We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worth stay there !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It worth stay there !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

An awesome place ! Nice staff, acommodation, simple and good breakfast and a central localization. The climate it's something fantastic, looks like a english pub. It's a great place to sleep, to rock and fly !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    284
    99
    31
    26
See reviews for
8
72
135
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff from the moment you walk in the door. Fun, lively atmosphere at the bar and the smoking room was great and chilled and comfortable. The rooms where basically as clean as a hostel gets. Great lockers under your bed.. Although we had a sligh mishap with a mouse the staff brought the cat straight up and it was gone. Unlike a lot of places in Amsterdam has an elevator. Which is great for when you have suitcases with you! The breakfast was good too. All over fantastic and I would go back a million times if I could:) HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The location was good, and the price was decent considering that Amsterdam is an expensive city to stay in. The rooms were good and clean with an ensuite bathroom and spacious lockers. The staff were always friendly and the hostel itself had a good atmosphere.

The free breakfasts were a definite positive, as was access to the communal kitchen. Wifi was restricted to the communal areas which got a bit annoying, but overall was fine.

We were there for the annual pub quiz (and even managed to win a prize) which was great fun - we'd definitely recommend doing this more often!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a huge party hostel. I like how they gave me a free beer while i was waiting to checked in because the messed up my reservation. The common areas are nice but the dorm is so crowded, way to much people in one room. If you want to experience the culture of Amsterdam this place might not be the best but if you want to have a great time and remember half of it stay a couple nights here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been to Flying Pig numerous times over the past few years, and I can say it is the most fun hostel I have stayed at in Europe. The common areas make it easy to meet fellow travelers. The bar is not expensive, and the rooms are clean.
Thanks Flying Pig for making my stays with you such memorable experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very good location in the heart of city made it easy to walk to the train station and also walking distance to good bars and restaurants. Breakfast wasn't anything special so i would recommend going out for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed in uptown as well as in downtown and have to say they both are wonderful places to stay. they have their own credibilities which need to be experienced. and the staff at both places are very friendly and very helpful. a very safe place to stay and is clean as well. i recommend it. miss you flying pig, and don't forget to visit the smoking room ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.