We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Save Saved
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you're looking at checking into the Flying Pig Downtown, you need to remember that it is a hostel and not a hotel. Providing you do that, you won't be disappointed at all. The hostel location is excellent, jammed into one of the main shopping areas of the Old Centre, just 5 minutes walk away from Centraal Station and Dam Square, and within comfortable walking distance of Rembrandtplein and the Red Light District. The only downside of this is that it has the potential to be quite noisy, but that will depend largely on where your room is and when you travel - I certainly did not consider it a problem during my stay.

Every member of staff that I spoke to was polite, friendly and very helpful, as well as answering questions about the city and touristy stuff. This included the facility for us to leave our bags in hostel lockers when we checked out, do some sight-seeing, and come back for a beer in the bar, despite no longer really being guests. The staff have a very relaxed and laid back attitude, which permeates the hostel atmosphere but does not stop them being helpful and hardworking..

The hostel has lockers, as previously mentioned, as well as offering a free breakfast service from 8:30-10:30. This is basically bread, a toaster and some cereal, but it's better than nothing. There is a smoking room and a small garden to enjoy the city's lax laws, which is particularly mellow and pleasant. The bar is a little pricey, but probably still better value than most of the bars in the Old Centre, and certainly cheaper than any club - it made for good pre-drinking before a night out. There's a pool table and a lot of comfortable seating, as well as a few bar snacks available. The bar decor is quirky but creates a cosy feel too.

I was in a 6 bed ensuite room, with 3 three bunk beds. The mattresses are made of plastic, which could probably be pretty uncomfortable, but I always went to bed exhausted after a day of sight-seeing so it didn't matter. The room is fairly clean, as is the bathroom. There are regularly cleaned public toilets/bathrooms in the corridors too, and storage chests underneath the beds which can be locked (but you need to provide your own lock).

Obviously, you won't be staying in total luxury, but it's good value and I would certainly stay again. It's marketed mainly towards young travelers and has DJ nights 3 times a week and lots of drinks offers, so I suppose if you don't fit this category, you might want to reassess your choices, but it definitely suited my friends and I.

Room Tip: Probably helps if you're facing away from the street because it could get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    222
    78
    23
    26
See reviews for
6
63
99
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The set up at the Flying Pig is fantastic. Great atmosphere in the bar (love the funky lights), the beds are comfy, the staff are friendly, the bathrooms are clean, it's super easy to meet fellow travellers in the common area...so it basically ticks all the boxes...for a party hostel, that is. Please, PLEASE don't come here if you're looking for a humble nights sleep. My sleep quality was fine but probably due to the fact that the earliest I was in bed was 2:00am. If you're looking for a lively stay in Amsterdam, do yourself a favour and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved this hostel. Perfect downtown location with a carefree and chill vibe. If you want to sightsee, it is close to many of the major sights of Amsterdam. If you want to party, the hostel has a bar and smoke room and it is close to numerous pubs, clubs and coffee shops. I've stayed in more than one room (36 person and 6 person) and both were find. Bathrooms could be cleaner, but you can't expect too much for the size and number of people staying at the hostel. Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was an excellent start for your day (if you were up then). Cheap eats located nearby. Easy to locate too. Would definitely stay again on another trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I loved The Flying Pig. The only bad thing I can say is that it was fully booked the first day we were here so we only got to stay here three nights! The room was good; the bathrooms were clean. The location is good- near everything (although sometimes the streets are difficult to navigate- get a good map).

The best part about this hostel is the smoking room and the downstairs bar. We loved this place so much, we vouched to stay in the smoking room for one full day (and we did!). At about 4 am some musicians came down and we sang and played with them and the reception even joined in. GREAT vibe, great hostel. If you don't stay here in Amsterdam, you're missing out!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

An awesome place ! Nice staff, acommodation, simple and good breakfast and a central localization. The climate it's something fantastic, looks like a english pub. It's a great place to sleep, to rock and fly !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff from the moment you walk in the door. Fun, lively atmosphere at the bar and the smoking room was great and chilled and comfortable. The rooms where basically as clean as a hostel gets. Great lockers under your bed.. Although we had a sligh mishap with a mouse the staff brought the cat straight up and it was gone. Unlike a lot of places in Amsterdam has an elevator. Which is great for when you have suitcases with you! The breakfast was good too. All over fantastic and I would go back a million times if I could:) HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The location was good, and the price was decent considering that Amsterdam is an expensive city to stay in. The rooms were good and clean with an ensuite bathroom and spacious lockers. The staff were always friendly and the hostel itself had a good atmosphere.

The free breakfasts were a definite positive, as was access to the communal kitchen. Wifi was restricted to the communal areas which got a bit annoying, but overall was fine.

We were there for the annual pub quiz (and even managed to win a prize) which was great fun - we'd definitely recommend doing this more often!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.