We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandtplein Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandtplein Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rembrandtplein Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Groenburgwal 27, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    72
    70
    55
    116
See reviews for
16
90
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed for 2 nights and for that amount of time this hotel was just fine. The breakfast was less than basic although that didn't bother me too much. The staff were kind and helpful and the manager seemed very laid back which would encourage me to stay there again. Damon and Gren :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very pleasant location, just on the edge of the red light district, some said the rooms were small in other reviews, however we found that they also had a number of apartments which were basic but ideal for a short break, staff were friendly and helpful. we were originally book for one of the room so they put us in an apartment, which we then asked to stay in which was not a problem
Breakfast was as you would expect basic but adequate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

just stayed here on a long girly weekend,(14 or us in total) and i can honestly say i really cant put this hotel down, staff are soo friendly and make you feel so welcome and will also attend to your every need, the rooms are very clean and spacious. will recommend this hotel to everyone, its in a great location, everything is in walking distance, (even the train station is only about 10mins away) Maid came in everyday to tidy the room and make the beds

Room Tip: i stayed in room 1, which was on the first floor and very spacious (had 4 single beds)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just been and had a fab time the rooms are spacious and clean. staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble even the endless cups of tea we requested. cheers for making us all feel welcome would definitely stay there again with big thanks jordy and staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Firstly a big thank you to Jordy and Stefan polite, friendly and a good laugh,

Location:- The Hotel is in a fabulous location (pease see reception staff for the free tour maps) central but in a residential area so you can have your kicks in town and still get a good sleep.

Decor:- not going to lie - in places its tired but you can see the ongoing renovations/works in progress and when I mentioned that the Bathroom we had needed TLC the Manager agreed and its on his list which is fair enough, A friend had a room that has had work carried out and she was delighted with her bathroom, and honestly if you take 2 mins to look at the "loud"/smoke room you can see what they are working towards, and frankly the prices for a stay here reflect this.

Beds:- super comfortable - a previous reviewer said they only had 2 pillows, the pillows I had were huge and fuffy and i only needed one, rooms tidied daily towels changed & beds made, (can i just point out that if you leave your stuff everywhere the cleaners cannot do their job properly they are damned if they move your stuff and damned if they cant clean everywhere)

Food:- Basic breakfast meats and cheeses and juice with tea or coffee, we requested English tea and more juice and staff promptly sorted it for us, Food is fresh daily and set out in small quantities to maintain freshness, if something needs topping up a smile and a please translates to good service in any language.

Bar:- Has no spirits (not such a bad thing in hindsight) yet it does have a small range of beers/lagers, again a request for bottled lagers was met promptly. The bar is covered by the night staff between their other jobs, this wasnt an issue as they always said i just have to do some work i will be 10 mins can i get you anything first, we mainly stayed to have a catch up on our various excursions before bed, and with the amount of bars in town a small selection for a night cap was fine for us.

Other bits:- The stairs are steep and winding, as they are in every other building I visited in the city - be warned you will walk for miles and up and down (thats why a quiet beer in the bar IS needed before tackling the stairs)
Yes there are only hand towels, but dont most people take their own? Hand wash is provided in the bathrooms.
Toilets, Dutch loos are odd, they have a very flat pan and water sluices things forward to the drain. If you do not flush properly your waste will sit in the down pipe part of the pan, and the rooms are warm and it WILL smell.
Windows can ony open a little but thats the law we were told.

Room doors, if they dont close properly they buzz, if they stop buzzing but are still open, when they are moved they will buzz, yes annoying BUT a handy extra security feature

Never used the TV so cant comment there. there is so much to see and do!

More than enough plug points for 4 sets of straightners phones and hairdryers and irons

We had an early arrival and late check out but we were not put off to book in and not rushed when we had booked out, in fact staff kept our baggage safe so we could enjoy our day and simply collect our bags for the late check out (thank you again that made all the diffefence to our stay)

Would I come here again, YES, the staff worked hard to ensure we enjoyed our stay and I felt welcomed and comfortable there

If I was bringing my children I would pay more to stay in the appartments but I would visit this charmingly quirky family run hotel before paying for somewhere with a higher "star" ranking

Room Tip: Room 11 has a brilliant breeze on warm days - but you have to work for it as its 3 flights up, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in February 2013 with some friends (3 of us in total).

The room we stayed in was quite large, and had a nice view over the canal below. The bed was comfortable to sleep in, and the road was really quiet at night (which is good if you're a light sleeper).
The hotel decor in the reception area was quite gloomy and dark, but I felt it gave the space a bit of character! The hotel isn't too far aware from everything, its all within walking/ cycling distance. There is also a little flee market not too far away on Sunday mornings, which has all kinds of things from clothing to food to smoking paraphernalia (what a surprise!) I would recommend visiting.

All of the hotel staff that we encountered were really friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was pretty standard- eggs, toast, cereal.

Overall, I found this hotel to be weirdly charming with odd decor, tiny winding staircase, and uneven floor in the dining area- its really old fashioned, but a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Budget Places, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandtplein Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.