We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and perfect location !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quiet and perfect location !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Been there for a stop-by of 14 hours in Amsterdam. Very close to the central train station which is at 20 minutes from the airport.

The bar was open until 3 o'clock and we suprisingly hear nothing at all from the rooms. They were clean but a little bit crowded (6 persons in a very little room). Also we had reserved for a queen bed but it was a normal double bed.

Overall, it was cheap (especially the beer), well located and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    305
    106
    34
    26
See reviews for
8
81
149
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Vermont
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I (25 y.o. Backpackers) enjoyed a few nights at Flying Pig Downtown. The location really can't be beat- we were able to walk everywhere. We walked to the Van Gogh and IJ Brewery, which were our 2 farthest destinations and only took about 30-40 minutes each. Red Light, Dam Square, Coffee Shops, Restaurants, canals, metro, and Anne Frank House are all within 10 minutes.
They checked us in right away which was great. Our room was a 12 bed dorm that also seemed to have a small attached area that had a privacy curtain- not really sure what that area was. Our room was fine despite some extremely loud roommates one night (I realize the hostel has no control over this). There was a glass door to the smoking area, but they seemed to quiet it down early in the night so it wasn't really a bother.
The shower area was on our floor which was nice, but the closest bathroom was upstairs. It wasn't too bad, but really would've been nice to have one on our floor. We shared a locker right next to our bed which was plenty big for 2, 25 lb. backpacks.
The bar upstairs is fun, but pretty a small. There is also a pretty large smoking room, which I didn't experience, but seems like a nice, chill area.
Overall, the hostel had a fun, backpacker friendly vibe. It wasn't the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed it, but it seemed generally clean, and I noticed a few employees working hard day and night while still being really friendly. I would stay again if visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are travelling with friends to Amsterdam, this is where to stay. Here you'll find a cool atmosphere and an excellent location.
But, only if you're backpacking. If not, don't expect to grab a good sleep here.
Rooms are ok, bathrooms are as to be expected in a hostel, just ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed in this hostel with 2 friends between 06th and 09th November, we were visiting Amsterdam for the Ajax-Celtic match on the 06th.

Arrival: We arrived around lunchtime and were checked in right away Once checked in we visited the bar within the hostel and enjoyed a pitcher of beer between us (1 pitcher = roughly 3 pints - and its 12Euros before 9pm and 10Euros afterward!!!!).

Room: We were placed in room 201, which is a 4-bed ensuite - so the 3 of us were sharing with 1 "stranger". The room was spotless, which is always good! We were sharing with a Scottish guy the 1st night and then a Canadian fella for the last 2 nights - we all got on great and took pictures etc before leaving on the last day.

Bar / Smoking Room: As I stated above the pitchers of beer are good value, especially if there are 2 or 3 of you sharing, but the bar serves a good variety of drinks at reasonable prices. The smoking room (if thats your thing) has a couple of comfy seats, a couple of tables & chairs, and a well-cushioned area to relax on (no shoes, no sleeping is the rule for the "relaxation" area :-) ) It's a great area to meet people, we chatted away to nearly everyone we met and I think we made some new friends.

Breakfast / Kitchen: Unfortunately I wasnt up early enough to sample what was on offer for breakfast, but there are plenty of cafe's, restaurants, take-aways, hot-dog stalls etc for the late risers.

Location: It's between Amsterdam Central Station and Dam Square - so can't really be beat for location.

Overall, an excellent stay - Would definitely use the hostel again when travelling with friends.

Thanks Flying Pig!

Room Tip: Perhaps not the most cost effective, but the en-suite rooms were easier for me. Like having my "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Flying Pig Downtown purely because of it's reputation I'd heard from other travellers. €110 for two people for two nights in the dorm rooms was very reasonable, especially as breakfast is included. Friendly staff, a very social smoking room and a great location near everything Amsterdam has to offer mean this hostel fully deserves it's 'elite' status. A must while in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love this hostel and this was my 7th visit. It's so friendly - both the staff and other travellers really make it a special place. Even staying in a large 32 bed dorm - most people were respectful and I got a really good nights sleep. It's a great hostel for a party and the free breakfast is amazing! I will be back next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Honestly the best hostel i have stayed at! The staff were so friendly and helpful with everything! the facilities were great, even sharing a bathroom there was no problems with cleanliness!Even sleeping in a 14 person dorm, we had no problems with getting to sleep and everyone was very friendly! the smokers room was by far the best part about the hostel, for obvious reasons of course, but the people there made it even better! a great place to meet all different kinds of people! i would recommend anyone to stay at this hostel as it definitely made our trip in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.