We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but quirky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kattenkabinet

Kattenkabinet
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kattenkabinet to your Saves list
Kattenkabinet
Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but quirky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lots of odd cat related pictures in a really cool old canal house. There's also some museum cats lounging around who are quite happy to be petted!

Perhaps a little overpriced for the size, but definitely fun!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having two cats at home, we were very interested in this and had a great time looking at the weird artwork and the various cat bits and bobs. The best bit was seeing the real life cats wandering about and knocking lumps out of each other! They were very playful and enjoyed being clapped while they ripped apart the catpets and furniture.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer-Sheva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hidden away in this small 4 room museum are works by Picaso and Rembrant which are displayed modestly along with many more cat-related paintings and art-objects, if it wasn't for a small perspex plate beside them, I could have easily missed their origin. Obviously, there are quite a few house cats about as well :)

While the museum was great fun, 6 EUR for a 15-20 min visit is a bit of a steep price to my taste. If you can enter for free using a city/museum card (and love cats) this is a must. Otherwise, take the price under consideration.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great little museum, four beautiful rooms and hallways displaying cats in art and commercials. Interesting to see that Picasso sucked at drawing cats... we were also welcomed by three residentials that lived in the house. Three very friendly and cuddly striped cats thar made their very best to make us feel welcome. They had their own very special waterhole in the museum. Go see..... We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As cat lovers, when we saw this mentioned in our guide book we thought we had to visit. The disappointment started when we arrived. It consists of a small collection of posters and other cat artefacts in 3 rooms of a house. It was so dull that I am really struggling to remember any artefacts to mention in this review! A cat-themed pin-ball machine was the highlight of the visit. Other than that it is just a collection of pictures and ornaments, most of which are very shabby.

There were 2 live cats in reception as we left, but I was concerned about how thin and under-nourished they seemed. When I stroked them they were like bags of bones. They were more like strays than cared-for pets.

I suppose you could possibly consider this to be a quirky or eccentric place for cat lovers and accept it as that. However when you compare the admission cost of EUR6 against EUR10 to get into Anne Frank’s House I think I am justified in expecting quite a lot more.

This place is not worth visiting and the people who run it should not be encouraged.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This museum is located in a house at the side of a smaller canal and is not very big. However it is stuffed full with different cat-themed artwork, some of it better than others but all decidedly feline. There were some artworks by renowned artists on display, including a Rembrandt drawing and a Pablo Picasso drawing, and the works by less famed artists are also fun.

My mum and I visited this museum whilst it was being re-organised, and the staff members moving displays around were quite loud and rude, ignoring the fact that they still had visitors in the museum. At one point one of them knocked a painting off the wall and then laughed.

There are some displays which feel a bit like they're mocking the visitor - like a cat made out of a cardboard box and tape, and a statue with a pompom jacket on - but these might also just be a sign of curators who really like anything to do with cats. This museum is fun and indulges cat-lovers, so I hope it is the latter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I absolutely loved the posters and artwork in this museum, but I can see where others might not be so inclined. Please only go to this museum if you are extremely interested in cats and cat art. This is also just a small museum, so don't expect hundreds of items. It's just an old house, 2 or 3 stories of small rooms with lots of cat posters and some cat sculptures and paintings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kattenkabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kattenkabinet

Address: Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kattenkabinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kattenkabinet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.