We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great backpacker's hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a great backpacker's hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

The Flying Pig Downtown is a great choice for young travellers and backpackers who want to see Amsterdam up close.

Arriving there we were amazed by the party atmosphere at the hostel's loby and bar, with pillows on the floor on which you can just chill out for hours.

All 4 of us stayed in a dorm. My dorm had 6 beds altogether , was small but cool and funky with nice colours on the walls, and it was ensuite (like all of the rooms, I think). The toilet and shower were not the cleanest ever but I guess this also depends on your roomates :S , as the bathroom in our friend's room was ok.

Very friendly and young personnel.

We were amazed when we saw the dinning area. A very rich breakfast, included in the price, in the coolest and coziest dinning room: we felt like dinning in hobbitland or something.

Generally we had a very good experience there and would be happy to re-visit! Very reasonable price (for Amsterdam) and in the centre of everything (1' from Dam Square). The hostel gives you great chance to meet young people from all over the world. I'd go back anytime.

  • Liked — location, atmosphere- it was my vision of a backpacker's hostel
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    301
    105
    32
    26
See reviews for
8
79
146
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

the flying pig hostel is an awesome place for young people to stay at an affordable price. I found it to be very nice and was overall good. There is a lounge area a place where you can play billiards and a underground "chilling room". It is veeybwell located and itsbinly a few blocks away from city square. Security is great and you find nice people. The rooms are classic hostel rooms and clean mostly.

  • Liked — the lobby is great
  • Disliked — the rooms were ok
  • Stayed June 2003, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Just got back from Amsterdam for a 2-night stay with a friend. We stayed at the Flying Pig Downtown and I must say this is the worst place I have ever stayed in.

We booked only a week before so were only able to get a private room for 1 night as we were willing to pay the extra money to upgrade. It was far from an upgrade, and more like a health hazard. We were informed at the front desk that the shower in the room wouldn't be working and we were offered a 35% discount in return. We get to the room and there was a horrible odor from what must have been a broken pipe, this room would never be offered for any price at any place I've ever stayed at. It was truly horrible and we couldn't sleep the whole night, especially with the hot sun coming in the next morning and making the smell even worse. We complained to the cleaning staff the next day, and they helped us get a partial refund the next morning from the front desk. We stayed in a dorm room the next day, which was actually more tolerable. The clientele at this hostel is definitely the grungy party crowd but everyone seemed nice and people tried to be quiet when getting in very late. The problem is that the hostel itself is located on a busy street with loud people walking by and you can hear them hollering to all hours of the night drunk and rowdy. The bathroom was bordering on filthy, especially the communal shower. Much worse than other hostels I've stayed at.

As for the cleanliness of the rest of the hostel, what a dump. There was garbage littering the stairs going to the upper floors, including french fries and ketchup smeared all over the stairs that had obviously been there for some time. There is also very poor air circulation in the whole place, due to lack of open windows and the age of the building, so combined with greasy backpackers it's very unpleasant to spend any time in. The internet is free but so slow that it's a complete waste of time. The only positive that I will give about the place is that the staff were polite and were totally understanding of our complaints, but only in a we-can't-do-anything-about-how-bad-this-place-is-anyways kind of way. Nothing of ours was stolen but we heard horror stories from others we met.

I will honestly say that this is the first online review I have ever written, that is how bad this place is that I have become compelled to write this review. I have stayed in hostels in Australia, South America, and Asia with mostly good experiences, and this is hands down the worst piece of crap I've stayed in. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

My sister and I booked this hostel for 3 nights back in late 2003, on recommendation of a friend & we really wish we hadn't listened to her! This place was a complete dump. From the moment we arrived we felt uneasy.
The reception area was full of student & hippie types all layed out on the floor drinking, smoking marijuana & engaging in other unsavoury activities.
We were given our dorm number, sharing it with 4 others & since we arrived at midday, we left our valuables inside the locker, locked it and assumed that they would be safe there. So we went out for the day.

When we returned a few hours later, the locker had been busted open and our valuables including camera, mobile phone and one credit card had been taken. We were shocked that someone had been able to do this!

We quickly checked out of the hostel and refused to pay for the remaining nights. We informed the receptionist about what had happened & she didnt hesistate to let us leave. Something tells me that ours wasnt the first time that this had happened.

We dont know who was responsible for the theft. It may have been the people that were in the dorm at the time, it may have been the cleaner, or even management themselves. We just couldnt hang around in such an unsafe environment.

The Flying Pig is ideal for those not seeking comfort but seeking a chilled out, anything-goes atmosphere, where drugs and alcohol consumption is not only tolerated but encouraged.

  • Liked — Nothing at all.
  • Disliked — Having our valuables stolen despite locking them in the safe provided.
  • Stayed October 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

What a living nightmare! What a hell hole.
If you love doing drugs, don´t care if it´s dirty, and don´t carry any valuables this might be the place for you
-if not stay away!!!!

During check-in it was difficult to actually see the staff due to the smoke. The security system when entering the place made me feel like entering an institution of some sort, but I thought maybe my stuff would be safe as a result of these security measures.

Well, two of my friends had valuables stolen even though it was kept in lockers. Even shampoo was stolen when we were naive enough to keep it on our bedroom table. A creepy guy mysteriously got into our room while my friend was in the shower (!!) , fortunately he left when she started screaming.

What else? Well it was dirty, ugly, noisy, terrible breakfast, narrow old bunk-beds with stains on the bed sheets.
And there was a cat outside our room chewing on a mouse. Disgusting!
I´d rather risk it sleeping outside in a park than staying here again.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed November 2004, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

i was staying at the bulldog and couldnt book another night for my last night in amsterdam, so i chose the flying pig downtown from internet reviews and a recommendation from a friend (never taking her advice ever again). building itself seemed like it would have been a cute place with character if it wasnt for the run down frat house thing that was going on. lots of young frat boy type kids - loud, inconsiderate, and vomiting as much as they were drinking. friendly though, ill give them that. atmosphere was annoying, too crazy for my tastes with no place for relaxed downtime. during the night it reminded me of my college days as u can hear all the partying through the walls. internet was free but super ridiculously slow. i went down the street to a coffeeshop that had internet. the bar/lounge area was tight, uncomfortable, and overrun with young kids. didnt have the pleasure of staying for breakfast as my flight was super early and i was running late. i grabbed a croissant and a cup of what was supposed to be orange juice but tasted like... watered down orange flavored urine. i was uncomfortable there from the second i walked in the door and totally wished i was back at the bulldog. great location though, with shopping and train station close by. i suppose it would have been cooler if i was like 10 years younger...

  • Liked — location , other than that, absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — i hated everything except the location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

I had heard good things about this place, so made a special effort to book it up early...going against my traveller instincts. It was a short walk from the station and in the perfect location (outside the red light district).
The dorm felt very safe but it was noisy (as expected). The bar was 'useful' and the staff were friendly.

At the time we stayed a group of paranoid italian couples would be up every hour checking bags and whispering their suspicions. The free internet access was good.

The only downside was the shower/toilet facilities. I expected each dorm to have a toilet at least but no such luck. I went to Amsterdam for extreme relaxation and woke up near to the 10am mark. This meant we always missed out free brekkie and showers were always being cleaned.

A great place to stay if you are willing to keep to their hours, try somewhere else for a little flexibility.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.