We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponte Vecchio

Ponte Vecchio
Neuwezijds Voorburgwal 136, 1012 SH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 6 41205512
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Ponte Vecchio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #582 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A lucky find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

On our first trip to Amsterdam we stumbled upon this amazing little Italian restaurant while roaming the city for somewhere good to eat. We certainly found it. We were outside reading the menu (a good array of Italian dishes) and were ushered in by a very polite waitor who became our favourite guy in the whole of Amsterdam. The chef was superb and experimental. (Try the tiramisu!). A great wine selection at good prices with lovely decor giving the place a really relaxed unpretentious feel. Needless to say we went back another 3 times before leaving. Very romantic, lovely atmosphere, staff wonderful and prices a tourists pleasure. I highly recommend :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely and a surprise ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Out for a walk and found this wee restaurant by chance nobody in the place but decided to give it a try! Well what can I say the red wine was good but not nearly as good as the food! Hubby had mushrooms to start! He hovered them! I had the mushroom and prawn pasta special! Mmmmm hubby had the fillet steak with porchini mushrooms I didn't even get a taste! A wee gem and well worth a walk!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“"Excellent food and atmosphere!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This small restaurant has it all! Excellent food, vine, staff and atmosphere! We stumbled upon-it by chance and were more than pleasantly surprised with everything and especially the low prices. It's definitely a good place to run away from chips&mayo and kebabs!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Had to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It's just one of those things you have to see. Such an iconic sight. Well worth a stroll. Much nicer when the weather's nice, but great either way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Italian food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

After several days of hamburgers and fries this dinner was a great relief for our stomach! This small and friendly restaurant serves real Italian food at an affordable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponte Vecchio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponte Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.