We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

As soon as we walked into the hostel they were very friendly and greeted us with open arms.
They gave us all the information that we needed. They have had a room dedicated for smoking which was nice so the whole place was not filed with smoke. The place is big in size, breakfast are is WAY to small and if you dont get there early expect a line up.
They have specials every night at the bar which helps when youre there to party.
it can be pretty loud at night and the party never really dies down so they do provude ear plugs which is a huge bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    248
    90
    26
    26
See reviews for
7
65
116
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed in a lot of hostels on my trip around Europe but I'll definitely remember this one. The facilities were awesome, the beds, bathrooms and rooms were clean, there was great music, fun stuff to do, an awesome smoking room and a pretty decent breakfast to wake up to.
The staff were also amazing, specifically the one bartender/receptionist Mitch. I travelled alone to Amsterdam and hadn't met many people so far in the hostel and was sitting at the bar having some drinks. Mitch took notice and introduced me to some other people at the bar, whom I ended up talking with and hanging out with for the rest of my stay at the hostel. He really helped me feel welcome and comfortable at the hostel which is always appreciated when you're alone in a foreign city.

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay while they are experiencing an amazing city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We all know hostels are never gonna be what you would call 'luxurious' but this one was one of the best I've stayed in. It was well maintained, the staff were nice and the bar and smoking room were awesome, bed's not great but that's what you'd expect, the bathroom in our room was super modern and fairly big. It's right in the middle of town, so close to anywhere you'd wanna go in Amsterdam and the staff are always helpful if you're looking for any attractions or good places to smoke. Definitely a place more suited to young people who want a good time for a decent price :)

Room Tip: Go for a room with a bathroom as the toilets were a bit of a walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay this is it. Great staff, chilled atmosphere and overall just the perfect place to enjoy Amsterdam from. Bar is open only to residents which makes it the perfect place to meet fellow travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a good hostel to stay in when visiting the Dam, great location very close to the station, walking distance to all the bars & coffee shops. The staff are very friendly & hostel is a clean place to stay. be aware that it gets booked up quite far in advance. Amsterdam comes alive at night, brilliant city to visit, watch out for the crack heads at night time roaming the streets!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you're looking at checking into the Flying Pig Downtown, you need to remember that it is a hostel and not a hotel. Providing you do that, you won't be disappointed at all. The hostel location is excellent, jammed into one of the main shopping areas of the Old Centre, just 5 minutes walk away from Centraal Station and Dam Square, and within comfortable walking distance of Rembrandtplein and the Red Light District. The only downside of this is that it has the potential to be quite noisy, but that will depend largely on where your room is and when you travel - I certainly did not consider it a problem during my stay.

Every member of staff that I spoke to was polite, friendly and very helpful, as well as answering questions about the city and touristy stuff. This included the facility for us to leave our bags in hostel lockers when we checked out, do some sight-seeing, and come back for a beer in the bar, despite no longer really being guests. The staff have a very relaxed and laid back attitude, which permeates the hostel atmosphere but does not stop them being helpful and hardworking..

The hostel has lockers, as previously mentioned, as well as offering a free breakfast service from 8:30-10:30. This is basically bread, a toaster and some cereal, but it's better than nothing. There is a smoking room and a small garden to enjoy the city's lax laws, which is particularly mellow and pleasant. The bar is a little pricey, but probably still better value than most of the bars in the Old Centre, and certainly cheaper than any club - it made for good pre-drinking before a night out. There's a pool table and a lot of comfortable seating, as well as a few bar snacks available. The bar decor is quirky but creates a cosy feel too.

I was in a 6 bed ensuite room, with 3 three bunk beds. The mattresses are made of plastic, which could probably be pretty uncomfortable, but I always went to bed exhausted after a day of sight-seeing so it didn't matter. The room is fairly clean, as is the bathroom. There are regularly cleaned public toilets/bathrooms in the corridors too, and storage chests underneath the beds which can be locked (but you need to provide your own lock).

Obviously, you won't be staying in total luxury, but it's good value and I would certainly stay again. It's marketed mainly towards young travelers and has DJ nights 3 times a week and lots of drinks offers, so I suppose if you don't fit this category, you might want to reassess your choices, but it definitely suited my friends and I.

Room Tip: Probably helps if you're facing away from the street because it could get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The set up at the Flying Pig is fantastic. Great atmosphere in the bar (love the funky lights), the beds are comfy, the staff are friendly, the bathrooms are clean, it's super easy to meet fellow travellers in the common area...so it basically ticks all the boxes...for a party hostel, that is. Please, PLEASE don't come here if you're looking for a humble nights sleep. My sleep quality was fine but probably due to the fact that the earliest I was in bed was 2:00am. If you're looking for a lively stay in Amsterdam, do yourself a favour and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.