We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - but know what to expect first...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Downtown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good - but know what to expect first...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed here as a base for a weekend bachelor party from London. Have been to Amsterdam before, this is the closest I've stayed to the 'action' whilst keeping the price low.
But be prepared - it is a cheap traveller style hostel, and with 6 of us in one room it was certainly cosy. facilities are minimal - but clean & adequate. And lets be fair, we stayed all of about 10 hours in the hostel the entire weekend.
Staff are young, friendly, and know the city - and there is a very chilled laid back lounge area downstairs - with cheap bar and smoking areas. It felt like my old student union...
The location is bang right by the station, and the more touristy bars / attractions - but trams are frequent to the more trendy areas near vondel park.
Actually I hear there is a flying pig next to the park - that may be a better location if you're less about sightseeing / tourist traps - and more about chilling in the sun, or visiting the more upscale trendy bars in Leidesplein...

Overall though cheap ( split between six) friendly and cheerful - and agood location for beginners.

Room Tip: Make good use of cheap bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    273
    98
    29
    27
See reviews for
8
69
133
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

I am in hospitality myself, and I have never been treated as well in such a unique environment. We had a private room, and it was a very nice! The beds locked together, we had a tv and a fridge, and a window! It was just like home!
Martin (sp?) was VERY helpful, first by removing the air freshener from the bathroom and then fixing the tv. He is a great conversationalist and was very helpful and caring.
Our bank decided we didn't need to access our money the first day, but the reception was VERY flexible while we dealt with our bank via email and let us keep our whole reservation even though we couldn't pay for days 2-4 until the second day.
We slept well and were very comfortable throughout our stay.
Gripes:
1) I wanted to put a postcard in the post. They made me go out and find a postbox.
2) The breakfast was weak.
3) The elevator was slow, and was broken our first day (but was fixed as soon as reported).
4) Even though I was in a private room, I was not allowed to order food in to feed my partner, who was sick and needed something to eat. I wound up having to bring him fries.
With all that said, I'm very happy with my time in Amsterdam. It was a great place to stay! I'd go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Thought I should write a positive review about this hostel as myself and three girl mates went last year. The staff were great fun, they sit and have a smoke with you in the comfortable library style room which is full of cushions and has a quaint balcony. A beautiful lady who worked there used to sing us songs on her hand decorated guitar.

The bar has some reasonable offers on Jagerbombs and beers aren't too pricey during happy hour. The rooms are fine - basic hostel.

We ended up sharing a room with a stag party and it turned out to be a massive laugh - this hostel is perfect for those of you going out to Amsterdam for partying/chilling with a smoke. I can see how it wouldn't be ideal if you wanted a love making get away with the missus but they for 20ish euros a night staying at a hostel right in the centre what do you expect???

Room Tip: Get up at 8am to book a room for the next night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

stayed here for 1 night as i hadnt stayed in amsterdam before - This is a great place for meeting people, they have great jam sessions[which include members of the team]
the whole place just gives off a great vibe.
Good staff, everything you need is close by!
due to the very nature and location of this hostel it can be hectic and i could imagine some people feeling quite uncared for but at the end of the day this is a busy place with people constantly comign and going.
Breakfast was good and plenty of it, drinks prices also cheap,
make sure you visit Blues brothers coffeeshop opposite hostel and The freeworld internet/coffeeshop

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This a great hostel to stay at. There were four of us staying in a four bedroom room. Amazing value for money... had own bathroom and shower. The staff were very friendly, especially Sally. I Would definitely recommend this hostel and I will 100% stay there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I've stayed here on a few occasions and had a great time each time. They have well laid-out common areas (with a bar) that are great for meeting new people and relaxing. The rooms are very basic...and can get scummy, even though they are cleaned every day. Each bed has a lamp and a plug and room to store your belongings and lock them up. They have public computers for free use and free wifi. A nice touch is a collection of umbrellas by the exit...just in case it's raining. This is quite a decent-sized hostel and is definitely a party hostel. I find it welcoming and comfortable and would recommend it if certain other hostels were full.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Our first mistake was not realising that this is a 'smoking' hostel. We have no problem with 'smoking' we just wish we had known this before booking so we didn't have to encounter the smell of it everywhere in the Hostel.

We stayed in a private room with a private bathroom. It was small, old and not very clean. Alot of mould in the bathroom and it flooded when you turned the shower on.

Breakfast was shocking. Stale bread, cereal and fruit but there was a sign saying 1 piece each only. We only had the breakfast on the first day and then catered for ourselves after that.

The location is very good. Right in the centre of the city, in the main paved street of Amsterdam.

On the last night we discovered a mouse in our room which was eating holes in our clothes and bags. At 2am we decided to go to reception to mention this the staff and after waiting 15 minutes for the staff member on duty to stop dancing with the other guests in the smoking room we gave up and tryed to get some sleep. We left the hostel at first light the next morning.

I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.