We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel - Rude Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous Hotel - Rude Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Couples Holiday - 21 and 23 years. The Hotel location is excellent. Travelling round in Amsterdam is not an issue, you can rent bicycles from the Hotel at 15 Euros a day and the tram lines are right across the street to get to the centre which takes minutes.

The Hotel is a beautiful old building with its very own unique style. You can tell they have tried to make it a luxury hotel with the long white drapes everywhere from ceiling to floor and the big chandeliers. The deluxe room which we stayed in is on 2 floors and the bedroom consists of a very large comfortable bed and TV. The bathroom is big and open plan although ours leaked into the living room space but we got a free breakfast for that.

The food is delicious, definitely opt for the breakfast, huge buffet - cooked breakfast, pastries, fruit, buns, cereal, yoghurt, pancakes, juice, tea and coffee.

The only downside was the reception staff. So rude it ruined the whole feel of the hotel. We had one particular girl who was rude, blunt, unobligated to help, wrongly accused us of not listening to her and who seemed to purposefully not advise us of certain things so that we didn't get as much out of the experience. Definitely speak to the Bar Staff over Reception, they are far nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    284
    109
    73
    66
See reviews for
40
361
30
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

6th may 2013. Darryl and Danielle .I arrived at the hotel at 2pm and immediately got a room(which was fantastic).I was a little upset that the club was not open that weekend as it was my birthday but the staff in the bar made up for the disappointment .Mustafa and Joyce were great fun.on the second night I received a free bottle of bubbly and on my birthday they made me feel very special by giving me cake .overall the hotel arena experience for me and my girlfriend was fantastic.roll on September for our return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful from the outside and just outside of the city centre, rather quite location. The first impression is nice.
As you arrive by car, there is a gated parking, 25€ for 24H. I think this is overly expensive, as it's just an open-air (gated) parking, not even underground, and not a lot of spaces (and very narrow).
The hotel entrance is nice and the staff was rather welcoming at check-in.
We had booked 3 studio rooms. I had a room on the first floor, if I remember correctly, room 160. The other two rooms were under the roof on the second floor.
The studio room I had was very large and bright. It had very high seelings and so accoustics not great, as everything sounds double as hard, also the TV and the noise from the street (as the building is not well insulated). Also, you can hear the people above you walking on the wooden floors.
The decoration of the rooms is very nice, clean, all white.
When I walked into the room, there was a awful smell coming from the bathroom (moisture and mold). The bathroom has an open shower with large tiles, but the tiles were loose and there was water under the tiles, which came out when you stepped into the 'dry' shower, leaving a horrible mold smell.
The room has all comfort and amenities (water kettle, wifi, tv, minibar, iron and board) , except for kleenex. Very strange not to have any tissues in the room...
Bed comfort: average. They should do something about the pillows.
Overall, if they fix the moisture/mold problems in the bathroom and put some tissues, it's a very nice 4* hotel bedroom.

Breakfast, however, is completely not at standard, and they were extremely unpolite and unpleasant. On Sunday mornings it's a full house for breakfast and only 1 coffee machine for 1 cup at the time. Horrible waiting times for a cup of coffee. Tables were not cleaned or not clean at all.
We had breakfast around nine and they had already run out of most articles, when breakfast was open till 11. They still needed to bake half of it. Very limited choice.
For people with food allergies or intolerances (gluten or lactose), there are absolutely no options. Don't botter asking for other options, because they react very aggressively.
There was a bottle of champagne at breakfast (Taittinger) but no glasses. I asked for glasses and then the bottle was gone, and replaced by a warm bottle of cheap prosecco.
Most horrible pancakes ever.
They charge 19.50€ or 14.50€ if booked through reception in advance for their breakfast buffet. Even IBIS hotels offer better breakfast than this. Major disappointment.

We had a few problems during our stay, such as one of our 3 rooms where the airconditioning kept blowing ice cold air and the temperature indicated was 23°C (?), and eventhough escalated to reception desk 5 times, the problem was not solved and my friends spent a horrible night and morning. When we checked out they were very unpleasant because we rementionned the problems again. They really didn't make us want to come back again... rather the contrary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend of 22nd - 25th March and was overall very happy with the service provided.

Listed in a guide book as a budget hotel, I was a bit unsure but it definitely does not come across budget and we only got it cheap through a deal, normally I think it would be more expensive.

The building is well looked after and is a mixture of modern and artistic, it really is something a bit different. Was extremely happy with the room, it was split over 2 levels and although quite small made it feel quite luxurious. Bathroom was also very good and looked like it could have been newly decorated, very stylish black tiles.

Hotel isn't slap bang in middle of town but the tram service is great and they run near the hotel and so do the small Metro line so easy to get around.

Would highly recommend a stay here, sadly for us the weather was freezing and dropped to -6 one night so really did not get to see as much of Amsterdam as we wanted. At least we had a good hotel to keep us warm though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is very close to the centre and has good transport routes. its only 7 euros to town in a taxi.
The best thing about the hotel is the building and the decorations. It really is very beautiful architecture. There is alot of art sculptures and beautiful pictures around the place.
The rooms are big and very light.
The staff are very professional and friendly.
The only downside to this hotel is that the bathroom door is a type that can not be shut completely because it is made of glass and you can see into the bathroom from the room even if the door is closed. This im sure is not much of a problem if you are a couple but if you are staying with a friend or family it can be awkward.
The other thing is that the breakfast is very expensive at 14 euros per person.
Except those two things, it is the most beautiful hotel i have every stayed in. The art and the decor is just magical!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Me and my partner stayed for 2 nights in double deluxe room, we loved the deco in the room, and the amazing shower with black tiles, room was very bright, also had an air conditioning system which you can control by yourself. We didn't ordered breakfast as i think is a bit too high price, 18.90 EUR per plate. We will defiantly stay there again in our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Arena for 2 nights this past fall. We chose the hotel based on pictures/reviews online and moderate price- Amsterdam is an easy place to break the bank! The hotel and grounds are quite unique and interesting- check out the history on their website. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and our room was chic, very clean, and quite large. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would stay at this hotel again, but to follow, I have listed a several pieces of information that will hopefully help when booking.
- Hotel Arena is a bit out from the center of Amsterdam. This was nice for us, because it was in a pretty neighborhood, and we liked biking around the city. The Hotel rents bicycles; this was convenient for us, and it was nice that they were black and not obnoxious colors like some of the rental companies.
- We rented a room that had the bed in a loft above the main area. This may pose difficulty for those less spry.
- The weather in Amsterdam was chilly, but the bed area in the loft was very warm at night even with the windows open. We had the windows wide open while sleeping, and it was probably only 50-60 F outside. Many places in Europe do not have air conditioning, so checking into this or considering this for the summer months would be advisable.
- The bathroom walls were made of glass. Let that be all that needs to be said.
- The shower didn't have a curtain or door, and the walls were also made of glass. This was kind of a chic design that I enjoyed, but the floor of the bathroom did get pretty soaked, which needed to be mopped up with an entire bath towel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.