We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful and modern hotel in quiet area close to the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Characterful and modern hotel in quiet area close to the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I had a few email and telephone conversations with staff at the hotel (in order to make arrangements) and found everyone to be very helpful and prompt with responses. We reached the hotel by the convenient shuttle bus from the airport. The hotel is architecturally impressive with high ceilings and significant stairwells; it is easy to believe that the building has a history - formerly an orphanage! We were welcomed with a free drink from the bar which we thought was a nice touch. We stayed at the hotel for a total of four nights.

We stayed in a suite - the enormous double bed was on the top floor of a duplex, the stairs leading it to were a little steep and narrow and I wouldn't have wanted to tackle them after a few beers. On the lower floor was a two seater- settee, a table and the bathroom. The bathroom was equipped with a shower. The decor was modern - especially the bathroom which had black tiles and smoked glass walls to the corridor and sitting area, but the wooden floor had been stained and the walls looked a little tired in the rest of the suite (hence low cleanliness score). There seem to be some redecoration going on so this may be being addressed. Extra charges are made for a room with a bath. Rather inconsiderate quests (out of the control of the hotel) did insist on slamming their doors which did disturb our stay (hence noise level score). However, we were happy overall with the room.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel but instead walked 10 minutes to a bakery - Bakhuys (Sarphatiestraat 61) and had wonderful food there. Again, the staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a nice small park almost next to the hotel and there a couple of nice bars in the opposite direction to the center that are worth trying out. We had dinner at the hotel on a couple of occasions and were impressed with the food.

We hired a bike for our stay in Amsterdam and this is by far the best way to see the city - if you are able. The hotel does rent out very nice looking bikes, but if they have all gone, you can hire them, a little more cheaply at Mac Bikes (20 minute walk from the hotel).

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed Amsterdam; we were most impressed by the friendliness of the people and the joy of just wandering around the canals.

Room Tip: There seem to be a variety of different types of rooms, I would make sure, perhaps with a phone call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to receive positive and detailed feedback from our guests. We are very happy to hear that you liked our suite and the service level in our hotel. Thank you for telling us about the stains. I have asked the maintenance department to restore the stains on the wall and to polish up the wooden floor.

We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Arena for another perfect stay.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    303
    123
    75
    67
See reviews for
44
385
31
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed for 4 nights in order to see family and have a couple of days' relaxation - the hotel and the friendly helpful staff could not have been more accommodating. Great breakfast (menu for other meals a little limiting, especially for small ones), and a fantastic room. We had an incident between my 2 year old daughter and a cleaning trolley - thought no more about it, as she was fine - until we returned to the room later that evening - staff had left a note and a small toy to apologise; what a super thing to do. Extremely easy to get to the centre of town, everything so close by - lovely neighbourhood with Osterpark and the Tropenmusuem mere minutes away. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.
It is wonderfull to read that you liked your stay in our hotel and that you were positively surprised by the present for your daughter.

We hope to see you and your family again soon in Hotel Arena.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is amazing, very unique. As you enter the building you see a wonderful staircase. Girls at the reception were friendly and helpful. Our room was stylish, modern. Especially liked the tv at the end of the bed. The showergel smelt amazing. Good size shower, nice and clean towels are provided. Big variety of food at the breakfast table. The hotel has a terrace which unfortunately we couldn`t enjoy because of the bad weather.
Only negative thing to mention if you walk from the hotel to the city centre it takes about 45-60 minutes.
We used a shuttle bus to get to the hotel from the airport which cost 25 or 27 euros/person, I can`t remember exactly.
Hotel Arena has its own nightclub, housed in a beautiful converted church building and offering two dance floors on Fridays and Saturdays.
All in all we were satisfield with the hotel, I would recommend it for an unique experience.
Stayed: 17/May/2013-20/May/2013.

Room Tip: If your stay here, you can easily walk to the zoo which is one of the best in Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Evi an Nathan,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is very nice to read that you liked your stay last year. It is true there is a shuttle bus going from the airport, the exact price is 17 euro single ticket and 27 euro return ticket for one person. The hotel is also very easy to access by train and metro from the airport.
What a shame you could not enjoy our sunny terrace. We hope to welcome you again this year, let us hope the sun will shine for you.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This old hotel smells and is dirty. Beware when walking in the dark hallways, floors are not level. Don't expect to get any sleep because the hotel is very noisy, you can hear people walking, the elevator sounds and pipes when other people flush the toilet. The mattresses have seen better days and have had a lot of wear. The location is far from the city centre. There are plenty of other hotels that are much better in Amsterdam. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

May we ask you to contact us directly in order to find out what happened during your stay? We always strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve the quality of our hotel by contacting us directly.

