We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoarma is killer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toetanchamon

Toetanchamon
Europaplein 67-69, 1078 GW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6629043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #926 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, International, Egyptian
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shoarma is killer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We came here on our last night because we wanted to try Shoarma and it was right across from the hotel. Lucky we did because the food was incredible (we were served turkish bread to start, before they loaded us with salads, pitas, and a mountainous plate of lamb and chips with a selection of delicious sauces) and the staff very friendly. The décor was interesting - there was the ancient Egyptian theme mixed with black and white pictures of old Hollywood stars but it all added to the charm.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yummy food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I ate here after arriving to town late in the evening as it was convenient to our hotel. The waiter made several suggestions as to what to order versus what not to order. We both got something similar to a doner with fries and it was great! And the value for the money can't be beat.

It was a nice welcome to our visit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Spare ribs to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The first night we ate here wasn't too good and the lady who took our order got mine wrong. Very bland and dry breaded chicken. But the next time we went with a Dutch friend it was excellent. My spare ribs were amazing, meat just fell off the bone and my husband had a rib-eye steak which he said was wonderful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Across from the best western blue square hotel was my top meal in Amsterdam, the service matched the outstanding food. I had the fillet steak with buffalo wing and side salad, my partner had the mixed grill with salad.

Every ounce of food and drink was consumed within minutes. To put this food in comparison, I was recently at the Dorchester in London less than 2 weeks ago and this fillet was cooked to a higher standard.

Great atmosphere with live sport playing on the big screen with local customers making a good vibe in the room.

1st review of many to come, but this place deserved the recognition!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Out Of This World Spareribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Best Western Hotel across the road & on our first of 4 nights in Amsterdam we ventured into here for a drink. The bar wasn't salubrious so we didn't stay for dinner but went down the road. 2 nights later on a very rainy night we again went in for a drink but this time stayed for dinner. We both ordered the spareribs. I had the spicy ones, my husband had the regular ones. First to come out were 4 different sauces, then a nice salad, then the Turkish bread ( which luckily we didn't eat) & the piece de resistance the ribs! 2 racks each of the most succulent fall of the bone meat. Yum!! Also had the choice of rice, fries or spaghetti. Too much. I tried to eat it all but couldn't quite manage. Loved every biteful.
Service was very friendly & the waiter Sharif most hospitable. I would highly recommend this place & will most likely return tomorrow night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toetanchamon also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Toetanchamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toetanchamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.