We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On balance, one of the nicest hotels I've been to.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“On balance, one of the nicest hotels I've been to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Recently stayed at the Hotel Arena during a 4 day break with the girlfriend. On the whole, it was a fantastic place to be. It is an extremely impressive building, not that striking from the outside but as soon as you set foot in the reception and see the staircases (I'd add a photo but there are plenty on here already), you can't help but keep noticing some of the incredible features.

The hotel is only a 20 minute walk from Rembrandtplein, where there is plenty to see and do. We bought 96 hour GVB passes but used them probably 3 times just because we enjoyed the walk. Along the road, then up the Amstel and over the canals and you are in the centre within 25 minutes! We would have missed out on so much if we had taken public transport instead of walking. Basically, on a map it might look like a fair distance from the city but it is not. And the distance you will have to cover wont seem so bad when you see how beautiful the walk is. Even from Dam Square, the hotel was never more than an hours walk away (and that's with our particularly poor navigational skills!).

The staff were very helpful. We arrived around 4 hours before check-in and, for a €10 deposit we were given a locker to store our luggage in. We took the opportunity to explore the nearby streets and canals before taking a stroll through Oosterpark.

Upon returning, the staff were welcoming and friendly, gave us our key cards and directed us to our room. Walking through the corridors, I couldn't help but be amazed. High ceilings, ornate staircases and coving. Beautiful courtyards. A brilliant combination of old and new, the "design hotel" element adds absolutely no pretension whilst still feeling very fancy.

Our room (number 143, on the first floor) was lovely. Nice little lounge area downstairs, with a leather sofa, television, telephone and minibar. LAN points available too. Behind a black glass panel, just inside the door, was the bathroom. Sort of a wet room style bathroom. Nice and spacey.. only thing is, the black glass is far from opaque! Really not a problem for me or the girlfriend but if you're travelling with someone you aren't incredibly comfortable with it could be an issue. As it was, we spent most of our time in the room upstairs. The gigantic bed and the television were pretty much all we needed so the bathroom was always private enough.

In the corner of the room was a little staircase leading up to the bedroom area. I really loved this feature of the room. The massively high ceilings, gigantic windows and everything.. could just be the child in me, but it was just kind of cool. Be sure to check though because if you have trouble with stairs, you'd have trouble with the room! Again, not a problem for us and the bedroom area was nice. Massive comfy bed, plenty of space, another television and telephone.

All in all the room experience was great. My only criticism is that the smaller details make it look a little bit aged. The wall paper was peeling in places, for example. I only noticed on the last day though, so its not as if it ruins the room! The cleaners make pretty early visits too. I probably ought to have apologised to the cleaner who had to see me wearing a towel at 9:30 am! Breakfast is only served until 10:30.. which isn't really that early and isn't unusual.. I'm just a fan of having a lie in so I can't complain!

On checking out, the staff were very helpful too. They took our luggage off our hands for a few hours as we had time to kill between check out and flights. They arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the reception and take us to the airport too for their fixed rate of €39. More expensive than taking the tram and metro, but so much easier. We couldn't be dealing with the hassle of trying to get to the airport in time!

All in all, the hotel and staff were fantastic. Whilst the hotel could do with a little love in some areas, it is still by quite a margin one of the nicest places I have stayed. I'd thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Deluxe split rooms are nice. Certainly different to any hotel experience I have had before. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    294
    117
    75
    67
See reviews for
43
373
31
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A group of 9 girls stayed ah this hotel in August for a hen. It is abit out from the city centre so you will have to get a tram which takes around 30 minutes to get into Dam Square. If you are looking for a nice hotel without the hustle and bustle of the town then it’s great.

The down fall... On the last day we all went for breakfast around 9.30am. We had packed all of our stuff as we had to check out at 11.00am. We arrived back to the rooms to see 2 cleaners lurking outside the rooms. We took no notice of it and got our stuff and we’re all waiting outside the rooms. 3 girls then realised their purses has been opened and money was missing (Euros and Sterling notes). We went straight to reception to complain and the receptionist did not look at all surprised. If anything she looked annoyed/embarrassed that this had happened. We were told that they will check the key cards and if someone had entered the room they would give us money back. As we were due to get into the taxi the receptionist came up to one of the girls and handed her back a £10.00 note and advised her the cleaner had 'hovered' it up, however the note looked in great condition. We didn’t have time to discuss as we had a flight to catch but said we will email them once we are back to the UK. Long story short, the manager agreed the cleaners had been in the room but does not believe they took any money! We still don’t know why the cleaners had been in our room as check out wasn’t until 11.00am.

I had to add this to trip advisor as iv just seen someone else has posted something re money missing and had been treated the same way we had.

Very annoyed that this has to happened as we had, had a great stay up until the last day.

So if you are going to stay here just be very careful of your money and anything valuable!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked a delux room with a king size bed, the room was a good size but not huge and the king size bed was two singles pushed together. Modern decor and bathroom which had a fabulous shower. Nice bar area but some of the corridors and communal spaces looked a bit shabby. Didn't take Breakfast at the hotel seemed quite expensive went to the Bagel and Beans instead which was situated about 5 mins from the hotel. Would defo recommend this for breakfast/lunch great menu and very friendly staff. A big negative for us was that my daughter had some money stolen from the hotel bedroom and we were not happy with the way the hotel manager dealt with it. We reported the incident as soon as we noticed the money was missing and the next day the manager said he'd investigated but from the room key records the staff who had entered the room he completed trusted so then went on to imply that he thought my daughter was lying. His manner was very arrogant and patronising. This spoilt our stay at the hotel which up until that point had been ok. Would recommend hiring the bikes from the hotel, these very very comfy to ride and great fun. A fantastic local restaurant is Boom eten en drinken which is a French Bistro which serves excellent food and has a great atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had 3 night at the hotel, interesting, full of history, hotel has everything you need for a trip to Amsterdam. 20 mins walk to centre, 4 mins walk to Metro, 1 min walk to tram stop, so its all on your door step.
Room was cool, Hotel reception staff were amazing
Would i stay there again when i go to Amsterdam................. YES

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed a couple of times in hotel Arena and were very pleased with our stay so far. The hotel offers a unique exterieur and interieur, however it looked a bit more run down than a couple of years ago. It defenitely needs some refurbishing.
The rooms vary in size and offer a very different look and feel which is nice. But size is linked to a different price? Breakfast is ok, great that there is capacity to park your car. You can take the tram and you are very quick in the center. The hotel is also nearby the Stopera and Carre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Right by a tram stop, a beautiful hotel with lots of history, stunning room with high ceilings and windows clean and modern pod style bathroom. Prompt check in and very helpful staff giving information about trips and transport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The architecture and design of the hotel is very interesting, it shows it's a place with history and I understood from locals this is a fancy place to go out in the evening, with life music and dancing. But I was not impressed at all with the quality of the hotel. My room was small, dated and with poor quality wooden flooring. The bathroom was also small, all black and not very clean. The bed was very soft and I personally dislike it, but more annoying was the very poor phonic isolation of the room. I could hear the person in the neighboring room turning in its bed, without exaggeration. Quality of dinner was very good. Location is not convenient, if you want to visit the center you have to walk 10-15mins to the closest metro station. Check in time is late at 3pm and the staff didn't try to accomodate us when we arrived just before noon. All in all, this is not a place I would return to in my future trips in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.