Kindest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked a 7 nights stay in Hotel Arena with my husband as a treat, to go away from the bees hive that is London.

Both of us working for 5* hotels, our expectations may have been a bit high, even knowing Hotel Arena is 4*. However, we were not disappointed: the staff answered kindly to our requests, whether about the city or accommodations (forgot the tooth brush and adaptor, both were provided straight away). We were also able to check-in early for what seems a reasonable price to me (30€).

Our suite was simply massive, beautifully designed. The high ceiling was definitely appreciated. We also had a lovely view on a little garden/court. We have been awaken once by some noise (works?) nothing bad though as it didn't happen again. The bathroom was very large and modern: only a bath mat was missing, as the floor was a bit slippery.
We were happy to enjoy a few drinks watching football inside the bar, or just basking on the terrace outside.

Regarding the location, the hotel may not be in the city centre, but it's closed to (at least) 3 tram lines, 5 min with the tram from the underground station, and even 10min walk away from the canal bus on the red line ("dappermarkt troppenmuseum" stop).

The whole place was just very spacious and relaxing. I hope to be able to go back for my birthday in a few months, I'm sure it would be a nice treat once again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ce,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We will do our utmost best to provide you the same (or maybe better) room as your previous stay.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and our 17 month old daughter arrived at 5pm on Friday afternoon. The woman behind reception was very friendly and made us feel right at home straightaway. Once we checked in we walked along a couple of the stunning hallways lined with 15 ft white heavy curtains. A lovely look. The hotel was holding a business conference at the time of check in but you'd hardly notice. Inside the hotel is quite stunning, which contradicts it a view from outside as it's set back from the road and hard to spot straight away but that's nice, it means privacy. The stairways and ceilings are stunning with amazing chandeliers both in the hallway and in the room itself. The room has very high ceilings, high windows and air conditioning which is very effective. There are a selection of European plug sockets as well as one English one. There is also a sofa, 2 chairs and a mini bar. A good size television perches on a table at the end of the bed so offers good viewing. The bathroom is in the room but behind some tinted windows, it's a good size and well decorated. One thing I'll never understand about bathroom designers is why they put the lights inside so you have to walk in a couple of steps to switch the light on. In this bathroom that can be a dangerous couple of steps given the flooring which can get very slippery. The shower is large enough for 2 and offers good power. Big gripe with the shower is that there was a loose slab in the floor. Not a problem you might think but every time you stood on it it squeezed the stale old water up through and caused a stink. Room is equipped with hairdryer and plenty of towels. Breakfast is served til 10 and you can either sit inside a table, a breakfast bar or outside which is on the lovely patio area. Breakfast is a combination of English, serving sausages,scrambled egg, beans, mushrooms & bacon as well as continental and yoghurts and fruits. An excellent choice all round although not cheap at €18,5 per person per day. Don't make the mistake of thinking you booked B & B like we did and then finding an additional €75 on your bill at the end. There are plenty of cheaper alternatives. Parking is excellent, very secure and just 20 seconds walk to reception. Negotiate your parking as well, we got ours down to €45 for 48 hours which is excellent. We also had the evening meal, we chose the burger which unfortunately we're not good. My wife's had a hair in it and she asked for well done and got rare, I asked for medium and got rare. The hotel is around a 40 minute walk to the red light district so take a stroll and enjoy the sites. My final appraisal would be this - staff excellent, room almost perfect, hotel stunning, food......eat elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for your kind and honest review on your stay in Hotel Arena. We are happy to read that you really liked our hotel.
We are currently renovating some bathrooms for the reasons that you mentionned in your review, we hope to have completed the renovation at the end of this month.
I have forwarded your remarks concerning the burger to our chef. He will take immediate action.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see you again at Hotel Arena!

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I thought I was heading into the ghetto until I arrived at the hotel. It was like a converted mansion with high ceilings and spiral stairs. Room was quirky, very modernly furnished, and it had a good restaurant and bar. They were renovating some rooms so the noise was not appreciated but since I was mostly out I didn't complain. Wifi was complimentary which is a great touch! Breakfast was the standard continental fair but good variety and quality. Not much to do in the immediate area but the main action is just a short cab or tram ride away. I'd stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr Sangeeth,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you had a good stay with us. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the renovation of some rooms as we updating and improving our product. We will be very happy when the renovation is completed at the end of July.
What a pleasure to read that you liked the building and the location. It is true that the hotel is situated in the beautiful residential area near the Oosterpark.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, it was my pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel. Hopefully we will see you again in Hotel Arena.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.