We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding suite. not overly impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wedding suite. not overly impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel`s suite for our first wedding night. We have mentioned at reservation that we are getting married that night and have been expecting to find at least a bunch of flowers or a greeting card from the hotel in our room..or get some other sign of attention..nothing. in the mornings we orded a breakfast inthe room that was quite pricey but quite mediocre.. the hotel has a very stylish interior. But the level of service is not up to the level.. especially for suit rooms thar have a rate of almost 300..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    311
    124
    75
    67
See reviews for
45
391
31
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great hotel with lovely big rooms (we stayed in #160). Lots of trams few minutes walk away which take 5/10 mins to the attractions, or a pleasant 40 mins stroll. Great breakfast choice, very fresh and great outside area. Overall a lovely quirky hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumst, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had a very nice stay in hotel Arena, the hotel is very clean, people are friendly, breakfast was good. It is located near the Artis zoo, but it is so easy to walk or take public transport to the lively city center. A tip is to buy a city pass to visit the most important things. Take a canal tour, visit Artis zoo, take a walk on the "wallekes", and don't forget to visit Amsterdam Dungeon, that was pretty cool! Amsterdam itself is such a cool city, I'm planning to go there more! <3

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel in July 2013. We spend 4 nights there and really enjoyed our stay.

When we got to the hotel the staff were friendly and helpful.
The reception of the hotel is lovely, and it has a unique style.

We stayed in a room with a mezzanine bedroom level (63) which was quite different, but still nice clean and spacious. (I would though say to make sure you let the hotel know if you don't want the stairs as they wouldn't be good if you aren't good at getting up and down stairs, as they were quite steep and small tread depths)

The hotel Breakfast was lovely. Full continental breakfast buffet that allows you to eat as much or as little as you like.

Every day we walked into the city centre to do sight seeing and it was a nice 20 minute walk.

We had a lovely time at the hotel and would stay there again if we were to go back to Amsterdam.

Good Value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fabulous hotel, loads of history, clean and serviced daily, staff very helpful, nicely placed, just outside city centre, plenty options on getting to various places, tram, bus, metro and train or even your feet!
Restaurant food very good a little bit on the expensive side but well worth it, drinks quite pricey but then you paying for the service you get,

Would reccommend to all.

Room Tip: we stayed in a loft room, which was quaint but very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed there with my beloved spouse. The location was really good as we had a tram station right across the street. Impressive lobby and professional staff. The room was a bit small, however very clean and renovated interior. Cool shower. Our rate excluded breakfast so I can' comment on the food. we barely were in the room, but all in all I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from hotel arena and we were very happy with the hotel overall - the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We had breakfast and it was plentiful, the room was a standard double - the stairs were a little tricky to get up and down but it was a lovely 2 tiered room.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful and plenty of room to sit in the sun or shade.
The bed was a little uncomfortable for me but that is my only gripe - it was so nice to come back to a quiet place after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.