We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hollywood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Escape
Save
You added Amsterdam Escape to your Saves list
Geldersekade Nieuwmarkt, 1012BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved the Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Me and my fiance stayed at the Hollywood apartment for 9 days and loved it!! The apartment is really spacious, and filled with all sorts of cool and funny stuff. The decor is really uniqe, and not what you get in a regular hotel etc. We spent a long time just looking at everything :) Loved the bathroom window, and the elephant curtains in particular.

The location is perfect, couldnt have been any better. Just a short walk away from everything; Leidseplein, Niewmarkt etc. And the canal wiew it was really the finishing touch. The street is quiet, so there was no noise from the street that bothered us during the night. There was a supermarket, and a laundry shop nearby wich was very practical.

The apartment was a bit worn, but that wasnt a problem for us, the fact that its so special and unique outweighs it. It was okay cleaned ( maybe some dusting would be nice....), and the bed and bedsheets was really good......the springs in the bed might need some oiling thogh ;) We didnt order any cleaning during our stay, we just told Mo ( who lived right across the hall) when we needed new towels. We placed dirty towels and garbage outside the door to our apartment, and they were removed quickly.

Mo was there to meet us when we arrived, and was very friendly and service oriented. He helped us with everything we asked him to. We had some shared experience with the online chat, wich were for staying guest only... they were not online as much as they should be,and some of them wasnt wery helpful...... Alice was very helpful though, and Mo from across the hall of course.

We really liked this place, liked having the privacy and space of and apartment instead of a crowded hotel, and we have already booked our next stay :) If you need everything to be top noch, this is not the place for you. Also note that this is a smoker friendly company, so there is alot of smokers equipment in the apartment.

Room Tip: Book in good time before you plan to go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I have rented several flats from Amst. Esc. in the past, including 3 at one time when we got married. The most recent, Holywood, was really bad. Our "innkeeper", Mo, was very responsive but there wasn't much he could do. The place was dirty and the pictures were not representative of it's current condition. When I tried to fluff the pillows a could of dust came off them. The shower was plugged (mo finally got it to drain sort of) and the other amenities were mostly in dis-repair (e.g. lights were out, towels had holes, sheets were years old, etc.). When I finally figured out how to turn the tv on what should pop up but a porno video left by a previous renter. We had Mo come by several times but there was just no way to resolve everything. I spent a while chatting on-line with their help person (I believe they're in Ireland) and their only solution was to "talk to Mo". I told them we were considering leaving and their response was "do what you have to do" - no refunds. Unfortunately the hotels were mostly booked. In the end, we stayed in the room but spent next to no time there. We moved the mattress off the crappy springs, bought ourselves two new pillows with sheets and ate out the whole time. I will not be renting from them again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamEscape, Manager at Amsterdam Escape, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Hello there

Sorry to hear Hollywood was not up to our usual Escape standards during your last stay. You were actually the last guest to stay there before we closed it for a refit, returning it to its former glory

The problem was we had a leak from the apartment above , which caused quite a mess for us and worse still ,we had nowhere to rehouse guests as all of our other places were booked for months in advance.

We closed Hollywood the 1st chance we got and gave it a total refit repaint , new TV, Kitchen, Playstation 3 and games , making it all brand new.

As one can see , recent reviews are all again very positive.

At Escape you can be assured we go the extra mile for our guests.

As for your comment
'I believe they're in Ireland and their only solution was to "talk to Mo' 'I told them we were considering leaving and their response was "do what you have to do" - no refunds'.

This is not exactly true, our office is actually located on Nieuwmarkt a few minutes walk from our apartments! Mo is the house manager, so of course he is the first point of contact for guests and he can usually solve any problems that occur. If you had decided to leave, we would certainly have offered a refund.

We have never had any complaints about the bed ,but after your comment ,we went and tested ourselves but couldn't find anything wrong with the springs. We've also asked every guest since and none have had any problem.

We thank you for the feedback, which good or bad is gratefully received and should you deign to stay with us again, we would be delighted to offer you a free night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Five of us (2 couples and 1 more) rented the Coca Cola apartment for a week. The flat itself is full of character with LOTS of Coca Cola memorabilia to look at and play with. A typical dutch town house, the floors are a bit wonky and there are beautiful wooden beams on the ceilings. The view is lovely too, overlooking one of the many canals.

