We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay- would recommend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay- would recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a lovely hotel just outside the hustle and bustle of the city centre. We took the Metro to Weesperplein (51, 53 or 54 lines all stop here) from Centraal Station and it's only a short 5-10 min walk once you get your bearings. Later we found that there are tram stops near the hotel which are even closer than the Metro, however if the weather is decent it's also not a great distance to walk to the museum square and other points of interest.

We arrived well before the 3pm check-in time but had no problem getting our room when we arrived. Reception staff were extremely polite, welcoming and helpful during our entire stay. We didn't expect the 50euro holding fee at check-in as most places just take your card details for any extra expenses, so it would have been nice to know about this before arriving- mostly for our own budgeting purposes!

The hotel decor is fantastic and has been done well throughout. We stayed on the second floor which has a landing area out of the lift which needs some tlc, but other than that it has a consistent quirky/gothic but modern feel. The room we stayed in was just about big enough for two of us on a 3 night stay. Great value for money, clean and quiet enough. There were small details in the room such as scuffed walls and door and the tiling in the bathroom that with a bit of tlc would really make the room that extra bit nicer. The bed was too soft for our personal liking, and the radiator made a constant noise resembling that of a trickling tap (which I personally found quite soothing but my boyfriend not so much!) but it was nothing to knock it down for. The shower was the best part of the bathroom after we got used to the tinted glass 'walls'- which we didn't mind but as others have said, other people might!

Breakfast every morning was fresh and well laid out buffet, with a lot of choice if you want to fill yourself up with a cooked breakfast or want something a bit lighter like yoghurt, muesli, fruit, etc. I really recommend trying the fresh loaves of bread which are to die for! We didn't eat at the hotel otherwise as we found the menus for the bar and restaurant a bit limited and pricey. We were surprised when we wanted to order room service on one of the nights that the menu brought to us was the same as the restaurant evening menu, with dishes like wild duck and veal which personally wasn't what we wanted to eat in bed after a full day out in the city! We were hoping for a lighter 'bar snacks' type of menu with perhaps some sandwiches or a burger here and there.

We checked out on our day of departure and left our suitcase and bags there with absolutely no problem. When we went back to collect our bags in the afternoon we stayed for a warm drink at the bar before leaving for the airport. The hot chocolate was absolutely delicious especially after getting drenched all day!

Overall our stay at Hotel Arena was great value for money and we really enjoyed it. A few details which were mostly down to personal preference let it down, but I would definitely recommend it and would return again if were to visit Amsterdam in the future.

Room Tip: Don't order room service if you're after a simple meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Ms. Andrea,

Thank you very much for your time and effort to write down such a nice review. My colleagues at the reception desk were very happy to hear your positive feedback! I apologize for the fact that we hold a €50.00 deposit upon check-in, this is a security measure which is very common in the hotel business, to avoid the fact that you could be bothered by cash payments throughout your stay. Again my apologies for that.

The scuffed walls have been repaired and a different menu has been placed in all of our 116 rooms. Thank you for your feedback and kind words. I hope you will be returning to our hotel soon, so we can provide you and your boyfriend with an unforgettable stay!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    643
    224
    91
    74
See reviews for
105
852
51
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heythuysen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A perfect hotel in the center of Amsterdam. Old structure with design elements. High quality rooms, bar and restaurant for a average price. good value for money.
If you look for a classy stay in center of Amsterdam: i suggest you check hotel Arena

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. Renetje,

Your review is highly appreciated by our company. Thank you very much for this perfect reccomendation! We were glad to have you as our guest, I sincerely hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

One of the nicest hotels ever. Got a really good value deal on ebookers! Location is a little out of town, bit tiring to walk back after a long day of exploring! But only 10mins from tram stop otherwise. Service and design of hotel top notch; bathroom a bit grotty though. Not unclean but could do with some new grout, sealant etc. Also the bathroom was NOT private!! Overall, would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floris V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. Lauren,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent visit. We value your opinion and commentary about the bathroom during your stay. This will be discussed with the hotel management and we will take proper action. Again many thanks for your review and we sincerely hope to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Floris Verbunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here 4-8th December (with a group of 6 friends) and whilst the Hotel was very pretty and clean i would avoid this place like the plague. Upon check in i was asked for a card ''for the rooms'' i travel regularly so duly handed over my card as usual only to find a couple of days later they had taken €500 as a holding deposit!! i had paid in full so was surprised by the amount! The person on reception was shocked when i told her how much had been debited and told me it would be refunded immediatley however it took them over 2 weeks and numerous phonecalls to action this! It ruined the whole trip and the staff were so uncaring and couldnt really be bothered with me once i had checked out- i will NOT be staying with this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here during our visit to Amsterdam at Christmas.
The Hotel itself is very nice and welcoming and checking in was no problem at all, they even give you free maps of the city with attractions marked on it.
The room was nice a clean with a very comfy bed, like other reviews the tinted glass between the actual bathroom and the bedroom is very see-through, not a problem for us but if this was perhaps a first trip away with a partner and you aren't that comfortable then it might be a problem!
The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre but is only 20 minutes walk to Dam square or you can jump the trams which has stops just across the canal.
When checking out the staff took our bags so that we could still explore the city as our flight wasn't until later that day.

