We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location,quick to Centre of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Save Saved
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Location,quick to Centre of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Flying Pig Hostel in Amsterdam is one of my favorite stays, if I am on budget and want to mingle with people, but don't want to give up on a great location near the city center of Amsterdam. I used to come at least once a year, up by train from Germany, get off in Amsterdam, and then take a stroll through the city to the hostel. No need for public transport, and if the weather is nice, your walk will lead you past most of the cities attractions so you get a good idea already of the distances an on where to go later.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Stay: 4 Nights
When: April 2012
Room: Standard Dormitory for 6 Adults
Price: 25 Euro (42 SGD)
Breakfast included - NO
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Location:
The hostel is well located in the center of Amsterdam. Easily reachable by foot from the Main Train station. Max 10 minute walking. The main shopping areas are all directly around the hostel, the main plaza with its performers, Madam Tussauds, Casino, Gravts etc are in direct walking distance. We also went to discover the ”Torture" Museum which was "interesting" to say.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel / Rooms:
The Flying Pig is a hostel but it is very well maintained. The bedrooms were dormitories with 6 or 8 beds, but everything was clean, we liked the big windows, and the rooms were actually large sized, with big tables in the center. Lockers were available for each guest for free, just bring your own lock. There is a decent kitchen for self cooking and storage available, bathrooms were also cleaned every day and in good condition.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
EXTRA GOOD:
+ Location
+ Price
+ Large Rooms

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    214
    76
    23
    26
See reviews for
6
63
94
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hostel is filled with young fun people which is exactly what we were looking for during our backpacking trip. We stayed in the room with the most people, I think it was a 28 bed room! Crazy! Needless to say it was an adventurous night. I would definitely recommend staying in a less full room, or maybe a private. But the hostel is fun and friendly and a true hostel experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the flying pig best hostel i've stayed in, in Amsterdam! the Location was GREAT really easy to get to everything was close by! Hostel was a good lay out and really liked the smoking room & the happy room down stairs :) Room was a good size we had a 4 bedroom ensuite , beds were a bit uncomfy felt like you were sleeping on plastic! breakfast was okay!

only issue we had was some things went missing from our room in the night, 2 people's wallets were emptied out and someones phone was taken.. :/ very strange as we had a private room ! The night that it happened we woke up to a man in our room asking if everything was okay. The money and phone were never found and we had reported it to reception who were not very helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The flying pig is just an amazing hostel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We stayed in a lovely private room with a tv/dvd player and bathroom. Towels were included and room service came everyday. The smoking area was so cosy and the bar was also great. I would highly recommend this place for young people/couples.

Room Tip: Higher floors do not have wifi but they are very quiet and even thought the private rooms are a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Pretty decent hostel. Have stayed at both uptown and downtown and downtown is definitley better. Building is a much better layout with a lift as well. Also much better location than uptown.
Very poor wifi. Super annoying.
Beds are pretty tiny and feel like you're laying on plastic but the rooms are spacious as well as the lockers.

I stayed in a 14 bed mixed which had 2 ensuites which was great.
Cleaned every day.
Never made it up in time for breakfast lol.

Good bar and smoking room.

All staff were nice except for the red head chick on reception. Saw her being really nasty to customers on many occasions.

Decent priced during the week but on Fridays and Saturdays it absolutey sky rockets.
I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for just one night before moving on. The hostel is great, good facilities, the free breakfast was really nice! Helpful staff. My only complaint is that when I got to my room someone was sleeping in my bed, however this was no fault of the hostel and could happen anywhere. The location is great, 5 mins from central station. I would recommend to friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Flying Pig is so perfectly located it can't really be beat. It's within walking distance to almost every tourist location. The hostel itself is placed within a never ending shopping strip that caters to any need - food, clothes, book stores and coffee shops aplenty

The staff are incredibly friendly and fun and definitely personify the hostels atmosphere. The free breakfast was great providing cereals, fruits and toast. The hostel also provides free wifi which worked somewhat in our room but great everywhere else

The rooms are decent although Ive definitely stayed in better. My room also had a spacious bathroom and was also very clean. The rooms only fault are its loud metal lockers!!

As a solo traveller I found it easy to meet others in the bar downstairs with the help of a few games if a pool.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.