We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Save Saved
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the flying pig best hostel i've stayed in, in Amsterdam! the Location was GREAT really easy to get to everything was close by! Hostel was a good lay out and really liked the smoking room & the happy room down stairs :) Room was a good size we had a 4 bedroom ensuite , beds were a bit uncomfy felt like you were sleeping on plastic! breakfast was okay!

only issue we had was some things went missing from our room in the night, 2 people's wallets were emptied out and someones phone was taken.. :/ very strange as we had a private room ! The night that it happened we woke up to a man in our room asking if everything was okay. The money and phone were never found and we had reported it to reception who were not very helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    224
    80
    24
    26
See reviews for
7
63
102
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The flying pig is just an amazing hostel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We stayed in a lovely private room with a tv/dvd player and bathroom. Towels were included and room service came everyday. The smoking area was so cosy and the bar was also great. I would highly recommend this place for young people/couples.

Room Tip: Higher floors do not have wifi but they are very quiet and even thought the private rooms are a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Pretty decent hostel. Have stayed at both uptown and downtown and downtown is definitley better. Building is a much better layout with a lift as well. Also much better location than uptown.
Very poor wifi. Super annoying.
Beds are pretty tiny and feel like you're laying on plastic but the rooms are spacious as well as the lockers.

I stayed in a 14 bed mixed which had 2 ensuites which was great.
Cleaned every day.
Never made it up in time for breakfast lol.

Good bar and smoking room.

All staff were nice except for the red head chick on reception. Saw her being really nasty to customers on many occasions.

Decent priced during the week but on Fridays and Saturdays it absolutey sky rockets.
I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for just one night before moving on. The hostel is great, good facilities, the free breakfast was really nice! Helpful staff. My only complaint is that when I got to my room someone was sleeping in my bed, however this was no fault of the hostel and could happen anywhere. The location is great, 5 mins from central station. I would recommend to friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Flying Pig is so perfectly located it can't really be beat. It's within walking distance to almost every tourist location. The hostel itself is placed within a never ending shopping strip that caters to any need - food, clothes, book stores and coffee shops aplenty

The staff are incredibly friendly and fun and definitely personify the hostels atmosphere. The free breakfast was great providing cereals, fruits and toast. The hostel also provides free wifi which worked somewhat in our room but great everywhere else

The rooms are decent although Ive definitely stayed in better. My room also had a spacious bathroom and was also very clean. The rooms only fault are its loud metal lockers!!

As a solo traveller I found it easy to meet others in the bar downstairs with the help of a few games if a pool.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Been there for a stop-by of 14 hours in Amsterdam. Very close to the central train station which is at 20 minutes from the airport.

The bar was open until 3 o'clock and we suprisingly hear nothing at all from the rooms. They were clean but a little bit crowded (6 persons in a very little room). Also we had reserved for a queen bed but it was a normal double bed.

Overall, it was cheap (especially the beer), well located and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I (25 y.o. Backpackers) enjoyed a few nights at Flying Pig Downtown. The location really can't be beat- we were able to walk everywhere. We walked to the Van Gogh and IJ Brewery, which were our 2 farthest destinations and only took about 30-40 minutes each. Red Light, Dam Square, Coffee Shops, Restaurants, canals, metro, and Anne Frank House are all within 10 minutes.
They checked us in right away which was great. Our room was a 12 bed dorm that also seemed to have a small attached area that had a privacy curtain- not really sure what that area was. Our room was fine despite some extremely loud roommates one night (I realize the hostel has no control over this). There was a glass door to the smoking area, but they seemed to quiet it down early in the night so it wasn't really a bother.
The shower area was on our floor which was nice, but the closest bathroom was upstairs. It wasn't too bad, but really would've been nice to have one on our floor. We shared a locker right next to our bed which was plenty big for 2, 25 lb. backpacks.
The bar upstairs is fun, but pretty a small. There is also a pretty large smoking room, which I didn't experience, but seems like a nice, chill area.
Overall, the hostel had a fun, backpacker friendly vibe. It wasn't the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed it, but it seemed generally clean, and I noticed a few employees working hard day and night while still being really friendly. I would stay again if visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.