We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Amsterdam...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
NRW, Germany
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay in Amsterdam...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I can't fault the hotel. It is now my second stay in the hotel with about 6 years between each of my visits. The Hotel in my opinion has only got better. It's modern, rooms were clean, staff were all very obliging not to mention friendly. The bar was great, prices are reasonable and with the nearby tram station, the city center is easily reachable. I hope I will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    286
    109
    73
    66
See reviews for
40
364
30
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday and because my partner was running the Amsterdam marathon that weekend so we wanted something both romantic and well located for transport in and out the city centre. This hotel answered both needs.

It has a dark boudoir design look with atmospheric lighting in the public areas, but very light and airy in the rooms, which have mainly white furniture and large windows. The hotel boasts amazing architecture (it is a former orphanage but is in fact a very grand building), especially the staircases. The only slight down-point is that some of this decor is already a little faded in some areas and would benefit a lick of paint. Nothing awful though.

The room was very comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was very nice and big, which is unusual in hotels. We only had a shower, no bath, but we prefer showers anyway so not a problem for us but others might find that annoying. Our room was very clean when we came, but the daily cleaning was insufficient, the bed and the room hoovered was made but the toilets were left untouched.

Staff was very good, polite and friendly. We opted for a late checkout and even then left too late because of marathon issues but the staff was understanding. We just would have wished they had told us the price of a late checkout when we opted for it (or even that we had to pay for it at all), as we were quite surprise at the final bill!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok and it corresponds to the pricing of the rooms. Minus that the breakfast is not included and that there are no room service. The minibar is really expensive! The bed is really comfortable! You better be comfortable with the one you are sharing the room with because the bathroom has glas walls!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hotel have class, that said lets go to other parts, the staff was very nice, the rooms were clean and nice size since it was a budget Hotel. Its was a nice and quite staying. The location is not the best, not close to most attractions but close enough of the TRAM. The Hotel is huge with weird posters, looks like it used to be a great hotel now is a budget one, way too quite with huge wood stairs, looks like a perfect place for suspense movies.... But at the end I recommend for short staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed a couple nights in September during our trip through Europe. A very trendy hotel with friendly staff. We enjoyed our small but funky loft style room with a very comfortable bed. There is a nice lounge, great for some drinks during the evening, and on the recommendation of the front desk person we took a short walk down the street to a more local bar.
We rented bikes directly from the hotel which was very convenient to tour around Amsterdam. When it rained in the evening we were able to catch the tram easily just down the street. We did stay mid week so we didn't experience alot of noise that has been mentioned in other reviews. It was a great stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the loft since there was only two of us, but it would be rather small for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Visited for one night, on business.

Flawless check-in and check out, with friendly staff.

A friendly bar with a good range of beers, which also doubles as the dining room for the self service breakfast. The food was hot and tasty.

Had a very comfortable, clean and well appointed room (123) which overlooks a residential lawn. The room is split over two floors, with a gallery from the bedroom over the sitting room, which is great.

However, access to the bedroom I'd via a very steep, turning, narrow painted staircase. I nearly tripped down it, stone cold sober, and a colleague fell down hers.

Also, the "wall" between the lounge and the bathroom is part obscured glass, so if you really need and value your privacy, this might not be the room for you.

It's worth noting that the hotel has a nightclub, which hosts up to (I believe) 1,000 people, so you may want to enquire as to whether it will be open during your visit, and whether you can get a room away from the action.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel would find hard to fault anywhere. We stayed mid week so had no prob with the disco next door but im told it can be noisey. Regardless we thought it was an excellent hotel.
Recendations would be that the office staff take consideration of the clinets ever changing and different challanges when considerating how they can help. We had a date change request which was tuned down due to the fact that we booked on HOTELS.com. Looks like these booking are considered 2nd class ! Not good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.