We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay, in an ideal quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay, in an ideal quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed for 4 nights in order to see family and have a couple of days' relaxation - the hotel and the friendly helpful staff could not have been more accommodating. Great breakfast (menu for other meals a little limiting, especially for small ones), and a fantastic room. We had an incident between my 2 year old daughter and a cleaning trolley - thought no more about it, as she was fine - until we returned to the room later that evening - staff had left a note and a small toy to apologise; what a super thing to do. Extremely easy to get to the centre of town, everything so close by - lovely neighbourhood with Osterpark and the Tropenmusuem mere minutes away. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.
It is wonderfull to read that you liked your stay in our hotel and that you were positively surprised by the present for your daughter.

We hope to see you and your family again soon in Hotel Arena.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    645
    226
    92
    74
See reviews for
105
856
52
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is amazing, very unique. As you enter the building you see a wonderful staircase. Girls at the reception were friendly and helpful. Our room was stylish, modern. Especially liked the tv at the end of the bed. The showergel smelt amazing. Good size shower, nice and clean towels are provided. Big variety of food at the breakfast table. The hotel has a terrace which unfortunately we couldn`t enjoy because of the bad weather.
Only negative thing to mention if you walk from the hotel to the city centre it takes about 45-60 minutes.
We used a shuttle bus to get to the hotel from the airport which cost 25 or 27 euros/person, I can`t remember exactly.
Hotel Arena has its own nightclub, housed in a beautiful converted church building and offering two dance floors on Fridays and Saturdays.
All in all we were satisfield with the hotel, I would recommend it for an unique experience.
Stayed: 17/May/2013-20/May/2013.

Room Tip: If your stay here, you can easily walk to the zoo which is one of the best in Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Evi an Nathan,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is very nice to read that you liked your stay last year. It is true there is a shuttle bus going from the airport, the exact price is 17 euro single ticket and 27 euro return ticket for one person. The hotel is also very easy to access by train and metro from the airport.
What a shame you could not enjoy our sunny terrace. We hope to welcome you again this year, let us hope the sun will shine for you.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This old hotel smells and is dirty. Beware when walking in the dark hallways, floors are not level. Don't expect to get any sleep because the hotel is very noisy, you can hear people walking, the elevator sounds and pipes when other people flush the toilet. The mattresses have seen better days and have had a lot of wear. The location is far from the city centre. There are plenty of other hotels that are much better in Amsterdam. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

May we ask you to contact us directly in order to find out what happened during your stay? We always strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve the quality of our hotel by contacting us directly.

Kindest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked a 7 nights stay in Hotel Arena with my husband as a treat, to go away from the bees hive that is London.

Both of us working for 5* hotels, our expectations may have been a bit high, even knowing Hotel Arena is 4*. However, we were not disappointed: the staff answered kindly to our requests, whether about the city or accommodations (forgot the tooth brush and adaptor, both were provided straight away). We were also able to check-in early for what seems a reasonable price to me (30€).

Our suite was simply massive, beautifully designed. The high ceiling was definitely appreciated. We also had a lovely view on a little garden/court. We have been awaken once by some noise (works?) nothing bad though as it didn't happen again. The bathroom was very large and modern: only a bath mat was missing, as the floor was a bit slippery.
We were happy to enjoy a few drinks watching football inside the bar, or just basking on the terrace outside.

Regarding the location, the hotel may not be in the city centre, but it's closed to (at least) 3 tram lines, 5 min with the tram from the underground station, and even 10min walk away from the canal bus on the red line ("dappermarkt troppenmuseum" stop).

The whole place was just very spacious and relaxing. I hope to be able to go back for my birthday in a few months, I'm sure it would be a nice treat once again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ce,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We will do our utmost best to provide you the same (or maybe better) room as your previous stay.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and our 17 month old daughter arrived at 5pm on Friday afternoon. The woman behind reception was very friendly and made us feel right at home straightaway. Once we checked in we walked along a couple of the stunning hallways lined with 15 ft white heavy curtains. A lovely look. The hotel was holding a business conference at the time of check in but you'd hardly notice. Inside the hotel is quite stunning, which contradicts it a view from outside as it's set back from the road and hard to spot straight away but that's nice, it means privacy. The stairways and ceilings are stunning with amazing chandeliers both in the hallway and in the room itself. The room has very high ceilings, high windows and air conditioning which is very effective. There are a selection of European plug sockets as well as one English one. There is also a sofa, 2 chairs and a mini bar. A good size television perches on a table at the end of the bed so offers good viewing. The bathroom is in the room but behind some tinted windows, it's a good size and well decorated. One thing I'll never understand about bathroom designers is why they put the lights inside so you have to walk in a couple of steps to switch the light on. In this bathroom that can be a dangerous couple of steps given the flooring which can get very slippery. The shower is large enough for 2 and offers good power. Big gripe with the shower is that there was a loose slab in the floor. Not a problem you might think but every time you stood on it it squeezed the stale old water up through and caused a stink. Room is equipped with hairdryer and plenty of towels. Breakfast is served til 10 and you can either sit inside a table, a breakfast bar or outside which is on the lovely patio area. Breakfast is a combination of English, serving sausages,scrambled egg, beans, mushrooms & bacon as well as continental and yoghurts and fruits. An excellent choice all round although not cheap at €18,5 per person per day. Don't make the mistake of thinking you booked B & B like we did and then finding an additional €75 on your bill at the end. There are plenty of cheaper alternatives. Parking is excellent, very secure and just 20 seconds walk to reception. Negotiate your parking as well, we got ours down to €45 for 48 hours which is excellent. We also had the evening meal, we chose the burger which unfortunately we're not good. My wife's had a hair in it and she asked for well done and got rare, I asked for medium and got rare. The hotel is around a 40 minute walk to the red light district so take a stroll and enjoy the sites. My final appraisal would be this - staff excellent, room almost perfect, hotel stunning, food......eat elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for your kind and honest review on your stay in Hotel Arena. We are happy to read that you really liked our hotel.
We are currently renovating some bathrooms for the reasons that you mentionned in your review, we hope to have completed the renovation at the end of this month.
I have forwarded your remarks concerning the burger to our chef. He will take immediate action.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see you again at Hotel Arena!

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I thought I was heading into the ghetto until I arrived at the hotel. It was like a converted mansion with high ceilings and spiral stairs. Room was quirky, very modernly furnished, and it had a good restaurant and bar. They were renovating some rooms so the noise was not appreciated but since I was mostly out I didn't complain. Wifi was complimentary which is a great touch! Breakfast was the standard continental fair but good variety and quality. Not much to do in the immediate area but the main action is just a short cab or tram ride away. I'd stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr Sangeeth,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you had a good stay with us. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the renovation of some rooms as we updating and improving our product. We will be very happy when the renovation is completed at the end of July.
What a pleasure to read that you liked the building and the location. It is true that the hotel is situated in the beautiful residential area near the Oosterpark.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, it was my pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel. Hopefully we will see you again in Hotel Arena.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice comfortable room and excellent service. A bit noisy due to traffic in the morning.
I enjoyed the hotel bicycle for a ride in the city. Parking facilities are great value.
Free internet is slow...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Jo,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

What a pleasure to read those kind words from a regular guest. I will share those words with my team.
When coming back to Hotel Arena, we will try to do our best to give you a room facing the internal garden instead of a room facing the road.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again here in the hotel.

Warmest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#100 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#154 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,344 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#58 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.