There is plenty of space for 5 and though it could technically sleep a couple more, there is only one bathroom. The place was well stocked with video games, board games, cable tv, books, cds and dvds. Also nice big cushions to lounge around on. The smoker is very much in mind here and you'll find lots of bits and pieces to get you started on your trip!

The kitchen is fairly well equipped though we did find the lack of an oven a bit of a pain. Not so bad for a weekend but as we were staying for a week it was noticeable. Toaster, kettle, coffee maker, microwave and hob, as well as plates and cutlery etc. were all provided. Escape are also kind enough to include a fridge stocked with a selection of your choice which is included in the price - beer, soft drinks, sweets and chocs etc. They will also do you a grocery shop with no commission charge.

The location is ideal, very central and close to everything you might need. Friday and Saturday night was a little noisy but this is to be expected given the location and type of acommodation. There is a supermarket 5 minutes away as well as a wide selection of cafes, restaurants, coffeeshops, bars and shops.

We found Amsterdam to be extremely friendly and relaxed. Even after dark it is a safe place with very little crime compared with other cities. Watch out for cyclists though!

Mo who managed the 3 Escape apartments in our town house was especially helpful and friendly, telling us to knock on his door if we needed anything at all. We did a few times and he kept his word. He was brilliant and we can't thank him enough!

Overall an excellent stay in an excellent city and we will definitely be trying out one of their other apartments soon!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Just returned from a brilliant stay with Amsterdam Escape. We stayed in the Hideaway Apt which is in a great location and is a perfect alternative to a hotel.
Apt Hideaway is very clean and tidy and has everything you could wish for - particularly for the smoker. The quirky decor and eclectic knick knacks scattered all over the apartment are interesting touches that make the Apt stand out.
The low ceilings, particularly in the bedroom (well mezzanine) do make you stoop but you soon get used to it - but not sure what it would be like for a taller person but overall Amsterdam Escape is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Some friends and I found Amsterdam Escape in 2005 and have been staying there ever since. I make 3 or 4 trips a year to Amsterdam and this is the perfect retreat. It's just outside of the RLD with little noise. I believe by now I've stayed in almost all of the apartments and never had a problem with any. The favorite is the Amsterdam Home. It has a private entrance and is street level with the 2 bedrooms upstairs. It's worth every penny. If you have any needs the staff is always eager to assist. There is a grocery and laundry within 200meters. Along with countless bars, restaurants and coffeeshops. Whatever your flavor you can find it here. I recommend these apartments over any of the hotels nearby; even the 5 stars near Dam Square. Which by the way is only a 5 min walk from the apartments. If you're staying in Amsterdam less than the three day minimum I'd suggest the Swissotel in Dam Square.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I stayed at the Home apartment, which is a beautiful canal house with two floors and plenty of space. For the value, I believe is is even better than renting a suite at a 4 or 5 star hotel. Mainly because of the great location (Nieuwmarkt), the multiple bedrooms and sleeping couch. Can't forget about the 2 toilets and separate shower room either. The entire house was extremely clean!!! Many bars, coffeeshops, a supermarket and restaurants just around the corner. The kitchen was great since we only really needed to eat breakfast there anyway. Stove, Microwave, tea maker, freezer etc... But you are able to make dinner there if you want to eat in. The live concierge is almost always available on the computer and was very helpful with giving us many recommendations and booking tickets. Not sure what else to say, check in and check out was a breeze. I will for sure be staying with escape again!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Stayed in the 'Hideaway' mid-week. Quiet and clean and well equipped for two. More like being on a galleon than in an attic, the space has been used to its maximum potential to create a cosy, comfortable living area. Euro for Euro, this beats any hotel - it's a penthouse suite for the price of a standard twin!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Escape

Address: Geldersekade Nieuwmarkt, 1012BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Escape offers a selection of vacation rental accommodation with a difference. Live like a real Amsterdammer with the keys to your own luxury apartment or canal house. Catering for large or not so large groups from 1 to 50 people. If your escaping for a romantic getaway we have some of the most romantic places to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Escape Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.