We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a quiet part of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a quiet part of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is a tram ride away from Central Station (tram 9) however it doesn't take too long to get to the hotel. There are also trams to Leidseplein (trams 7 and 10) where there are many bars and restaurants.

The hotel was very clean and had the building had its own character which you wouldn't get from chain hotels. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.

Our room was very clean and the room had very tall ceilings which I thought was an interesting feature. The shower was very good and the TV had lots of channels including BBC. The bed was good and we slept well although we had twin beds put together to make a double.

I have no really complaints about the hotel. Would I stay there again, yes. Although the tram stop is convenient, if you the sort of person who wants everything within walking distance you might want to try somewhere a little more central. Saying that, the price we paid was very good and you will similar prices in central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    293
    112
    74
    67
See reviews for
43
368
30
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed for Birthday and wider trip round the Netherlands. Service and food was great and we had a split level room which was interesting as stairs up to bed / down to bathroom are a bit tricky if you need the loo at night and don't want to wake your partner by turning the light on! It would be a better layout if the bed was downstairs with the bathroom and the small "living" area was upstairs, this would also assist those a bit "shy" of the see-through bathroom walls!

Hotel is about 15 / 20 minutes walk from centre of A'dam which is good if you like the quiet but not so good if you get tired of walking around all day and can't be bothered with a cab or a tram journey back into town in the evening. To us the "out of town" area is worth the walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW, Germany
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I can't fault the hotel. It is now my second stay in the hotel with about 6 years between each of my visits. The Hotel in my opinion has only got better. It's modern, rooms were clean, staff were all very obliging not to mention friendly. The bar was great, prices are reasonable and with the nearby tram station, the city center is easily reachable. I hope I will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday and because my partner was running the Amsterdam marathon that weekend so we wanted something both romantic and well located for transport in and out the city centre. This hotel answered both needs.

It has a dark boudoir design look with atmospheric lighting in the public areas, but very light and airy in the rooms, which have mainly white furniture and large windows. The hotel boasts amazing architecture (it is a former orphanage but is in fact a very grand building), especially the staircases. The only slight down-point is that some of this decor is already a little faded in some areas and would benefit a lick of paint. Nothing awful though.

The room was very comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was very nice and big, which is unusual in hotels. We only had a shower, no bath, but we prefer showers anyway so not a problem for us but others might find that annoying. Our room was very clean when we came, but the daily cleaning was insufficient, the bed and the room hoovered was made but the toilets were left untouched.

Staff was very good, polite and friendly. We opted for a late checkout and even then left too late because of marathon issues but the staff was understanding. We just would have wished they had told us the price of a late checkout when we opted for it (or even that we had to pay for it at all), as we were quite surprise at the final bill!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok and it corresponds to the pricing of the rooms. Minus that the breakfast is not included and that there are no room service. The minibar is really expensive! The bed is really comfortable! You better be comfortable with the one you are sharing the room with because the bathroom has glas walls!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hotel have class, that said lets go to other parts, the staff was very nice, the rooms were clean and nice size since it was a budget Hotel. Its was a nice and quite staying. The location is not the best, not close to most attractions but close enough of the TRAM. The Hotel is huge with weird posters, looks like it used to be a great hotel now is a budget one, way too quite with huge wood stairs, looks like a perfect place for suspense movies.... But at the end I recommend for short staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed a couple nights in September during our trip through Europe. A very trendy hotel with friendly staff. We enjoyed our small but funky loft style room with a very comfortable bed. There is a nice lounge, great for some drinks during the evening, and on the recommendation of the front desk person we took a short walk down the street to a more local bar.
We rented bikes directly from the hotel which was very convenient to tour around Amsterdam. When it rained in the evening we were able to catch the tram easily just down the street. We did stay mid week so we didn't experience alot of noise that has been mentioned in other reviews. It was a great stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the loft since there was only two of us, but it would be rather small for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.