We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, lovely food and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, lovely food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend. It's located just outside of the centre but with several tram stops a few minutes walk away. The lobby of the hotel was absolutely beautiful with an intricate iron and stone staircase dominating the area. The rooms were clean, stylish and well designed. The only gripe from the whole weekend was that the rooms lacked storage space. Apart from a cupboard to hang a coat in (there was only one hanger) there were no drawers to put your clothes in. However, the bathroom was beautiful and I could have spent all day in the shower.
We had breakfast on both days in the hotel. It contained everything, and more, that you needed. The cooked English was nice, the bread was fresh and the coffee was good. There was even the option of champagne if you so desired! We ate lunch on one day, a simple salmon sandwich and a panini but both tasted great and were very fresh.
The service at the hotel was brilliant. They helped us arrange the shuttle from the hotel to the airport, helped us book tickets to the Anne Frank museam and were generally very helpful.

Overall, we have a lovely stay at the hotel and would definitely come back if we visited Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a duplex room which was lovely to have an upstairs space to sit that wasn't on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Liz and Paul,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay! We were happy to have you as our guests. We are sorry to hear that you haven't had sufficient storage space due to the minimalistic design of some of our rooms. My apologies for that.

I want to thank you for your nice feedback regarding our staff. They were happy to hear your kind review and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    430
    164
    83
    70
See reviews for
58
561
37
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We staid in last weekend in Hotel Arena and we liked the friendly personal and very nice accommodiation. Good service for a very good price!! You can walk (if it isn't raining) to the most popular places of Amsterdam like Rijksmuseum.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Google Translation
Beste 'MW',

Hartelijk dank voor uw vriendelijke feedback met betrekking tot uw recente verblijf! Wij stellen het erg op prijs dat u hier tijd voor heeft genomen en wij zouden u in de toekomst graag nogmaals welkom willen heten om u een onvergetelijk verblijf te bezorgen!

Met vriendelijke groet,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just close enough to the main city centre to be able to see the sights and just far enough off the beaten track to be restful. 5 mins walk to 14 tram stop (for Dam Sq and Centraal) and to the metro

Very unusual duplex rooms, OK for me but less able guest might struggle. Great bar and restaurant area, breakfast good to with a wide selection. Staff all very friendly and helpful,

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear TJTurner1,

What a great review, thank you very much for spending time writing this review! We were happy to have you and we are looking forward to your next stay!

Have a great day,

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojácar, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The staff are probably the best I have ever encountered in all my travelling. Nothing was too much trouble Superb!!! The weather was horrible but it was a pleasure to come back to a lovely warm and comfortable Hotel Room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Gary,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. You can imagine we are most delighted to hear that you have had a positive experience in our hotel and with our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on business with a group of colleagues during a show at the RAI. The location is a little off centre , although there is a tram stop near the hotel for relatively easy access to the RAI and downtown ( taxi to RAI :~€15). This is not a corporate hotel and what it brings in decor, ambience and history, it sometimes lacks in the service you would expect as a business traveller.
A standard room in this hotel consists of a black tiled bathroom with shower ( fine) a super tiny living area with a small couch , tv and desk.

The bed is on a mezzanine level reached by a steep spiral staircase. Not great if you need the bathroom during the night.. The roomsize will disappoint unless you are a single traveller. There isn't enough space for 2 to make it more than a place to crash at night.

I stayed in room 45 on the ground floor and there was a bad sewerage smell in the corridor for the duration of my stay.

Restaurant / bar: The bar menu is extremely limited and the restaurant really didn't want to accept our group of 8 as the 'chef was new'. The bar / restaurant staff were friendly enough , but the service seemed chaotic at times and they were clearly short staffed. We were , after some negotiation 'allowed ' a table of 8. ( there was only 8 other diners so it was almost empty) The food was actually quite good (though we were only given the choice of 2 main courses ) but it felt like we had to beg to eat there.

I would probably not stay here again as I think there are better value and better service hotels .


Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Flyxin,

Thank you for spending your time writing a review for our hotel. I sincerely regret to hear that you did not experience our signature split-level rooms as positive. Hopefully we will have the honour to welcome you again in the future, so we can arrange a Studio for you withour the stairs you mentioned in your feedback. The situation in the restaurant will be discussed with the Restaurantmanager and this is not the way we are used to approach our valued guests.

I hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a very stylish hotel, a little bit outside the centre but not too far. Our room was very original, with a kind of mezzanine up some stairs. But our stay was ruined by the bed: no double bed, just two single beds pushed together. They kept sliding apart during the night. If you put two beds together, you have to at least fasten them together! Also, the hotel is a big building (a former orphanage), but hard to find as there is only a very small sign with the name. I didn't try breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Belgo,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. I am sorry to hear about your bad experience in one of our twinrooms. Most of our rooms are equipped with a Kingsize or Queensize bed. I would like to welcome you again someday, so I can provide you with a Kingsize bed and an unforgettable stay!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had our staff party at this hotel. Hotel is situated just out of the city centre in a quiet neighborhood, with easy excess to metro links that will get you to the city centre and the train station in just a few minutes. Nice decor and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.