We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!! Absolutely disgusting!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandtplein Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rembrandtplein Hotel to your Saves list
Rembrandtplein Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Groenburgwal 27, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free welcome drink
Ranked #269 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!! Absolutely disgusting!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This by far has been the worst hotel I have ever been to. The paint on the walls were peeling off. The carpet was stained. The door was kicked in. The bathroom was disgusting and smelled of urine. The bed sheets had holes in them. The bar fridge and safe did not work. The air conditioning did not work. The room was not cleaned one day on purpose on the instructions of the owner. Also there was no shampoo and the towels were only small ones. The ceiling in the bathroom was caving in. This hotel was so dirty and disgusting!!! The owner of this hotel is a slum lord!!!!! The only positive was this hotel was in a quite area. However stay away from this hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    63
    58
    29
    101
See reviews for
17
99
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

we arrived at the hotel little bit scared , because some of the reviews that we read. but what a surprise! we were very happy!
yes i have to say that the rooms are quiet small, but what do you expect when you book a room in a old monumental building?the room was clean,with a fresh smell, a wood floor with a worm color,the bed was very confortable, the sheets were clean, the bathroom was also little big small,but we dont mind. we didnt come in holiday to sleep in the bathroom!in the room we find towels, toilet paper, soap, so enought for 2stars hotel.We didn't expect room service , or champagne in the room, otherwise we would book a 4stars hotel
the stairs are not that bad, we are young so we dont mind to climb, because was no elevator, but the staff was happy to help us with the baggage.
the location is perfect. the street is very quiet and only 5 minutes away from big squares like rembrandtplein, or from Red light. a lot of bars in the area. we get informations from the reception about a lot of things that you can do in Amsterdam. they give us a nice route to walk to van gogh museum in only 15min .
the breakfast was good enought for us , i mean that the staff is always happy to serve you a nespresso coffee, even if you are sometimes late for the breakfast.
Congratulations for the staff, from manager, to the receptionist ,to the housekeepin
we would be happy to come back again to this little hotel

Room Tip: what ever you need ask at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was very nervous about going here due to all the negative reviews on this site. However, my partner and I found the hotel to be perfectly fine! Yes, the décor was dated, but the hotel was clean, tidy, and cheap. We nicknamed it the Dutch Fawlty Towers!
The stairs are quite steep, but its hardly something that would spoil your holiday. You do only get hand towels, but its not a huge issue, its only drying yourself really.
Bathroom is hilariously small, but what does that really matter? It has everything you need, facilities are good and clean. Bedroom is small yes, but clean and tidy. We stayed in Room 4, which seems to be infamous as 'the Mirror Room'! The whole room is covered! We just found it quite funny.
The staff are friendly, all speak English and are happy to help, knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast is nothing special, but you can get tea/coffee, juice, toast and scrambled egg, as well as ham and meats and things, perfectly fine.
I think a lot of these reviews must have been written by people who spent most of their time in their hotel room! As its really close to the city centre (right around the corner from the Red Light too!), this place is fine as a base for exploring Amsterdam, and I would go there again.
Don't expect too much, but don't put too much stock in the negative reviews!

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooks a private home, had to keep the curtains shut. Is also the Mirror Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

there was no seperation between the toilet and the shower (no curtain between them).

the bed was convex. the pillows were hard as a rock.

there was a lot of noise from the street but it was not possible to close the window.

there was no AC, even though it wea romissed at the reservation. it was impossible to stay at the room during hot day hours.

our room was in the 6th floor with no elevator!

the check in was supposed to be at 2 p.m., but our room was ready only at 3:30 p.m.

after traveling in 15 contries and 3 continents during the last 3 years, i can crown this hotel as the worst i've ever been too.

do not order this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

this is the very worst hotel i have ever stayed in ...just like the reviews state below ...its disgusting on every level...rooms are dirty ,not cleaned well .stains everywhere ..there were cigarette buts and candy under the bed when we first got there...staff were completely unhelpful..

Room Tip: book eleswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Room 15 - avoid it. Climb up over 50 curved stairs, carrying heavy luggage. Hardly enough space to get into the room. Bed - wooden frame, covered by heavy plywood, 2 - 3" worn foam matress on plywoood - firm does not describe it. TV remote did not work, window broken. Bathroom had rwo hand towels and a rag. Barely enough room in shower to use it. We did have toilet paper and liquid soap in locked dispenser.
Ater complaining nicely in the morning, returned lunchtime to find only one hand towel and bed the same. Eventually, bed improved by a blanket being placed on the matress!
Excellent location, bur recommend all agencies remove it from their lists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We just returned from our trip to Amsterdam, a trip we have planned for a long time. We spent 5 days in this hotel and it is beyond belief that this can be advertised the way it is on the internet!
"Fawlty Towers" in Amsterdam is what we would describe it as, though the staff could not be more friendly and sweet, doing their best..The standard of the rooms wsas terrible, all from the dirty carpets and curtains the missing comfort in the bathrooms. A lot of mould, no hair dryer, no remote for the TV, no where to put your towels...If you watch the photos on the website of this hotel, is seems quite glamorous in an old fashonied way, forget it! There is no glamour, it all tired out and in need ogf a full renovation from top to bottom! Som of the rooms face out to the backyard, where there is like a square area from 0 til 5th floor, making you unable to see what the weather is like- because all you see is the windows across your own room!
It makes it even worse that you have to pay the whole amount for your stay in advance, probably a neccecerity as most guest would leave after their first night.....
Our advice; take a look at reviews on this hotel and consider how you wish to have your holiday:
if you want your room to be a nice place to retreat after a long day of sightseeing, keep away from Rembrandtplein Hotel! The nice staff deserve to have a better place to run, this seems hopeless!

Room Tip: We tried several, noon of them recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, T4B, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandtplein Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.