for a POT of coffee or tea to be given, save having to keep going asking for a 2nd cup which took up staff time
I will stay here again as would my accompanying friend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
thank you for your feedback ,and your sportive positive way of looking about the stairs ,they are typical Amsterdam stairs , most of our neighbours have even steeper ones , That's why all houses have hooks outside the building to carry furniture and goods .in the early days we had to pay tax on the wideness of the houses ,Dutch people don't like to pay tax and build houses narrow but long .This all happened somewhere like 400 years ago. About the kettle , You are our guest and its our pleasure to serve you the drinks even the second third and more . As we all know the weather gets more extreme lately and during your visits we had unusual hot weather , since it happens more often we did apply for a air-conditions system but it takes time to pass all regulations because we are an Old monumental listed Canal House where nothing can be changed that influence the character of the buildings. thank you for your visit we look forward to welcome you again, sincerely. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Budget Places, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandtplein Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.