We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation not far from the centre of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation not far from the centre of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is located in a very nice area of Amsterdam, not far from the centre. It's near the 9 and 14 tram lines and the subway Weeserplein that take you easily into the centre and the major sights. . .
The hotel was very trendy and stylish. The rooms are clean and very unique, there's a small living room on the bottom floor and the bed is placed on top, (at least both rooms 40 and 42 were like this). There's a nice nightclub that is part of the hotel and it is located near the entrance, apparently it is very cool and loads of Dutch people go to it at the weekend.
You can also rent bicycles from the hotel, they cost 15 Euros per day, but you should book them from the previous day as they run out of them very quickly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    557
    201
    90
    73
See reviews for
84
742
45
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I count my 6-night stay at Hotel Arena as one of my holiday's successes: Not only were the accommodations clean and comfortable, but the staff members conducted themselves with poise and professionalism! While the hotel's location is a good walk outside center (don't try strolling from Centraal Train Station), it's located close to the 9 and 14 tram lines, which take you virtually anywhere you'd want to go.

Having read all the property's reviews on this site, I'd been expecting more hassle--luckily, all went off without a hitch. A couple weeks before my arrival, I emailed the staff to request a quiet room away from the night club, and they were more than happy to oblige. Also, I didn't experience any billing issues or misunderstandings.

I did have wifi devices with me, but the computer near the service desk became a convenient alternative when I needed to send longer messages and change my itinerary. It was open all times I needed to use it.

While Room 241 was perfect for me, I don't think it would work as easily with two travelers. The bathroom features a clear glass wall with no shade, meaning it has no privacy from the main suite. Also, quarters were a bit cramped between the bed and tv. (I'd say there was maybe a foot of clearance.) For two, there definitely wouldn't be much space to lounge.

- My pictures are of room 241, which doesn't feature a loft layout (this worked fine for me)

- Noise wasn't a problem, though from time to time I could hear people's doors open and shut and conversation from the hallway

- I'd never seen this: The room key, located in a slot next to the door, was needed to turn on and off any lights in the room

- Since the restaurant/cafe menu looked fairly pricey (everything seemed around 15 euros or more), I ended up eating when I was out seeing the city or buying a la carte at Marqt in Rembrandtplein (credit or debit cards only). The closest I ended up eating to the hotel was at Golden Temple in Rembrandtplein, which offered terrific vegetarian dishes.

- There's a water-canal taxi stop across from the hotel, however, I didn't look into how often it stopped at this location

- I didn't experience any issues with water spilling over from the shower

- The front desk let me know the hotel shuttle service--going between multiple hotels--is very unreliable. I opted to take a train between the airport and Centraal Station and a tram to and from the hotel. You can pay for the tram when you board, however, you must buy train tickets at a portal before boarding. (Altogether it's less than 8 euros.) Also, you can buy tram passes from Hotel Arena's front desk.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel, especially for solo travelers. As far away as it may be from Dam Square (2.5 km to be exact), it's a perfect place to settle in at the end of a day exploring.

Room Tip: Room 241 was quiet and did not have a loft layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very trendy and stylish hotel. Lovely bedroom and bathroom - very unique. Bathroom was an all in one job with a massive bath and great shower next to it. Bed was soo comfy - gr8 night's sleep. TV was grand - hairdryer slightly gentle but fine for a weekend away. Food was excellent on our first night but not so good the second night. Continental breakfast was amazing each morning, the scrambled eggs were either really good or not so good. Recommend the little mini pancakes. Excellent location - very good atmosphere in the bar even though it's out of town. I suppose if you're wanting to go out for tea in town it's not ideal unless you get a taxi both ways. Walk to metro/ tram is fine unless you're in heels!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great Hotel, beautiful decor, great service. The only tiny little thing from a 5 star is that the shower water pressure wasnt strong enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was the first stay. Three stops on the metro from the main train station and a quick tram ride and we were at the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and gave us a welcome drink voucher.

This is an old building converted into a hotel, so it was an interesting walk from reception to the rooms.

Rooms are a good size, the design is modern and contemporary, especially the bathroom! The bed was a bit soft but comfortable. There was slight noise from the bathroom of the room next door.

Room was equipped with a very modern TV (which had BBC1), tea/coffee facilities and an electronic safe. Internet was free.

We redeemed the welcome drink voucher for a ½ price beer at the hotel bar.

We booked breakfast in advance and saved on the full price, breakfast was a good Dutch continental offering, including hot options.

While reception confirmed the restaurant was open until 10pm, we could not get into the restaurant, so we ordered room service. Choice was good and the food was good, at usual room service prices.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room, 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.