We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kap to your Saves list
Hotel Kap
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   den Texstraat 5b, 1017XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights in a triple room and this was the first holiday that I went on wig my friends and we thought it was a really good hotel for the money we paid, close to most things and the room was a good size, nothing was broken and the staff were very friendly. Only bad thing was that the stairs were very steep, so I would advise that if you go get an en suite bathroom instead of sharing otherwise had a brilliant time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    43
    17
    18
See reviews for
18
37
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is located in step-distance from all major Amsterdam places of interest, so you can just walk around the city from mornung till late night. There also is a chance to park your car near the hotel. However, you rather have to ask for local support, using Amsterdam park automats for the first time. It's quite complicated. The hotel itself is small and not very modern. If you come there - mind the stairs. They are as steep as on a battleship. Personnel is kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Located at a good and quiet place. Room was too small for the price of over 70 Euro. Broken window, almost no closet to put in the clothes, No space for the hanger just in front of the shower. No proper table just a weak old piece of wood poorly fixed on the wall. Window glass missing just poorly covered with wood, window couldn't be closed because the closing system ws broken

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just a dump. Tiny room which wouldn't be so bad if anything worked. The shower was broken and smelled really bad. No blinds on the skylight so as soon as the sun came up you were wide awake.
It wasn't even that close to the centre.
I stayed 1 night then checked in to the boutique hotel Sebastians for only 20 euros more.
You'd be better off in a hostel.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Upon arrival at this "Hotel" the door was locked. A phone number was left on a note stuck on the door. We rang the door bell. No-one answered the door. We were stuck outside with all our luggage after a long trip to get to the Netherlands. A guest eventually came out of a door and we managed to go in. A man was sitting inside at the admin desk and said that he had been there all the time. We asked why the locked door and why not answer the doorbell? He said he did not know why. The stairs were horrific and I would not recommend this hotel. We went across the road to Astoria Hotel where it was light, bright,clean and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Kap Hotel is as another guest who was at the hotel when I was, a typical Amsterdam Value hotel

It is in many respects. Long walk up steep steps. Shared facilities and basic accommodations

There are only thing that makes it stand out against many of it's competitors.
First the location is excellent. It is close to the Museum District and with in an easy tram ride to the RAI center for conventions and Fairs

The other point of difference is the Manager Chaolai Chang..What the hotel lacks in amenities he makes up for in his personal service.

N o request is ignored. My hat is off to the hotel or should I say it's manager

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator get a room as close to the main floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kap for 1 night in a room with a skylight that didn't close completely. When it rained in the middle of the night, water poured through the window & my mattress & I got wet. I ended up moving the bed about 1-2 feet so it wouldn't be directly under the skylight. If I'd been aware of this problem earlier, I would've requested a different room. Fortunately, I checked out the next morning. Even though Hotel Kap is centrally located & on a quiet street, I won't ever go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.