We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Steak!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toetanchamon

Toetanchamon
Europaplein 67-69, 1078 GW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6629043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #376 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, International, Egyptian
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Best Western across the road and just went over after we were tired from travelling and didn't want to venture far. I had the best steak ever. EVER!!!! Tenderloin in an amazing sauce. Not much going on atmosphere wise, staff were nice enough but worth it for that steak!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    11
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“loved the grilled salmon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Blue Square and this restaurant was accross the road. Very warm reception and off to a great start. We all ordered the grilled salmon with dill sauce, which comes with fries and salad. Very tasty. Felt very relaxed there, so much so that we ordered another round of drinks and stayed for coffee, something we dont always do. I really enjoyed this place and would recommend it. Service slowed down towards the end, but i think the waiter thought we had all the time in the world and just wanted to relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great little place for a delicious lunch near the RIA Congress Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are attending a conference at the RAI Congress Center, or would just like an incredible meal and an excellent experience. I had the Lamb Fajitas... something a bit different from my typical Mexican Fajitas from the home state of Texas.

The owner welcomed me in and was very attentive from the moment I entered the dining room. The decor was interesting and it was obvious that this was a genuine Egyptian restaurant... all the way down to the Egyptian ketchup (a bit sweeter than the Dutch variety). My meal was delicious and I was even offered a complementary coffee at the end of the meal... a great meal and a good way to enjoy an afternoon lunchtime.

I recommend it...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at Great Western Blue Square Hotel, across the road from this restaurant. We only stayed two nights and dined at this restaurant twice! There were four of us in our party and all meals were great. Two had beef rib steak, I had special chicken and Ray had beefburger. All were very pleased, loved the salad starter! The second night we had fillet steak, lamb cutlets and burger again, lovely. We also stopped off here for a beer on a very hot afternoon and were tempted to the Ben & Jerry's ice cream, yum yum! You must give it a try. Must mention the staff who were all very welcoming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great meal again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We go here straight from the RAI as a large group of business friends and always have a great time. The owners are very flexible and can tailor a menu for a large group that wants to eat family style and try different things

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toetanchamon also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Toetanchamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toetanchamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.