We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Save Saved
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, Amsterdam 1012 MR, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Atmosphere...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved this hostel. Perfect downtown location with a carefree and chill vibe. If you want to sightsee, it is close to many of the major sights of Amsterdam. If you want to party, the hostel has a bar and smoke room and it is close to numerous pubs, clubs and coffee shops. I've stayed in more than one room (36 person and 6 person) and both were find. Bathrooms could be cleaner, but you can't expect too much for the size and number of people staying at the hostel. Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was an excellent start for your day (if you were up then). Cheap eats located nearby. Easy to locate too. Would definitely stay again on another trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    187
    69
    23
    26
See reviews for
5
55
86
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I loved The Flying Pig. The only bad thing I can say is that it was fully booked the first day we were here so we only got to stay here three nights! The room was good; the bathrooms were clean. The location is good- near everything (although sometimes the streets are difficult to navigate- get a good map).

The best part about this hostel is the smoking room and the downstairs bar. We loved this place so much, we vouched to stay in the smoking room for one full day (and we did!). At about 4 am some musicians came down and we sang and played with them and the reception even joined in. GREAT vibe, great hostel. If you don't stay here in Amsterdam, you're missing out!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

An awesome place ! Nice staff, acommodation, simple and good breakfast and a central localization. The climate it's something fantastic, looks like a english pub. It's a great place to sleep, to rock and fly !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff from the moment you walk in the door. Fun, lively atmosphere at the bar and the smoking room was great and chilled and comfortable. The rooms where basically as clean as a hostel gets. Great lockers under your bed.. Although we had a sligh mishap with a mouse the staff brought the cat straight up and it was gone. Unlike a lot of places in Amsterdam has an elevator. Which is great for when you have suitcases with you! The breakfast was good too. All over fantastic and I would go back a million times if I could:) HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The location was good, and the price was decent considering that Amsterdam is an expensive city to stay in. The rooms were good and clean with an ensuite bathroom and spacious lockers. The staff were always friendly and the hostel itself had a good atmosphere.

The free breakfasts were a definite positive, as was access to the communal kitchen. Wifi was restricted to the communal areas which got a bit annoying, but overall was fine.

We were there for the annual pub quiz (and even managed to win a prize) which was great fun - we'd definitely recommend doing this more often!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a huge party hostel. I like how they gave me a free beer while i was waiting to checked in because the messed up my reservation. The common areas are nice but the dorm is so crowded, way to much people in one room. If you want to experience the culture of Amsterdam this place might not be the best but if you want to have a great time and remember half of it stay a couple nights here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been to Flying Pig numerous times over the past few years, and I can say it is the most fun hostel I have stayed at in Europe. The common areas make it easy to meet fellow travelers. The bar is not expensive, and the rooms are clean.
Thanks Flying Pig for making my stays with you such memorable experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel
Address: Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, Amsterdam 1012 MR, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.