We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Atmosphere...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved this hostel. Perfect downtown location with a carefree and chill vibe. If you want to sightsee, it is close to many of the major sights of Amsterdam. If you want to party, the hostel has a bar and smoke room and it is close to numerous pubs, clubs and coffee shops. I've stayed in more than one room (36 person and 6 person) and both were find. Bathrooms could be cleaner, but you can't expect too much for the size and number of people staying at the hostel. Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was an excellent start for your day (if you were up then). Cheap eats located nearby. Easy to locate too. Would definitely stay again on another trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I loved The Flying Pig. The only bad thing I can say is that it was fully booked the first day we were here so we only got to stay here three nights! The room was good; the bathrooms were clean. The location is good- near everything (although sometimes the streets are difficult to navigate- get a good map).

The best part about this hostel is the smoking room and the downstairs bar. We loved this place so much, we vouched to stay in the smoking room for one full day (and we did!). At about 4 am some musicians came down and we sang and played with them and the reception even joined in. GREAT vibe, great hostel. If you don't stay here in Amsterdam, you're missing out!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehersber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

An awesome place ! Nice staff, acommodation, simple and good breakfast and a central localization. The climate it's something fantastic, looks like a english pub. It's a great place to sleep, to rock and fly !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff from the moment you walk in the door. Fun, lively atmosphere at the bar and the smoking room was great and chilled and comfortable. The rooms where basically as clean as a hostel gets. Great lockers under your bed.. Although we had a sligh mishap with a mouse the staff brought the cat straight up and it was gone. Unlike a lot of places in Amsterdam has an elevator. Which is great for when you have suitcases with you! The breakfast was good too. All over fantastic and I would go back a million times if I could:) HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The location was good, and the price was decent considering that Amsterdam is an expensive city to stay in. The rooms were good and clean with an ensuite bathroom and spacious lockers. The staff were always friendly and the hostel itself had a good atmosphere.

The free breakfasts were a definite positive, as was access to the communal kitchen. Wifi was restricted to the communal areas which got a bit annoying, but overall was fine.

We were there for the annual pub quiz (and even managed to win a prize) which was great fun - we'd definitely recommend doing this more often!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirbzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a huge party hostel. I like how they gave me a free beer while i was waiting to checked in because the messed up my reservation. The common areas are nice but the dorm is so crowded, way to much people in one room. If you want to experience the culture of Amsterdam this place might not be the best but if you want to have a great time and remember half of it stay a couple nights here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vryanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been to Flying Pig numerous times over the past few years, and I can say it is the most fun hostel I have stayed at in Europe. The common areas make it easy to meet fellow travelers. The bar is not expensive, and the rooms are clean.
Thanks Flying Pig for making my stays with you such memorable experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuff2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#28 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing