We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Typical Amsterdam value hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kap to your Saves list
Hotel Kap
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   den Texstraat 5b, 1017XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Typical Amsterdam value hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Kap Hotel is as another guest who was at the hotel when I was, a typical Amsterdam Value hotel

It is in many respects. Long walk up steep steps. Shared facilities and basic accommodations

There are only thing that makes it stand out against many of it's competitors.
First the location is excellent. It is close to the Museum District and with in an easy tram ride to the RAI center for conventions and Fairs

The other point of difference is the Manager Chaolai Chang..What the hotel lacks in amenities he makes up for in his personal service.

N o request is ignored. My hat is off to the hotel or should I say it's manager

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator get a room as close to the main floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    49
    20
    22
See reviews for
21
43
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kap for 1 night in a room with a skylight that didn't close completely. When it rained in the middle of the night, water poured through the window & my mattress & I got wet. I ended up moving the bed about 1-2 feet so it wouldn't be directly under the skylight. If I'd been aware of this problem earlier, I would've requested a different room. Fortunately, I checked out the next morning. Even though Hotel Kap is centrally located & on a quiet street, I won't ever go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have stayed in far nicer youth hostels. Whole place run down and very dirty. Single rooms very cramped with nowhere to hang up a towel and no working plug to charge phone.Toilet in corridor shared with several other rooms. Open shower in room very smelly but at least there was plenty of hot water. Room not cleaned or made up on second day. Was told they 'had forgotten!' They also 'forgot friends room 2 floors down! They did deliver supposedly clean towels on request while we were out but arrived back to discover they were soaking wet. Window in room jammed open with a piece of wood. Very chilly! Breakfast basic and would be okay if they catered well. Arrive 5 minutes after start and already no rolls, butter or milk! Had to wait 20 minutes for more rolls to be cooked.
On the plus side the hotel is situated in an excellent position close to two main tram lines. Easy to walk to all main areas. Quiet at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is really more a youth hostel than an hotel. I had to stay thee for one night. I got a room at the top floor (no elevator, very steep stairs). Window could not be closed (not convenient in December...), Neighbours came back and celebrated very loudly with alcohol in their room at 4am.
to select only if you want to go and party in A'dam and just need a cheap place to 'sleep'...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Asterisk
#178 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#283 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#220 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#277 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#164 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#252 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.