Room Tip: The cleaners come round about 9am so if you want a longer lie in then remember to put your "do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Recently stayed at the Hotel Arena during a 4 day break with the girlfriend. On the whole, it was a fantastic place to be. It is an extremely impressive building, not that striking from the outside but as soon as you set foot in the reception and see the staircases (I'd add a photo but there are plenty on here already), you can't help but keep noticing some of the incredible features.

The hotel is only a 20 minute walk from Rembrandtplein, where there is plenty to see and do. We bought 96 hour GVB passes but used them probably 3 times just because we enjoyed the walk. Along the road, then up the Amstel and over the canals and you are in the centre within 25 minutes! We would have missed out on so much if we had taken public transport instead of walking. Basically, on a map it might look like a fair distance from the city but it is not. And the distance you will have to cover wont seem so bad when you see how beautiful the walk is. Even from Dam Square, the hotel was never more than an hours walk away (and that's with our particularly poor navigational skills!).

The staff were very helpful. We arrived around 4 hours before check-in and, for a €10 deposit we were given a locker to store our luggage in. We took the opportunity to explore the nearby streets and canals before taking a stroll through Oosterpark.

Upon returning, the staff were welcoming and friendly, gave us our key cards and directed us to our room. Walking through the corridors, I couldn't help but be amazed. High ceilings, ornate staircases and coving. Beautiful courtyards. A brilliant combination of old and new, the "design hotel" element adds absolutely no pretension whilst still feeling very fancy.

Our room (number 143, on the first floor) was lovely. Nice little lounge area downstairs, with a leather sofa, television, telephone and minibar. LAN points available too. Behind a black glass panel, just inside the door, was the bathroom. Sort of a wet room style bathroom. Nice and spacey.. only thing is, the black glass is far from opaque! Really not a problem for me or the girlfriend but if you're travelling with someone you aren't incredibly comfortable with it could be an issue. As it was, we spent most of our time in the room upstairs. The gigantic bed and the television were pretty much all we needed so the bathroom was always private enough.

In the corner of the room was a little staircase leading up to the bedroom area. I really loved this feature of the room. The massively high ceilings, gigantic windows and everything.. could just be the child in me, but it was just kind of cool. Be sure to check though because if you have trouble with stairs, you'd have trouble with the room! Again, not a problem for us and the bedroom area was nice. Massive comfy bed, plenty of space, another television and telephone.

All in all the room experience was great. My only criticism is that the smaller details make it look a little bit aged. The wall paper was peeling in places, for example. I only noticed on the last day though, so its not as if it ruins the room! The cleaners make pretty early visits too. I probably ought to have apologised to the cleaner who had to see me wearing a towel at 9:30 am! Breakfast is only served until 10:30.. which isn't really that early and isn't unusual.. I'm just a fan of having a lie in so I can't complain!

On checking out, the staff were very helpful too. They took our luggage off our hands for a few hours as we had time to kill between check out and flights. They arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the reception and take us to the airport too for their fixed rate of €39. More expensive than taking the tram and metro, but so much easier. We couldn't be dealing with the hassle of trying to get to the airport in time!

All in all, the hotel and staff were fantastic. Whilst the hotel could do with a little love in some areas, it is still by quite a margin one of the nicest places I have stayed. I'd thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Deluxe split rooms are nice. Certainly different to any hotel experience I have had before. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A group of 9 girls stayed ah this hotel in August for a hen. It is abit out from the city centre so you will have to get a tram which takes around 30 minutes to get into Dam Square. If you are looking for a nice hotel without the hustle and bustle of the town then it’s great.

The down fall... On the last day we all went for breakfast around 9.30am. We had packed all of our stuff as we had to check out at 11.00am. We arrived back to the rooms to see 2 cleaners lurking outside the rooms. We took no notice of it and got our stuff and we’re all waiting outside the rooms. 3 girls then realised their purses has been opened and money was missing (Euros and Sterling notes). We went straight to reception to complain and the receptionist did not look at all surprised. If anything she looked annoyed/embarrassed that this had happened. We were told that they will check the key cards and if someone had entered the room they would give us money back. As we were due to get into the taxi the receptionist came up to one of the girls and handed her back a £10.00 note and advised her the cleaner had 'hovered' it up, however the note looked in great condition. We didn’t have time to discuss as we had a flight to catch but said we will email them once we are back to the UK. Long story short, the manager agreed the cleaners had been in the room but does not believe they took any money! We still don’t know why the cleaners had been in our room as check out wasn’t until 11.00am.

I had to add this to trip advisor as iv just seen someone else has posted something re money missing and had been treated the same way we had.

Very annoyed that this has to happened as we had, had a great stay up until the last day.

So if you are going to stay here just be very careful of your money and anything valuable!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#99 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#154 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,341 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#59 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#57 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.