We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What would you expect in a 2 star hotel?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kap to your Saves list
Hotel Kap
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   den Texstraat 5b, 1017XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What would you expect in a 2 star hotel?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Hotel Kap is a 2 star hotel which is situated in a quiet location near Heineken brewery and a walking distance to major museums. However, please be advice that their given instructions on how to get to the hotel by tram from Amsterdam Central Station posted in their website and from the letter I received from them was very misleading. As i quote from their letter “Cross the bridge back across the water”. Seriously, you don’t need to cross any bridge at all. The good news is, they edited their instructions already but as a precaution to future visitors, it pays to study the location of the hotel in a map because its really easy to find, they just mess up with their instructions.

The room that i reserved was a double with shower and toilet, was pretty spacious but disappointingly the interior was outdated. The bed that was pushed together to make it double was old yet clean smelling. The TV was pathetically small, it was 12 inches so it’s quite hard to watch a program while sitting on the bed. The noise on my next door neighbour was audible and quite annoying especially when I got to rest early. As for the toilet, it was hideous. The sink has cracks on it, there is no holder for the shower, the air exhaust was very dirty which make it very noisy and lastly the toilet bowl was pretty outdated and very funny because the water out of the bowl is in front. Every time I use the bowl I have to constantly flush so as to get rid of any unwanted smell. It was really terrible to use that kind of toilet bowl. (please see pictures)

With regards to their breakfast buffet, it was decent continental breakfast which includes bread, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, meat, hard boiled eggs, crackers, marmalades and muffins. As for the drinks, they served coffee, packed powdered chocolate drink, one kind of juice and tea.

As for the internet, I have to pay extra 5 Euros valid for my entire stay. The connection was fast every time I use my laptop or iphone in their Lounge area but terribly slow or mostly no signal at all when I tried to access in my room at the 4th floor.

Overall, my experience in Hotel Kap was acceptable in a way that things work out just well. It was just pretty sad that the establishment has the upper hand in terms of location but the management failed terribly to upgrade their basic amenities and left the room in their decaying worn-out state. Nevertheless, I would still recommend this hotel especially for people who want value for their money considering that most hotels in Amsterdam are expensive.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    43
    16
    18
See reviews for
18
37
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We spent 3 nights here and were glad to find a friendly face upon our late arrival (on account of train delays). The staff who worked the desk were excellent at giving directions and advice, though they weren't intrusive. Breakfast was one of the nicest I have seen in a long time- deli meats, cheese, rolls and bread/crackers, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, milk, hot chocolate, etc.

Our room had a shower ensuite, but it was really awkward as I was staying with a male friend. There was no partition between the room and the shower at all, and the room looked directly upon the shower. The toilet was pretty convenient to the room.

If you savor quiet, this is the place for you. Not only were we sheltered from the noise of the others staying here, but Kap is on a quiet street in an old, interesting building. That said, it is less than a block to a main street and the Heineken Experience.

The only other disadvantage is the wired internet access (we didn't have a laptop), which is in the reception area. My friend reported that it was dreadfully slow and he spent all his time just trying to connect.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sightseer in amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Spacious double room with own private bathroom. Fixture and fittings in good order, nice decor, clean, staff helpful and pleasant, good selection of continental breakfast, and breakfast hours until lunchtime. Near to tramstops and walking distance to some museums, but nicely out of way from city bustle, so quiet. Reasonable price. Would visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed 5 nights here. Booked a twin shared toilet room with a shower in room. Was serviced nicely every day and although tiny, ok for the prices of Amsterdam.

The location was excellent and offered easy access to city touring. I do agree that the staff, for the most part, is stand offish and not real friendly. But not rude and did do their job.

Breakfast was fine, and tables never hard to get.

The location was superb for using cheap public transportion- tram.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Our family of 3 with a young child, stayed 3 nights at this well located and comfortable hotel. We found the hotel itself to be a bit worn but clean and comfortable. Our son found the narrow, steep stairs a challenge he enjoyed.

The hotel is on a quiet street within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Leidesplein. We even walked to the main train station and back. We had a great vegetarian dinner at the Golden Temple an easy walk from the hotel. The tram is very close to the Hotel as well.

The breakfast was great (hard boiled eggs, cheese, meats, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee and milk). We all enjoyed the yummy chocolate chip muffins as well.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were not traveling with a laptop or netbook, so it was nice to connect to the internet, check email and buy our tickets online for the Rijksmuseum and avoid lines.

Hotel Kap was a great place to rest after a long day sightseeing in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Hotel Kap was a charming hotel experience. The room we stayed in was like an apartment, with a detached toilet and shower area. This was an odd experience, but our kids had a lot of fun with the wackiness of the room. Our second bed was a Murphy bed, which was a fun novelty as well. Hotel staff was very nice - they went out of their way to be pleasant at breakfast. And breakfast was quite nice. Location was also great. We just walked everywhere in Amsterdam, and there was no stress to that with the location of the Kap.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Hotel is quaint, very clean and well located close to Van Gogh and Rijks museums, and to a tram stop, at a very reasonable rate. Easy walking distance to Anne Frank, Dam Square and RL district. We had a quad room (2 beds pulled down) with bathroom and it was adequate, although quite small with all 4 beds in use. Since we spent only sleeping hours in the room, it was fine. No elevators so you do have to carry bags up a fairly narrow (though far from the worst we encountered) stairway. A generous continental breakfast which includes boiled eggs, ham, cheese etc,is served in a lovely back yard with tables and chairs. Since we were leaving early on our last day, the staff left boxed breakfasts (sandwiches, fruit, juices) and a flask of coffee in our room the night before Reception staff is wonderful - extremely helpful and friendly. Helped us get our museum tickets online and printed them out free of charge. They have made up all sorts of booklets, walking tours etc and clearly are committed to making your stay comfortable and memorable. They do rent bikes though we didn't use them so I can't speak to the quality of the bikes. Wi-fi internet is available for 5 euros for your entire stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.