We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at Arena for one night with my boyfriend before journeying to Rotterdam. Both of us had a great nights sleep only disrupted by some loud banging at 08:00 am, at which point we should have probably been awake already.

Easy enough to get to by tube/metro (Weesperplein) or tram (7 and 10 stop very close) and is walk-able from Amsterdam Central in 40+mins. The hotel is situated on the corner of Oosterpark which has some interesting art work and sculptures dotted about. This is a fairly quite area but in easy reach or the more lively city districts.

The hotel, a renovated orphanage, is fairly unique with huge granite staircases and tall ceilings which lend well to the split-level rooms. A lovely mix of old and modern.

The breakfast was good and reasonably priced. We didn't use the restaurant or the bar as we wanted to explore the city a bit.

Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: A delux double room was ideal for a short stay (1 to 3 nights) but may have felt too small for a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    609
    209
    90
    73
See reviews for
94
803
50
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 6 nights in a deluxe room with a deal although you had to pay upfront.
Arrived mid evening and went to the bar for food which was excellent although limited choice.
The room was lovely in that it had high ceilings and was crisp and clean with wooden floors and white bedding. Overlooking the front courtyard - a huge picture window with 2 leather swivel chairs. The bed was in The middle of the room but was limited space to move around one side as here was also a free standing bedside table which I fell over many times during the night. The bathroom was lovely but although we were warned about the black glass box in reality never felt comfortable - when in the shower my husband was making tea on the other side and could see everything which wasn't as bad as when sitting on the toilet - where sight AND sound were unavoidable!
Food and service in the restaurant was excellent and we wanted to eat here a second night but far too expensive. The first night I woke around 1.30 to a persistent drumming and realised across the courtyard was a club - this went on till 4 in the morning and I spent it rocking to and fro on the bed in frustration. Mid week was another such night with an earlier closing around 2.30 but if you wish to avoid it a room over the other side of the building should be requested. The rooms were cleaned every day but we noticed not swept so crumbs and fluff were left on the floor.
The rest of the hotel is beautiful with lovely art and chandeliers and rich furnishings and located near the canal and a lovely little park. Walking distance to albertcruypt market and ten minutes to the metro to the centre or approx 30 minute walk to centre.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went for a weekend break with the other half. Yes it's a little bit out of the city but only by a ten minute tram drive which is a couple minute walk away from the hotel. The staff were extremely welcoming and polite, helped you with whatever you needed. There is a nice little bar at the end of the street to the hotel which I'd recommend for younger people. The best bit of the room was definitely the bed, was so hard to get out of! The hotel and rooms were very quirky and beautiful, the only downside was the glass door to the bathroom to the bedroom, not very suitable for couples. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herlev, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I had an amazing weekend at Hotel Arena. The employees were very kind and there was a cozy atmosphere in the lobby and outside the hotel. The room was much better than we first expected, simply beautiful. Its not our last visit!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is a former girl's orphanage. It's been renovated and the result is a wonderful mix of modern and old. The rooms are large and on two levels. The meals are fresh and tasty and the service from the front desk is courteous and informed. I would probably not stay at this hotel again, however, since the location is quite far from the centrum. There is a tram nearby, but unless you want to be close to the Tropenmuseum or the fantastic restaurant De Kas, you should probably look elsewhere. My other criticism is our room was ridiculously hot at night. We were told that we could have regulated the temperature, but no one oriented us to the room upon arrival. Despite these concerns, staying at the Arena Hotel is a memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me and my daughter for a three day city break to Amsterdam. Neither of us had been to holland before so were grateful for all the advice and help from hotel staff, be it reception, bar and restaurant. Our room on the first floor was roomy, clean and modern with the black cube as the bathroom(see photos) we don't use minibars so didn't notice prices, we found that prices for food and drink were similar to those in the city and our ribeye steaks were really good. Breakfast was included in our deal and everything was fresh, fruit, breads, cooked courses are kept hot so nothing spoils and the choice is plentiful.
trams #7 and 10 would take you west towards the museum sector along the canal. The connections then head into Central station we bought a day card which lasts 24hrs from time of purchase ideal if you know what your plans are- you can get two or three day passes but we only needed the one as everything else we had planned on seeing was within walking distance of each spot. To get direct from the hotel to Central station walk a little further east and there's #9 or 14 straight there, there's also the metro but we prefer to see the sights as we travel. Our hotel gave us a great little city map which show what bus and trams run along which direction- an absolute must until you get used to the city plan - I just love maps anyway. We didn't stay out in the evenings not being sure what times the trams stopped although we were walking all day so were ready for a lovely meal and drinks before planning our next day's entertainment.
In all the time we spent sightseeing, museums, eating and drinking we found the people here very friendly and helpful - thanks go to two tram ticket booth guys ( on the tram) they were so helpful and had a great sense of humour - doesn't matter what language you speak they can convey your wishes in a flash - wish I could say the same in some other countries!!
Take a good look at these staircases in the Arena they are awesome. We'll be back

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.