We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Caxias
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

It was a nice journay at Arena. The satf reception was fantastic! And the location was on central area. From there we can take a litlle walk to the center city. At outside you have a nice place to stay and take a drink.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Rui G,

Thank you for your effort to write a review about our hotel. It is thrilling to read, that you have had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Arena. We hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again!

Kind regards, Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager - Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    326
    130
    75
    70
See reviews for
47
404
33
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Beautifully designed, comfortable rooms, with neutral, high quality furnishings.
Great location close to tram link so very easy to get to from Central Station.
Helpful staff throughout entire stay. Highly recommended and would return next time when visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time you invested in writing a review about our hotel. Much appreciated! Great to hear that you would recommend Hotel Arena to other people & that you would like to return whenever you are in Amsterdam. We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards, Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager - Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

starting with difficulties getting our payed parking place because of reservations for t.v.crews; no informationset in the room; no lightswitch to be found in the bathroom; no waterpressure in the morning, so we had a dripping shower; breakfast two times rated (correction after complaint).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear CWdl,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time you invested in writing a review. I sincerely regret that the quality of your stay in our hotel was not as you hoped for. We aim at delivering an unforgettable experience to all of our guests.

We absolutely recognize the problems you’ve mentioned and we are continuous working in solving these issues. The renewed information set is available in the rooms now, the light switch can be found outside the bathroom and the problems at the parking lot caused by the TV crew will be solved this week. The dripping shower has been solved. Although my colleagues of Hotel Arena have already taken care of your breakfast that was charged twice, we will definitely pay attention that this will not happen ever again.

Once again, I want to apologize that your stay was not living up to your expectations.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in our hotel and fulfil your wishes.

Kind Regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We went to Amsterdam for three nights from 3 March - 6th March. When I made the booking through Low cost holidays it stated we would get a twin room. So on this basis I emailed the hotel saying we were coming for my husbands 40th birthday and could we have a double room and thought they may throw in something special being a birthday.

So we booked in, nice friendly staff. They gave us our room key and we went along to the room and found a twin room. The bed was on the ground floor then up the stairs there was a seating area. As we are married we didnt really want a twin room so we went back to reception and asked to change. They said it was a twin when we booked, so I guess they didnt receive my email.

The next room was slightly different. Split level with the bed being on the top floor. Scary, steep stairs up to the bed area. Lovely comfy bed, but the room was too hot and although there was heating, there was no air conditioning,

The hotel location is a bit out of the city, we used the trams and was fine. We did eat a supper at the hotel too, not a great choice of food on the menu.

Lovely hotel all in all. Very modern and quiet. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear NikkiMouse,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your nice feedback! We sincerely hope you enjoyed everything during your stay and we are all looking forward to your next stay! I apologize however for the fact that your e-mail did not go through, we will all take a look into this and make sure that your next stay will be another perfect one!

Thank you again!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my partner for his birthday. We found the staff at the hotel extremely helpful and friendly giving us maps, directions and renting bikes :) we had lunch in the bar area which was also lovely! The duplex room we had was very clean and the bed was super comfy, there was a small circular air vent device attached next to the bed which was slightly annoying as it was a little noisy at night even if we turned the air on off.. we didn't know what this was for? The TV didn't work but we weren't too bothered about that. next time I think we would try and book a studio room as we found the duplex slightly small for 2 people. It is a little far from the centre but the area is lovely and quiet surrounded by canals and picturesque parks which we liked. The tram is just around the corner or a taxi costs approx 10 euros to the central area. We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to return again soon :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear StaceyW1234,

What a great review! We are very glad to hear that everyting was living up to your expectations! However, I want to apologize about the fact that your t.v. was not working during your stay. This was a problem which is solved now. So I sincerely hope to welcome you again some day to let you experience Amsterdam a little bit more!

Have a great day and I hope to welcome you soon!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I spend in hotel just one night, but was good experience. very nice old fashioned hotel. my room was in ground floor. small room with stairs (bed is located in the top of the room). nice bathroom, only I was missing vanity set and there was not possible close the door from bathroom (some problems with flor. nice staff, nice restaurant with good vine.

Room Tip: they have free wifi and premium wifi. The free one is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear TomasBR,

Thank you for your nice review! I sincerely hope you will be returning to our Hotel and beautiful city soon, to welcome you again and to make sure that your next stay will be as memorable as this one!

Thank you again and kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.