We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Save Saved
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Seen a good few bad reviews but what do you expect for that price? I stayed with a friend, we shared a double bed and it was okay, the sheets were clean, showers were okay, breakfast (which was included - nice suprise) was okay and great value for money. Central location, good atmosphere and great security. I felt very safe and was not worried about my belongings. At the end of the day te price reflects the hotel, it's great for young travellers and people wanting a cheap getaway. If you want something better book something more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    210
    76
    23
    26
See reviews for
6
63
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I spent the first part of our Interailling in Amsterdam and stayed at this hostel. As this was the first hostel we had ever stayed in we were unsure of what to expect.

A filthy, stinky, rotten hole was not expected but was what was found.
Security was good in terms of our belongings and the hostel itself was centrally located and easy to find. These were the only good aspects.

The communal showers were a disgrace and the whole hostel had an overall stench of dead animal.The staff were unhelpul and didnt seem to have time for you, one was high all the time and another gave us wrong directions.

We booked here under the understanding that it had a very good reputation, where on earth this came from is beyond me! We understand that this is a hostel and not a hotel but the hostels we stayed in post Flying Pig just showed how awful it truly was.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was excited to stay here as the smoking room and bar were an instant bonus, however the rooms were really disappointing and very hot, with no air-con. The sheets were sticky and horrible to sleep in. However, the beds were comfortable, but that was about it.

On arrival our rooms were messed up and double booked. Instead of putting us all in the same room, they split our party up and had me and my boyfriend sharing with the most annoying females, that spoke all night about how they were "soooo stoned" and should have cheated on their boyfriends. Although the girls were not the fault of the hostel, it was still a very unenjoyable experience.

However, the hostel is in the heart of Amsterdam and allows easy access to most attractions. It was also good for meeting other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hostels in a great location and the rooms are great. Really dark so you don't wake up with the sun and each bed had an outlet, a reading light, and a locker. The bathrooms were always clean and there were plenty available for the floor. The hangout areas were really awesome and the staff was really friendly and helpful. Wifi was available in the common areas as well. It's right near the train station so really easy to get around and it's pretty close to the city center and the red light district so you're never lacking in things to do!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

ExceIIent staff on arrivaI. Everything was so kooI:) Terrific atmosphere, peopIe Iaughing and feeIing happy atmosphere My first impression was a bit disorganised but when I reaIised the dutch cIog was a key hoIder - aII became aparent
The room was airy spacious and the bathroom was very good It was a heatwave for 2 days so the view was over gardens and baIconies oposite- great for an afternoon nap on the window
Downstairs we found a fantastic party atmosphere and friendIy peopIe, no ageism or sexism, young at heart need appIy. The smeII of a good quaIity coffee shop is indoor and outdoor pIeasure. Beer and coffee both cheap.
The breakfast (free) was adequate if not overbearing, but again very friendIy staff.
PIenty of room to keep bags and Iuggage in Iockers (pay) or if none then the famous 'cIog@fIying pig downtown' :).

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay then take a private or 4 bed dorm mainIy with ensuite. If you want to Party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights in a 4 bed dorm :) Great location close to heaps of shopping, food and pubs. Casual and fun staff. Bar was cheap and had great music with a pool table and cheeky smoking area out the back. Room was small but nice bathroom in great condition.

Would seriously recommend it to anyone, bit pricey but definitely worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The place is kinda dirty and it's a huge loud party until about 4 am each night.

It's a really busy place but the staff are pretty patient overall.

We had a 6 person room one night and a 12 person the other night. I don't really recommend either if you want to sleep.

Cheap drinks at the bar. It's a good location near the station and easily walkable to all the other tourist stuff in Amsterdam.

Wifi was ok, sometimes it dropped out.

Room Tip: Pick a small room. Don't get a room on the b floor near the window overlooking the patio. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Restaurant, Hos...
Show More
Red Light District
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Bar/Lounge, Fre...
Show More
Museumplein
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#39 of 173 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Lodge, Wheelcha...
Show More
Museumplein
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#38 of 173 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Hostelle
Hostelle
#60 of 173 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Hostel, Budget...
Show More
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
#55 of 173 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Lodge, Mid-rang...
Show More
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
#49 of 173 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.