We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel, Will Use It Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Hostel, Will Use It Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed in this hostel with 2 friends between 06th and 09th November, we were visiting Amsterdam for the Ajax-Celtic match on the 06th.

Arrival: We arrived around lunchtime and were checked in right away Once checked in we visited the bar within the hostel and enjoyed a pitcher of beer between us (1 pitcher = roughly 3 pints - and its 12Euros before 9pm and 10Euros afterward!!!!).

Room: We were placed in room 201, which is a 4-bed ensuite - so the 3 of us were sharing with 1 "stranger". The room was spotless, which is always good! We were sharing with a Scottish guy the 1st night and then a Canadian fella for the last 2 nights - we all got on great and took pictures etc before leaving on the last day.

Bar / Smoking Room: As I stated above the pitchers of beer are good value, especially if there are 2 or 3 of you sharing, but the bar serves a good variety of drinks at reasonable prices. The smoking room (if thats your thing) has a couple of comfy seats, a couple of tables & chairs, and a well-cushioned area to relax on (no shoes, no sleeping is the rule for the "relaxation" area :-) ) It's a great area to meet people, we chatted away to nearly everyone we met and I think we made some new friends.

Breakfast / Kitchen: Unfortunately I wasnt up early enough to sample what was on offer for breakfast, but there are plenty of cafe's, restaurants, take-aways, hot-dog stalls etc for the late risers.

Location: It's between Amsterdam Central Station and Dam Square - so can't really be beat for location.

Overall, an excellent stay - Would definitely use the hostel again when travelling with friends.

Thanks Flying Pig!

Room Tip: Perhaps not the most cost effective, but the en-suite rooms were easier for me. Like having my "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    305
    108
    34
    26
See reviews for
8
81
150
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Flying Pig Downtown purely because of it's reputation I'd heard from other travellers. €110 for two people for two nights in the dorm rooms was very reasonable, especially as breakfast is included. Friendly staff, a very social smoking room and a great location near everything Amsterdam has to offer mean this hostel fully deserves it's 'elite' status. A must while in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love this hostel and this was my 7th visit. It's so friendly - both the staff and other travellers really make it a special place. Even staying in a large 32 bed dorm - most people were respectful and I got a really good nights sleep. It's a great hostel for a party and the free breakfast is amazing! I will be back next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Honestly the best hostel i have stayed at! The staff were so friendly and helpful with everything! the facilities were great, even sharing a bathroom there was no problems with cleanliness!Even sleeping in a 14 person dorm, we had no problems with getting to sleep and everyone was very friendly! the smokers room was by far the best part about the hostel, for obvious reasons of course, but the people there made it even better! a great place to meet all different kinds of people! i would recommend anyone to stay at this hostel as it definitely made our trip in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great staff and atmosphere. Perfect for hanging out with friends and meeting new people. Drinks are a good price and it comes with a simple breakfast (cereals/toast/eggs). Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I do not doubt that the hostel is great, but my experience there was terrible. When we arrived, late at night, they informed me and my group that we could not stay in the same room, althought we have booked it and even e-mailed the hostel some weeks before to assure it! Even after showing our extreme dissatisfaction with the situation, the attendant continued to inform us that he could do nothing as she danced and smiled. Besides not prove helpful or at least sensitized, she seemed very rude and ironic. We had no choice, but to find another hostel late at night and loose the money for the first night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPigDT, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on our TripAdvisor page.
We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us.

Unfortunately we can never 100% guarantee that people can be placed in the same room. When a group booking is made, we always try our hardest to place everyone in the same room. Most of the times it all works out. When 2 different room types are booked because we are fully booked, it is hard to place everyone in the same room.

We are very sorry to hear that your group wasn't placed together and we will personally contact you to find out more about your experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated and of course if you've got any further feedback, we’d love to hear from you.

Hopefully you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam.

Happy travels,

The Flying Pig team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I spent a Saturday night weekend with two friends at this hostel. Despite the fact, it was too big and with too many people for my personality I 100% recommend it. It was very clean, and for sure the best way to get-together with LOADS of people and maybe spent some great time in Amsterdam.
The room in which I slept was a 18ppl dorm, and everyone was extremely careful towards the others. Though it was a bit hot inside the room.

Keep in mind there are locks in the hostel, but you need your own lock!

The free breakfast was a nice surprise! :)

Room Tip: The 18ppl dorms was very hot during the night and there was a guy who never stopped coughing (not hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.