We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Grand Anse, Saint George, Grenada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the end of July and were very pleased with the hotel. It definitely exceeded our expectations! We had absolutely no issues with the stay and have nothing bad to say. The staff were very helpful, there was a nice bar and restaurant attached and the room was great for us. We were in a deluxe room, which was the standard option and not very pricey. This was over two floors, which suited us well. The bed was very large and comfortable. Stairs in room not ideal for older guests, but no problem for us. The decor throughout the hotel was grand. It was reminiscent of an old orphanage, and slightly eerie, but we really liked it. It was very impressive! There was also a night club, which unfortunately we never got the chance to visit! The hotel was accommodating, they kept our bags until around 5pm on the day of departure for no extra charge.

It was only a 10minute tram journey on tram number 9 to get to the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Katie,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read your wonderful words on our hotel. What a shame you could not enjoy a party in our club. Please check our website for coming events, as guests staying in the hotel have free entrance to the club.

It is my hope to welcome you again in Hotel Arena for another great experience.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    327
    130
    75
    70
See reviews for
47
405
33
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in July of 2014, Staff was super friendly and very helpful with all my questions. Hotel was clean, very modern updated room with huge bathroom and shower which could accommodate 5 to 6 people. located close to tram 7 metro for easy cheap transportation to anywhere in Amsterdam. only down side to this location was standard cheap euro twin beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Micheal,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read your experience at our hotel and we are very happy for the rating that you gave us. It is true that the sizes of the twin beds (90 × 200 cm or 35 × 79 inches) in Europe are smaller than in the USA. When returning again to our hotel, we are happy to provide you with a double king size bed.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We arrived about 2pm knowing the check in time was 3pm but on the off chance our room was ready. No big deal, it wasn't, so we were actually offered a suite for an extra €50 per night if we want to check in immediately. Not a bad deal, actually, but we decided to come back at 3pm.

We actually came back at 4pm having found a great bar nearby...

...but the room wasn't ready and wouldn't be for another 40 minutes! Best she could do was offer 2 free drinks from the hotel bar which was a nice gesture, but not idea.

Anyway, it got better from there with the room being a nice studio. Great big bed, very clean, big Velux windows. Only thing was the door to wardrobe was coming away from the wall slightly which meant a delicate manouver to get in to bathroom without causing glass to smash everywhere.

It's very quite, however, so you will get an amazing night's sleep. The breakfast spread is pretty good too and the bar is nice to relax in of an afternoon. The dinner menu looked impressive, although we didn't have dinner at the hotel; we did see some of the food coming out and the burger looked amazing.

I would definitely stay here again, without a doubt. Yes, it's a little further out of the centre but you have the 9 & 14 trams 8 minutes walk away that take you straight to the centre or the 7 & 10 5 minutes away if you want to go find some brilliant restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: If you can spring for a studio, do it. The extra room you get makes the cost seem insignificant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Last week my front office manager told me about the incident at your check in. Please accept my sincerest apologies, we normally have all rooms ready at 3 pm. Please rest assured that I have already taken appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence.
Nevertheless the issue, I am very happy that you liked the provided solution. The guest satisfaction is our top priority and if something happens, we always try to find a suitable solution.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at hotel arena having never been to amsterdam previously. Very efficient book-in and room was spotless. Decor was unusual but interesting. The beds were very comfortable and everything was provided. The staff were very professional and nothing was a problem and always with a smile. Quick service in restaurant, plenty of choice at breakfast (15E) and bar and lovely staff who again were so pleasant. It is a little out of town but once you get your bearings the public travel system is frequent and cheap. Close to Oster Park, local shops and restaurants (5-10 mins walk). Book out was painless also transport arranged. Would definitely be returning to hotel arena..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Geordie,

I would like to thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you really liked your stay in our hotel. We have done a lot of work the last few months and I am very happy to see that we have made a good progression.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again at Hotel Arena for your next stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

On arrival staff were fantastic. Got to room which was lovely but not very clean. Window sills very dirty, bathroom tiles could do with a proper clean, dust everywhere on top of mirrors and lights sink was dirty I had to clean it with facial wipes and soap so I could wash my face not what I expect from a 4 star also no towels??? Housekeeping really needs sorted. Staff were great gettin towels sorted they had them sent to room soon as we told them. Breakfast was fantastic decor was gorgeous everyone was so polite and helpful. Would def stay again but for having an upgraded room I expected it to be cleaner than it was. So maybe next time it'll be better

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your honest feedback on Tripadvisor.

I would like to apologize for the cleaning of your room. Thank you for mentioning this in your review. Improving the quality of cleaning is our top priority. We are doing our utmost best to improve the quality of cleaning. We have already made a good progression but we are not there yet. I would like to invite you to come in a few weeks to see our improvement, I can assure you that you will notice the changings.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just returned from our trip and had the most wonderful stay. The hotel isn't in the centre of Amsterdam, however we found the location ideal, not too near all the hustle of the centre but near enough to walk to all the attractions or to hop on a tram just around the corner. You can get to the centre walking in about 20 minutes, quicker if you walk with pace. Getting to the hotel from Schipol airport we got the connexion shuttle to the hotel which was 17 euros each and stops at hotels on the way but we were lucky enough to be the only people there so went straight to the hotel. On the way back we got an electric car which was great and hassle free and was 39 euros fixed price for the taxi which was really reasonable and convenient as the hotel book it for you and tell you when it has arrived. Payment for everything was really easy they accept most cards and my room rate was stated in pounds when I paid which made it easier and I used a debit card which wasn't a problem, I also paid some of the room with remaining euros and that was fine too.

As for the hotel and room, we stayed in a Deluxe Room and it was perfect, a lovely rounded room at the back of the hotel with lovely big windows a TV in the bedroom, a seating area situated down a little hallway with another TV, fridge and tea making facilities. The bathroom was lovely with black glass doors and had a double shower and double sink which is great for couples. Only slight issue here was the shower heads had to be pointed towards the drain or the bathroom floor filled with water but we soon realised this, maybe a drain in the middle of the room could have avoided this but it was no major issue. The only slight thing the room could have done with was a coat of paint but this was only little scuff marks probably from suitcases and was really no problem but if I was to find fault that would be the only one, which speaks for itself!

The hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly, they printed our boarding passes, bought up reservations and booked tickets for us. The also supplied us with an umbrella when it was pouring with rain which was lovely.

Breakfast... well this was yummy. It was 15 euros if you pre booked which we did and there was something for everyone!! Sausages were gorgeous, fresh bread and continental breakfast too just anything you fancy, even champagne!

Overall it was a lovely stay, would definitely stay here again, and it is located right near Oosterpark which is great for a walk and lovely wildlife just great to relax. There is also a nightclub situated in the hotel basement which is highly rated but doesn't cause any sound issues but was unfortunately closed for most of our stay due to renovation.

Cant praise this hotel enough, my boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We asked for a Deluxe room on one level because some of the rooms have stairs separating the seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Loren,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback because your opinion is very valuable for us. You are absolutely right that the water did not drain properly. We have already resolved the issue by clearing the drainage. As well as the drainage we have scheduled the room for a paint job. Thank you for mentioning it in your review.
We are very happy to read that you liked our extensive breakfast buffet, the location, your room and the service level of our hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you again soon in the hotel.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was pretty good value, and I would stay there again if my budget was the same. It's also quite refreshing not being in the very centre, particularly in high season, when it's so crowded. It's close enough to walk anyway. Oosterpark is gorgeous too.

We upgraded to a studio and we were glad we did, though there was nothing wrong with the standard room we'd booked. Room tip: the closets are built into the black glass bathroom enclosure and are quite difficult to find, just have a good look for them!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you liked the upgrade to our studio. It is indeed a wonderfull room. Maybe next time we can persuade you to take one of our luxurious suites.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.