We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had 3 night at the hotel, interesting, full of history, hotel has everything you need for a trip to Amsterdam. 20 mins walk to centre, 4 mins walk to Metro, 1 min walk to tram stop, so its all on your door step.
Room was cool, Hotel reception staff were amazing
Would i stay there again when i go to Amsterdam................. YES

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    303
    122
    75
    67
See reviews for
44
385
31
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed a couple of times in hotel Arena and were very pleased with our stay so far. The hotel offers a unique exterieur and interieur, however it looked a bit more run down than a couple of years ago. It defenitely needs some refurbishing.
The rooms vary in size and offer a very different look and feel which is nice. But size is linked to a different price? Breakfast is ok, great that there is capacity to park your car. You can take the tram and you are very quick in the center. The hotel is also nearby the Stopera and Carre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Right by a tram stop, a beautiful hotel with lots of history, stunning room with high ceilings and windows clean and modern pod style bathroom. Prompt check in and very helpful staff giving information about trips and transport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The architecture and design of the hotel is very interesting, it shows it's a place with history and I understood from locals this is a fancy place to go out in the evening, with life music and dancing. But I was not impressed at all with the quality of the hotel. My room was small, dated and with poor quality wooden flooring. The bathroom was also small, all black and not very clean. The bed was very soft and I personally dislike it, but more annoying was the very poor phonic isolation of the room. I could hear the person in the neighboring room turning in its bed, without exaggeration. Quality of dinner was very good. Location is not convenient, if you want to visit the center you have to walk 10-15mins to the closest metro station. Check in time is late at 3pm and the staff didn't try to accomodate us when we arrived just before noon. All in all, this is not a place I would return to in my future trips in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at Arena for one night with my boyfriend before journeying to Rotterdam. Both of us had a great nights sleep only disrupted by some loud banging at 08:00 am, at which point we should have probably been awake already.

Easy enough to get to by tube/metro (Weesperplein) or tram (7 and 10 stop very close) and is walk-able from Amsterdam Central in 40+mins. The hotel is situated on the corner of Oosterpark which has some interesting art work and sculptures dotted about. This is a fairly quite area but in easy reach or the more lively city districts.

The hotel, a renovated orphanage, is fairly unique with huge granite staircases and tall ceilings which lend well to the split-level rooms. A lovely mix of old and modern.

The breakfast was good and reasonably priced. We didn't use the restaurant or the bar as we wanted to explore the city a bit.

Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: A delux double room was ideal for a short stay (1 to 3 nights) but may have felt too small for a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked for 6 nights in a deluxe room with a deal although you had to pay upfront.
Arrived mid evening and went to the bar for food which was excellent although limited choice.
The room was lovely in that it had high ceilings and was crisp and clean with wooden floors and white bedding. Overlooking the front courtyard - a huge picture window with 2 leather swivel chairs. The bed was in The middle of the room but was limited space to move around one side as here was also a free standing bedside table which I fell over many times during the night. The bathroom was lovely but although we were warned about the black glass box in reality never felt comfortable - when in the shower my husband was making tea on the other side and could see everything which wasn't as bad as when sitting on the toilet - where sight AND sound were unavoidable!
Food and service in the restaurant was excellent and we wanted to eat here a second night but far too expensive. The first night I woke around 1.30 to a persistent drumming and realised across the courtyard was a club - this went on till 4 in the morning and I spent it rocking to and fro on the bed in frustration. Mid week was another such night with an earlier closing around 2.30 but if you wish to avoid it a room over the other side of the building should be requested. The rooms were cleaned every day but we noticed not swept so crumbs and fluff were left on the floor.
The rest of the hotel is beautiful with lovely art and chandeliers and rich furnishings and located near the canal and a lovely little park. Walking distance to albertcruypt market and ten minutes to the metro to the centre or approx 30 minute walk to centre.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went for a weekend break with the other half. Yes it's a little bit out of the city but only by a ten minute tram drive which is a couple minute walk away from the hotel. The staff were extremely welcoming and polite, helped you with whatever you needed. There is a nice little bar at the end of the street to the hotel which I'd recommend for younger people. The best bit of the room was definitely the bed, was so hard to get out of! The hotel and rooms were very quirky and beautiful, the only downside was the glass door to the bathroom to the bedroom, not very suitable for couples. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;