We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel or Hospital?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hostel or Hospital?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hostel was nicely located, right beside the dam square. They had a designated smoking room, decent bar prices, and offered an awful free breakfast in the morning. The rooms were extremely dirty and 90% of the hostel guests looked ill. It looked like the 3rd floor of the ICU of your local hospital. You could tell the front desk staff were just mailing it in for their shifts, high as kites processing payments, giving directions and other daily tasks. The hostel was very close to a main train station in case you want to get the hell out of there. The wifi was extremely spotty, don't rely on it - there are tons of McD's around for a steady connection

The rooms had movable lockers that slid on the floor all across the room which was very sketchy. Bring a bike lock to lock your locker to the bunk bed.

overall it was a decent stay, make sure to stock up on medication as you'll probably get sick here. Guests did not look well. For your healths sake, I would highly recommend checking out "st. Christopher's Inns" hostel as an alternative.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    273
    98
    29
    27
See reviews for
8
69
133
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed for two nights with a friend in the dorms. Check-in was handled by super friendly staff members who were really lovely throughout the stay. Towels are available with a 2 euro deposit which was a good deal compared to other places I've stayed. Huge lockers provided in the rooms. Free earplugs available from reception. Lots of space to hang out apart from the bar, if you want a bit more quiet, though the kitchen area is usually noisy but it's a hostel: it's what you get! Breakfast was basic but fine, linen was clean, and it was really all you could ask for. The bathrooms were SUPER clean and staff members always seemed to be cleaning them, both showers and toilets. There are also sinks in the dorm rooms so you don't have to go out to brush your teeth. Noisy parties in the bar are not at all audible from the dorms.

My only suggestion would be adding a laundry room/laundromat facility to the hostel, and then my stay would have been perfect!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

It's a great hostel in the very center (dam square) of Amsterdam! The staff is very helpful and the bar is great!
I've stayed 3 nights in a 32 people room, that is divested in 2 different parts with their own sink, so there's plenty of space for less money!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

i stayed here with about 6 friends and it was such a great experience. i would highly recommend a group of young travelers staying there - probably not the place for older people. there was no one above 30 staying at this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I stayed at the Flying Pig Downtown for two nights and it's a fun place to stay for young backpackers. While it was slightly difficult to find the Downtown hostel from Amsterdam Centraal station at first, it is in a good location. Not only close to the station, but also to a bike rental shop (Yellow Bike), restaurants, souvenirs, and for those inclined, the Red Light District and coffee shops. The 24 hour check in came in handy (arrived just before midnight), the staff were friendly, and you can't go wrong with the on-site bar and pool table, which helped bring fellow backpackers together.

Room Tip: The rooms at the Flying Pig Downtown are larger than in other hostels I visited (some with up to 32...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I never thought I would ever stay in a hostel but my friend insisted that we did. I did some research and this hostel looked legit. IT WAS!! I stayed at this hostel about a year ago and I still keep in contact with most the people I shared a room with from all over the world. If you are looking for a fun place to stay that gives you so many chances to make friends this is the place! It's safe and full of people that are just looking for fun things to do while traveling the world just like you!! I am already planning a trip back!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I've stayed at flying pig downtown three times this trip and have one more stay there before heading home to Australia. For me it feels like home Away from home. Amazing staff, amazing vibe, great facilities and location is mad! Recommend for sure!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.