We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite restaurants ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surya

Surya
Ceintuurbaan 147, 1072 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6767 985
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Surya - Amsterdam's Premier Indian Kitchen. Located in the trendy De Pijp neighbourhood of Amsterdam, Surya invites you to experience an exquisite selection of Indian, Nepalese and Oriental cuisines, presented with unexpected and adventurous flavours. With a broad selection encompassing vegetarian, meat and fish dishes, you'll enjoy culinary mastery and impeccable service within a contemporary atmosphere that reference hints of ethnicity. In addition we offer a superior and distinctive drinks list, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. Some of which, are exclusively available in Amsterdam only at Surya. Surya is located within walking distance from the infamous Albert Cuyp market and the Heineken Experience. For the more information and to share your experience, join us on Facebook by searching, "Surya Restaurant"
American In Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I LOVED my dinner and will be back next month for more. Very cool decor, a charming waitress, awesome food, and this is in my top five places to eat in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    36
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Quality Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking on-line about an hour before .
Very prompt service and 3 very good curry's ....I went for the Nepalese option.
Excellent Garlic Naan. generous servings...
Not too expensive, given where restaurant located.
Downside.....
A bit lacking in character and wouldn't serve tap water. So extra Cobras required,,!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, I'm told its the best Indian food in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place, great food and great service, would definitely recommend, we've eaten here 5-6 times now and had a great meal every time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very, very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant laid the foundations for a very enjoyable first time in Amsterdam. Delicious food, generous portions and helpful and friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the visit. Service was pretty quick and very nice. All the dishes were very tasty (we were a grumpy of twelve people)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surya also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.