We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate hotel which is definitely nowhere close to a 4 star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunate hotel which is definitely nowhere close to a 4 star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Like myself you probably could not believe all the bad reviews for this hotel until you stay there and realize they are all true. The sheets were changed only once in 5 days after excess pleading. The floors which I admit to making a mess on was never vacuum. Bathroom counter had hair left on it. Cups that were obviously used were never replaced. The hotel has no umbrellas, no bellman, and always a line at the front desk. I could go on but I almost don't believe my own review that a place like this could be in business

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    310
    128
    82
    67
See reviews for
39
354
30
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a strange hotel. The rooms are very bright yet the corridors are dark and creepy. The rooms are very modern but they have strange features. Like our one had a glass wall separating the bathroom from the rest of the room, so someone sitting on the bed could see everything happening in the bathroom. Also the bathroom door did not have a lock. And there was a distinct lack of spoons. Despite all of this, our stay was pleasant and relaxing. The service was always friendly and the staff always professional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked online (eBookers). Booking process quite swift. Arrived at hotel at 12 noon, but were not ready for us, so had to store luggage and go about town. Had a quick look around - stylish reception area, and quite uniquely furnished; best is restaurant and bar lounge areas.. Stayed for 3 nights. Room quite OK, but terrible bed - got 2 twin beds that were brought together (and kept slipping apart), rather than 1 proper double bed. Very uncomfortable arrangement! Stayed 3 nights, and all quite OK.
Checking-out process was a bit of a nightmare. Arrived at reception desk at 10:30am, only to find a long queue and only 1 receptionist. Finally got the plot, and a second person joined in to help out. Was shouted at for "being very late to check out", and I appropriately retorted that I had been waiting on the queue for over 30mins! Was very annoyed, and demanded an apology, which was given. Was also caught unawares by the "town tax", whilst checking out! Beware, as you are never told this on the website, or while checking in!!!
Best experience was in the restaurant / bar area. "Welcome drink" was great. The bar/restaurant staff are hardworking and very friendly. Service was prompt. Background music was great.
Guests toilets quite smelly though!
Not sure I would go back there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden side are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with partner for 3 nights. Prepaid online and arrived knowing a room deposit had to be paid (thank you TA reviewers!!). We paid in cash knowing that c.card return payments were few and far between! On checkout we were informed our deposit would be charged with hotel tax?! Why this was put onto the deposit I have no clue- especially as it wasn't used to purchase anything... Received €134 back out of our €150- would have been nice to have been told about this during check in!
Room was very basic and somewhat small for 2 people. (Room 240). Was an attic type room with slanted ceilings- my partner is 6ft4 so found this a bit troublesome.... The bed was extremely comfortable and quite large. Bathroom was a see through box, meaning whoever you share with will see...everything. As the doors do not seal tight the bathrooms ac is constantly on and did keep us Awake during the night. Furthermore after using the shower the whole floor got covered in water!!! Hotel arena need to realise that these bathrooms just do not work!!!
On a whole the room was ok. It did the job. The look of the hotel was nice and modern although a lot of paintwork and corridors needed some work!! The location was a little out of the way- but if you want a reasonable hotel at a good price going out of the city slightly seemed the best choice.

Definitely not a 4* they need to get the basics right before the aesthetics!! Pay everything in cash and Be prepared to do some walking.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Impressive interrior, the neo-Gothic style seem to overweigh small but unpleasant details. Due to some structural problems, there was no WiFi in our room as we were told at the reception. The room has a mezzanine but not everybody can reach the upper floor. The staircase reminds of the Gothic towers for undersized knights. The interior of the room was very modern, with a glass cube with a toilet and shower. The shower was fixed in the ceiling, and now I understand what does it mean to wash oneself under a rain. The cone of shower jets diverges by the lower part of your body, and to wash it properly you'd better stand on your hands. Like in a public facility (gaol?) you have a fixed plastic cylinder with some soapy liquids (they did not replenish them even after several reminders, the same was with burnt bulbs).
As to the rest, the location is beutiful, a large park nearby, and the easily reachable city center by a good network of trams.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Arrived at the hotel and was pleased to see a large secure car park. Walked into the reception and was hit by a 'wow' factor, very impressed. Check-in was speedy and we were escorted to our room. First impression of the room was another 'wow'. It was large with exceedingly high ceiling and included a mezzanine floor accommodating a 'lounge' area with with tv and mini bar. The en suite bathroom had black glass walls and looked very trendy. However, when we looked a little closer, things began to fall apart. Firstly, there was dust and cobwebs up the exceedingly high walls, poor housekeeping. Second, the black bathroom glass walls were sticky plastic on plain glass and it was peeling off. Third, while sitting on the loo, where was the toilet roll? After looking in all the obvious places for a toilet roll holder (never found), we found the toilet roll sitting by the wash basin more than 2 arms lengths away. Fourth, we book a double bed only to be greeted by 2 singles pushed together. Fifth, having a shower was fun, there was no shower door and the whole bathroom got soaked, toilet and all. No amount of towels would dry the mess up. The sleep quality of the room was not too bad but there was quite a lot of outside noise. That about sums the bedroom up.
Being late arrivers at the hotel, we decided to eat in the hotel. The restaurant was pretty full so they asked if we could eat in the bar, not a problem. The menu's were slow to arrive and the excuse was that they could only find 2! We ordered and waited. From our seats we could see right into the open plan kitchens and the 3 chefs working, sometimes. When our meal arrived, the ravioli garnish was missing from mine. I asked about this and was told that chef would sort this. When the ravioli arrived, my main meal was finished. We ordered pudding and waited. The chefs in the kitchen looked bored and seemed intent on feeding themselves. The only person really working in the kitchen was the man washing the dishes. We drank several bottles of beer and waited longer and eventually asked 'where was our pudding?' The kitchen sprung into life and we were told that there had been 'technical problems'. Don't get me wrong, the meal was quite good but the service very poor. We also did not like the way the chefs seemed to be snacking while cooking, not very hygienic. One chef appeared to eat more than he plated up.
Following super, we decided not to risk breakfast at 18 euros per person.
Overall, the hotel looked very impressive and charged plenty for the privilege of our stay. Although not a complete disaster, we would probably try to find accommodation in an alternative hotel on our next stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend. Room I had was on the ground floor with a mezzanine with fridge and tv upstairs. Mattress was a little to soft for me but ok. Room looked on to a courtyard and it was very quiet. Staff were courteous and efficient. Free wifi. Shower was one of those rainbow ones, not sure about the design of the bathroom as there are no hooks to hang towels although there are coat hooks just outside in the hallway.

Could do with perhaps an information pamphlet stand near reception as there was little information about Amsterdam although you are given a map. It takes around 20 minutes to walk leisurely to the Amstel river and then follow that along to the centre. Alternatively, there is a tram stop nearby and you are at the museums in around 10 minutes. 7.50 euro for a public day travel pass which you can buy at the hotel reception. Bar at the hotel was nice with a lovely courtyard space outside, hotel is beside a large park and the Tropenmuseum is a five minute walk away. Would stay again. Did not have the breakfast and ate at a nearby café five minutes walk away just past the park.

Room Tip: My room was 0031 on the ground floor and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.