We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kap

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kap to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kap
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   den Texstraat 5b, 1017XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A decent hotel for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My friend and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Amsterdam, preferring to spend our money out and about than on a fancy hotel. For this, Hotel Kap rated pretty well. It's on a relatively quiet street that isn't a terribly distant walk from the centre, and was indeed inexpensive. I would note that other travellers should definitely be aware of the very steep stairs - we totally underestimated how difficult it would be to carry a heavy suitcase up them! The staff were also friendly and let us check out in the evening as we had to leave before the front desk opened.

The room, however, was definitely budget style. The sheets on my bed were ripped and stained, the shower had mold in it, and the hotel only provided a tiny sachet of soap and shampoo. There was just one plug in the entire room, which was already in use, so we had trouble charging our phones and Kindles. This is cheap, but be aware that what you're getting is also cheap.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    45
    20
    18
See reviews for
15
35
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

As readers of my other reviews of Amsterdam hotels will already know, I tend to keep my expectations low - and still have them dashed. Unless you're paying big bucks, you'll be faced with poorly-maintained, insecure, often bed-bug infested dives you reach by something closer to a fire ladder than a staircase.

What a pleasant change to find a clean, pleasant, quite well-maintained and friendly - but still inexpensive, for Amsterdam - hotel.

The Kap is easy to get to, just off a roundabout around which quite a number of the major tram lines run - including at least one serving RAI. It's in a quiet back street, and just opposite the Asterisk, where my wife and I spent a very mediocre weekend once.

I arrived late-ish evening, having already eaten, but the welcome was friendly, and there was none of the nonsense other hotels try, asking for large deposits for the TV remote control or a plastic card-key. In fact, the keys were the real, metal variety. Although my room had a private shower, the shower was just down the corridor - not an arrangement I've seen before.

The room was small - little more than twice the space occupied by the single bed - but clean and tidy, even if the sink had a crack. The bed linen was clean, fresh and looked reasonably new.

I did use that shower. The shower room was tiny, and didn't smell all that fresh, but in a room that small, with nowhere to fit an extractor fan, a degree of damp's probably unavoidable. There wasn't much space (or dry floor) for changing, so I'd recommend anyone else staying here goes to the shower room with as little clothing as decency allows. Once the shower was running, the dank smell went away quickly, and there was plenty of hot water.

Back to the room, and "lights out" time. The bed was comfy - so comfy, in fact, that I overslept. Entirely my fault, and it didn't matter - I had plenty of time in hand the following day, and the check-out time was a very civilised 11am or 12pm (I forget).

The breakfast buffet downstairs, included in the room price, runs from 8am to 12pm - even more civilised! No surprises- it's the usual Dutch fayre of breads (toasters provided), cold meats, cheeses, preserves and cereals. The orange juice was fresh-pressed and tasty, the coffee also fresh and not at all bitter. I didn't notice any hot foods, but I wasn't in the mood anyway, so might have missed them. The breakfast room is bright, airy.and pleasant, and there was no sense that the owners were in any hurry to get rid of their guests.

The departure was as friendly and civilised as the arrival.

Would I come back? You betcha. I'm not convinced it's an ideal hotel for a young family, for for a solo business traveller, or a young couple without lots of money to spend, it's about as good as you get on a budget in Amsterdam, and it'll be at the top of my list for next year.

Room Tip: It's a small family hotel, with not many rooms, so you may well not get a choice. The road outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The good: quiet street, close to tram stop
The acceptable: narrow, steep stairs. We expected this. Kap seems to be proud of their dangerous stairs.
The bad: WiFi never worked (we stayed 4 nights) - a cardinal sin, as the availability of WiFi was one major reason I picked Kap (I have to be able to connect to work, in case of emergency). Our room was never made up by housekeeping before 4:30 PM. Hotel maintenance over the years has been patchwork and marginally-skilled DIY. I'm pretty tolerant, but this was too funky for my style. Bed sheets were an odd set of 2 horizontal sheets. This was uncomfortable in the night as they'd slide around and get tangled. Bed was very soft. Bathroom exhaust fan only worked one night, then died. In a very humid climate, this caused nasty steamy room. Bathroom sink is cracked. Toilet had no cover on it. Drains stank. Mildew stains in the shower and on bathroom wall. The table in the garden had the same drink rings on it during our entire stay. The PC in the dining room was infected with viruses (only used to check in for flight).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logansport, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel Kap is on a one way street, quiet and not very busy. Tram and bus stops within 1 block and the Carousel restaurant in the park down from the hotel. Rooms were clean and fresh , the staff were also very friendly and helpful except for one and he knows who he is I am sure his aloof (Synonym) attitude has hurt their business some. I would recommend this hotel to anyone of my friends.

Room Tip: The building beside the Kap upstairs the front room, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Well located. You can go walking almost everywhere. Very good breakfast. Excellent internet (paid but reasonable price and always working) and comfortable rooms.
The day we left, we needed to have breakfast very early in the morning, so they prepared a breakfast-box to take the previous night to our room and have breakfast early the following morning. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our family of four spent 7 nights at the Kap Hotel in July. It was a great base for visiting Amsterdam. The breakfasts consisting of fresh rolls, home made muffins, cold cuts, cheeses, cereal were ample and kept us well fueled for sight seeing. Our family room with bathroom was very comfortable. The very steep stairs ( not unusual for Amsterdam) were quite daunting at first but by the end of the week they didn't bother us at all. Carrying large suitcases up those stairs would definitely be a challenge.
The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the Museumplein ( Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum) and Albert Culptstraat Market. It's about a 30 minute walk from Centraal Station ( thankfully away from the crowds and congestion) or a 15 minute tram ride. We had tram passes as part of our IAmsterdam Card package but only used them twice. The city is extremely walkable.
We were happy to find a laundromat just a block away from the hotel. The "Carousel" restaurant just around the corner makes awesome Pannekoeken and is also great place to stop for a beer in the afternoon.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. They even heated Lasagne for the kids ( who were too tired to go to dinner with us).
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Kap and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

No-frills but conveniently located for museums and restaurants. Nice down-to-earth staff, one lady especially kind, Good breakfast. Phone at reception available for outgoing calls, even overseas, but not from room. Shared toilet is right outside your door, but makes for noisy nights due to inconsiderate guests slamming doors. If you need to stay for a week or more, spend the money on a room with own toilet. Shower was comfortable. Old rattly building (quaint) with a faint but tolerable odour in room. Stairs are steeper than I expected, even after reading the reviews, though for me, just a curiosity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.